We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay. Thank you.”
Review of Strathcarron Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcarron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Strathcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Super hotel, we recommend it highly and would definitely stay there again. Thank you for a lovely visit. Very friendly people, comfortable room and super food, especially the full Scottish breakfast! We really enjoyed our Easter break in Strathcarron.
Kevin and Julie

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

what a lovely review and thanks you very much for taking the time to post it:) i am glad you enjoyed your stay and that the food was to your liking. we pride ourselves on our hospitality and the use of fresh local produce; your breakfast would have been cooked with ingredients that came from the outlying area to the hotel and so constitutes a real Scottish breakfast!
thanks again for your review and perhaps we will be able to welcome you back at some future time:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at the Strathcarron Hotel and we must say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

We received a warm welcome on arrival and were able to check into our room early after a long drive which was greatly appreciated.

The room was equipped with a modern television with an excellent signal despite being in the highlands. The wifi was reliable and free. We were provided with plenty of lovely soft towels. The room itself was spotlessly clean and refreshed daily. The bed and pillows were very comfortable indeed. Good quality tea and coffee provided in room which was replenished daily. Peaceful surroundings and quite at night.

The food was excellent and without fault. We found the prices to be reasonable and there was a wide choice of starters, mains and deserts available. The service was prompt and professional always with a smile. The venison stew was delicious and I can highly recommend this dish.

We found the bar to be well stocked with some great local beers. The bar was very comfortable with a real fire which delightful of a cool evening. We particularly enjoyed the juke box and pool table. We found the locals to be very friendly.

All members of staff had excellent local knowledge and were always able to recommend a good day trip.

Thanks for a wonderful stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best wishes. Neil and Lizzie x

Room Tip: Stayed in room one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizzie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

thank you so much for your lovely and comprehensive review of our hotel and i am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. it was lovely to have you here and nice that the weather allowed for getting out and about exploring the area.

we have been in the process of upgrading and improving the rooms and i am glad that you liked yours so much. we are just about there on having flat screen tvs throughout the rooms and the WiFi is always available in the public areas and some of the bedrooms, so yu were lucky on that one:) we are hopeful that we should soon be able to say that WiFi is available throughout the hotel but being and old building with massively thick walls transmitting signals seems to be a tricky business:)

i hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and perhaps we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back at some future time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I turned up at the Strathcarron with my son on our motorcycle looking for some warmth and food. We were soaked to the skin and stood in the entrance getting the worse of our outer gear off. We were called in and immediately bought tea. Our wet gear was taken from us and placed in the drying room and we were made most welcome. The manager saw to it that all or gear was looked after and we were provided with an excellent bar meal that was very well cooked and presented. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and by the time we begrudging left, our stuff was warm and dry. Atop establishment who know how to treat people. Excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

thank you so much for your lovely review. we were all happy to extend a warm welcome to you and your son, so nice to see a father and son biking around and such a shame the weather was against you, but it didn't seem to be ruining your holiday and the least we could do was to try and help you both get dry, fed and refreshed to hit the west highland roads once more:) perhaps we will see you again but hopefully on a day that the weather is ideal for appreciating the lovely roads and spectacular scenery that we have around here.
many thanks again for your very encouraging words, we were all really pleased to read this:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Three of us stayed overnight on the 12th March 2014 while on a rail journey from Wemyss Bay, Ayrshire to the Kyle of Lochalsh and the Strathcarron Hotel was chosen via Trip Adviser as our overnight stop. All of us agreed that this is the best small country hotel that we have stayed in for a long, long time and that their customer service is way beyond the call of duty.

While on the train and heading West we discussed what we should do with our luggage when we got to our destination at Kyle because I doubted that there would be a left luggage facility and didn't fancy dragging cases around for a couple of hours until we got the return train back to Strathcarron.
The Scotrail ticket inspector had the answer and used his mobile telephone to call ahead to the Strathcarron Hotel who arranged for a member of the hotel staff to meet the train at Strathcarron Station and convey our luggage to the hotel. I didn't even get off the train! Sadly and because of a change of shift we never got the opportunity to thank the gentleman called Osh who wearing plus-fours 'ran' back to the hotel carringTHREE suitcases. Osh if get a chance to read this you are an amazing guy.

The hotel its self is a warm and welcoming unpretentious little place where the rooms are spotless with comfortable beds and In this remote part of Ross shire not a sound is heard at night. Dinner was prepared by the owners wife and served in the bar. The menu was varied and the quality of food very good indeed.

The next morning a spendid breakfast was served in the dining room by the owner Andrew Flett who between courses kept us entertained with cheery banter and much laughter. When it comes to hospitality Andrew is at the top of his game and expensive city hotels could learn a lot from this guy.

Finally, if we had known in advance how much we would have enjoyed our stay we would have re-jigged our plans and stayed longer but we will spread the word about this super little hotel and its wonderful staff. If you are touring in the area don't miss The Strathcarron Hotel.
Thank you all for making our visit so much fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnacleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

thank you so much for your review. i am glad that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us. we pride ourselves in our highland hospitality so it made our day to read your comments. i ma glad too that Osh was able to help re your luggage etc. yes he was in his plus fours that day, on other days you mat have caught him in his full highland plaid!
thank you for spreading the word on our wee hotel; we thrive on return visits from guests, for which we are very happy. it is a pity you were not able to stay longer but perhaps next time. thnaks again for your very encouraging words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night while walking the Cape Wrath Trail for charity, and the hospitality was truly first class. The hotel held a (food) parcel for me, which I had sent in advance. They also very kindly arranged to have my clothes sent away with the hotel laundry, which I then collected the following morning before continuing on my journey. The bar was open for snacks and drinks in the afternoon, and then in the evening I enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in the cosy and friendly bar. The bedroom was spacious and the bed comfy. The only negative point, was that the water pressure in the shower was extremely poor, but the water was nice and hot. Breakfast in the morning was to die for. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanyasj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and that we were able to help with laundry etc. sorry to read that you found the shower a bit weak on pressure. being in the highlands and fairly remote we don't have the same pressure as people are sometimes used to at home, power showers are not our thing; but plenty of hot water is always available:) we are however constantly working on upgrading the hotel in an effort to improve the comfort and enjoyment of guests so if we can find a way to improve water pressure we most certainly will! glad it didn't put a dent in your enjoyment of your stay though and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night while walking part of the Cape Wrath Trail.
Room was clean and spacious.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was fine but surprised there was no soup on the menu.
Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinburghbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that we were able to tick the boxes for you as you bagged some more munroes:) We do try to cater for everyone here and so I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your veggie breakfasts. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you again when you are up in our fantastic hills again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After stopping in for a quick drink the previous night we decided to go to the Strathcarron Hotel for our evening meal the following night. We ate in the bar area which as warm and traditional with a good friendly atmosphere. The comfy surroundings and the roaring fire were a perfect way to unwind after a long day. The gentleman behind the bar was friendly and welcoming and a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186487Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathcarron
8.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
629 reviews
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
364 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
217 reviews
20.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
179 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcarron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcarron Hotel

Address: Strathcarron IV54 8YR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Strathcarron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strathcarron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is ideally suited for exploring the highlands and is only a 20 minute drive from the Skye bridge. We have 11 en suite rooms, including two family rooms and a triple room. At the Strathcarron we extend a warm Scottish welcome to all our guests and provide good wholesome food and a well stocked bar, which includes many a malt and some real ales too. We hope that we may be able to welcome you here in the future. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing