We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
156
92
21
14
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
92
21
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloch carronfish and chipsreal alevenison steakhighland hospitalitynext morningisle of skyecomfortable roomsstayed for nightsporridgebiscuitscooked breakfastlevel crossingkylescotlandaleshillwalking
Filter
Updating list...
207 - 212 of 305 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just back from staying at this great wee find of a hotel weve been working all over scotland for the past few months and this wee gem is by far the best, could not find any faults great staff.... great host if were up this way again it will be the first we will be looking to book, breakfast was second to none and a good packed lunch lang may yur lum reek

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenn701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

but the room was not up to the standard we expected after reading reviews. We were in a room facing the car park with one window which you couldn't open and it was very warm during the night. Little things were annoying like no full length mirror or hook to hang your hand/shower towel on. No shelf to put your toiletries on and the shower was a bit low on pressure and difficult to control temperature. On the plus side the breakfast was excellent and the staff on a morning was great, very friendly and courteous. We had an evening meal on the first night which was ok but not to the breakfast standard.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveholidaying24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad that you liked our location. we are very lucky to be in such a stunningly beautiful part of the world and you got some good weather in which to see it!
we pride ourselves on the quality of our food so i am glad that our breakfasts impressed.
as to the room i am sorry that you felt it to be stuffy. the feature window in that room is a double glazed replica of the original arched picture window. It overlooks the triangle (our village is too small for a square!) and beyond up the glen to the famous "Wellington's Nose" people do park their cars in the triangle when using the post office or to get the train; but our car park is to the rail side of the hotel so can't be seen from the room you were in.
many thanks though for your observations. I have now ordered a fan to put in that room for the hot days that we can get here in the highlands. and although the en suite has a window that can open and is generally used to get a through flow of fresh air.
there is a very deep window sill in the en suite which guests usually use for toiletries etc but i will make sure that a hook is installed for towels etc.
again thank you for your review and observations; they are appreciated.
kind regards,
eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very good food and great hospitality, was with a group of five bikers. Would have no hesitation in staying again.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

that you for your review and i was very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we can welcome you again at some future date.
thanks again,
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Myself and 4 biker friends stayed last night. First impressions do last and we received an extremely warm welcome from all staff and were made to feel so welcome. The hotel is extremely nice and the evening meal was excellent quality( my haddock was like a whale) and excellent value for money.
Fantastic breakfast.
Clean rooms with all usual facilities.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel without any hesitation.
It is set in such a beautif location with the small rail station next door and village post office .
I will certainly return one day in the not too distant future.
Very biker friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ubl666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

thank you so much for writing such a lovely review. i am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the whole experience a positive one. The haddock is a firm favourite and they are often of leviathan proportions!
as with all of our food the breakfast consists of locally sourced ingredients that we have found to be of the best quality, so i am pleased that you enjoyed it so much. it is definitely the most important meal of the day so glad it went down well.
i hope we get the chance to welcome you here again,
kindest regards,
Eileen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This hotel really is good considering the charge for the bed and breakfast accomodation. We enjoyed the cullen skink, a hearty portion. The breakfast selection was also impressive for the charge. Motorcycle parking is not secure, but is in a quiet spot unlikely to attract unwanted attention. The staff were friendly and helpful, the single en suite room could best be described as pleasant and adequate, but could not really be faulted when the price is taken into account.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

thank you for taking the time to write a review. i am glad you had a good stay and found us motorbike friendly. we welcome a lot of bikers here and we are a friendly bunch.
the cullen skink is a traditional family recipe and so i am doubly pleased that you enjoyed that (made the way my Andrew's granny used to do!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews