We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly pub with good value food”
Review of Strathcarron Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strathcarron
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Strathcarron Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Strathcarron B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We didn't stay here but I ate here with my wife and the food was very good and great value. Nothing posh but the place had a good atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. Couldn't fault it. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank rmc12York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 292 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was booked into a highland hotel for two nights (not the Strathcarron) and had the chance to go north a day earlier. I phoned ahead and was rather disappointed that the hotel would not negotiate down for this third night. Travelling north and needing a bed I phoned the Strathcarron and was happy with the normal quoted rate. The friendly voice provided an equally friendly reception when I arrived. The single room and en suite were clean, comfortable and perfect for purpose. Bar supper was good value for a large fresh haddock and breakfast was very good. Extras such as good local bar chat, lending maps and providing advice made me feel very comfortable here. Just wish I could have stayed here the next 2 nights instead of having to move on to the more expensive (and paid for) option.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ARoss42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Strathcarron is an amazing hotle run by amazing people. It is in a beautiful location and has an amzing atmosphere and i would highly recommend going there. There are many beatiful places nearby and many brilliant views to see. The people there are lovely to speak to and extremly pleasent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 607JoeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Have stayed here on more than one occasion, and have always received a very warm welcome, the food is always very good and the atmosphere friendly. Views down the loch are stunning and the surrounding area is a beautiful place to wander. It was mid March when we were here, and sitting in front of the log fire with a drink was an excellent way to spend an evening. Oh, and the breakfasts are amazing !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank axletramp110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I arrived soaking wet after a long 400+ mile ride in heavy rain and received a warm welcome. The rooms were decent sized and immaculately clean. I enjoyed a quiet evening by the log/peat fire drinking a few of the local tipples and chatting to others. I also took the chance to have a noodle on the guitar that's there in the bar. Breakfast here is superb, high quality produce and generous portions. I'd definitely stay again hopefully in better weather. The staff are all very friendly too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel could not be described as luxurious, but it is clean, has a well stocked bar, a truly excellent juke box, some good food and warm welcoming bar/lounge. As a regular traveler to this area, I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions. It's normally around £80-£100 for a room for two people sharing. The rooms are all pretty much the same, but the last time I stayed I had a pleasant surprise and was allocated a 'family' room where we had a true double and a sofabed that would sleep two children comfortably. Bar food pretty decent and certainly wholesome, owners are very accommodating at dinner and breakfast too, nothing is any or too much bother. It's a friendly hotel that all adds to the experience for touring this part of Scotland.
The owner is a biker too, so when you turn up wet, cold & tired, he is very understanding and helpful about the need to dry off your leathers. The welcome and friendly relaxed atmosphere will have me returning again and again. It's also a handy stop over for visiting Eilean Donan Castle, Applecross and Wester Ross in general.
Must be one of the closest hotels to any railway station anywhere, which the train ride to this spot is also a must for those not travelling by their own means.

Room Tip: All rooms have an excellent view, but perhaps those facing Lochcarron will give the best impression...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed here a year or so ago and would love to return. The location is perfect for hill walkers as it is next door to a train station and on the doorstep to some great walks.
We stayed 2 nights before traveling down to Fort William and i could not recommend highly enough. We had a lovely meal in the pub downstairs, the gammon steak was at lease 3 inches thick!
Simple and comfortable rooms.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizross92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strathcarron
8.2 mi away
The Torridon
The Torridon
#1 of 1 in Torridon
629 reviews
22.8 mi away
Gairloch Hotel
Gairloch Hotel
#5 of 5 in Gairloch
364 reviews
13.4 mi away
Kinlochewe Hotel
Kinlochewe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinlochewe
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
Ledgowan Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Achnasheen
217 reviews
20.7 mi away
Shieldaig Lodge
Shieldaig Lodge
#1 of 5 in Gairloch
179 reviews
14.0 mi away
Hartfield House Applecross
Hartfield House Applecross
#1 of 2 in Applecross
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathcarron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathcarron Hotel

Address: Strathcarron IV54 8YR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Strathcarron
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strathcarron
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our family-run hotel is ideally suited for exploring the highlands and is only a 20 minute drive from the Skye bridge. We have 11 en suite rooms, including two family rooms and a triple room. At the Strathcarron we extend a warm Scottish welcome to all our guests and provide good wholesome food and a well stocked bar, which includes many a malt and some real ales too. We hope that we may be able to welcome you here in the future. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing