We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
156
92
21
14
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
92
21
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch carronfish and chipsreal alevenison steakhighland hospitalitynext morningisle of skyecomfortable roomsstayed for nightsporridgebiscuitscooked breakfastlevel crossingkylescotlandaleshillwalking
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 305 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Three of us stayed overnight on the 12th March 2014 while on a rail journey from Wemyss Bay, Ayrshire to the Kyle of Lochalsh and the Strathcarron Hotel was chosen via Trip Adviser as our overnight stop. All of us agreed that this is the best small country hotel that we have stayed in for a long, long time and that their customer service is way beyond the call of duty.

While on the train and heading West we discussed what we should do with our luggage when we got to our destination at Kyle because I doubted that there would be a left luggage facility and didn't fancy dragging cases around for a couple of hours until we got the return train back to Strathcarron.
The Scotrail ticket inspector had the answer and used his mobile telephone to call ahead to the Strathcarron Hotel who arranged for a member of the hotel staff to meet the train at Strathcarron Station and convey our luggage to the hotel. I didn't even get off the train! Sadly and because of a change of shift we never got the opportunity to thank the gentleman called Osh who wearing plus-fours 'ran' back to the hotel carringTHREE suitcases. Osh if get a chance to read this you are an amazing guy.

The hotel its self is a warm and welcoming unpretentious little place where the rooms are spotless with comfortable beds and In this remote part of Ross shire not a sound is heard at night. Dinner was prepared by the owners wife and served in the bar. The menu was varied and the quality of food very good indeed.

The next morning a spendid breakfast was served in the dining room by the owner Andrew Flett who between courses kept us entertained with cheery banter and much laughter. When it comes to hospitality Andrew is at the top of his game and expensive city hotels could learn a lot from this guy.

Finally, if we had known in advance how much we would have enjoyed our stay we would have re-jigged our plans and stayed longer but we will spread the word about this super little hotel and its wonderful staff. If you are touring in the area don't miss The Strathcarron Hotel.
Thank you all for making our visit so much fun.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnacleScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

thank you so much for your review. i am glad that you had a good time and enjoyed your stay with us. we pride ourselves in our highland hospitality so it made our day to read your comments. i ma glad too that Osh was able to help re your luggage etc. yes he was in his plus fours that day, on other days you mat have caught him in his full highland plaid!
thank you for spreading the word on our wee hotel; we thrive on return visits from guests, for which we are very happy. it is a pity you were not able to stay longer but perhaps next time. thnaks again for your very encouraging words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here for one night while walking the Cape Wrath Trail for charity, and the hospitality was truly first class. The hotel held a (food) parcel for me, which I had sent in advance. They also very kindly arranged to have my clothes sent away with the hotel laundry, which I then collected the following morning before continuing on my journey. The bar was open for snacks and drinks in the afternoon, and then in the evening I enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in the cosy and friendly bar. The bedroom was spacious and the bed comfy. The only negative point, was that the water pressure in the shower was extremely poor, but the water was nice and hot. Breakfast in the morning was to die for. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly throughout. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanyasj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you had a good stay with us and that we were able to help with laundry etc. sorry to read that you found the shower a bit weak on pressure. being in the highlands and fairly remote we don't have the same pressure as people are sometimes used to at home, power showers are not our thing; but plenty of hot water is always available:) we are however constantly working on upgrading the hotel in an effort to improve the comfort and enjoyment of guests so if we can find a way to improve water pressure we most certainly will! glad it didn't put a dent in your enjoyment of your stay though and hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here for a night while walking part of the Cape Wrath Trail.
Room was clean and spacious.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Food was fine but surprised there was no soup on the menu.
Breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edinburghbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eileen-flett, Owner at Strathcarron Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am glad that we were able to tick the boxes for you as you bagged some more munroes:) We do try to cater for everyone here and so I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your veggie breakfasts. I hope we will get the chance to welcome you again when you are up in our fantastic hills again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

After stopping in for a quick drink the previous night we decided to go to the Strathcarron Hotel for our evening meal the following night. We ate in the bar area which as warm and traditional with a good friendly atmosphere. The comfy surroundings and the roaring fire were a perfect way to unwind after a long day. The gentleman behind the bar was friendly and welcoming and a real credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186487Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stopped for a coffee en route elsewhere & the guy behind the bar was very welcoming. He gave us great recommendations for Ullapool suggesting great restaurants, shops etc. really good service from a great guy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdhd2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews