We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sure it's in Zurich? No thanks Accor expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ibis Zurich Adliswil
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adliswil
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sure it's in Zurich? No thanks Accor expected more”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

First and foremost there is no internet coverage in the rooms or in the hallways! This wasn’t just for my room, my friends room, in the entire hallway, but can be illustrated by the fact that 15 hotel guests were huddled together in the 1 square meter in front of reception where there was internet reception. Ibis suggest that they have a 15minute window to fix things, they didn’t. When I asked to be moved to a room with Wifi, they knew this would not be a solution as no rooms have wifi available as STATED on their website.

So you can’t get internet reception on your own devices, but there is two computers available near reception to use. Few issues here is that Ibis actually promises free wifi in the rooms, no Skype on these computers, many sites seemed to be blocked – and I am not talking about adult content, searching on how to get to the Alps was a painful. Keyboard is weird, which meant everything took much much longer and often the computers were being used.

Staying on the negatives, the staff were rather useless, except for Claudio who was at least reasonable and even lent us travel adapters. Switzerland adapters are not the same as the rest of Europe. The worse was Ms Hernandez who no matter what the question was, “check the internet” this is way below Accor standards and I swear it must have been the only English she knew. Often it was simple things like a nearby restaurant (outside the awful one in the hotel) or best way to get to the Alps. Something I feel I would not be the first to ask in Zurich or the Ibis hotel.

I have eluded too the restaurant and how awful it is. We arrived at 8pm and since the Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, used by truck drivers as good breakfast stop for example. We decided to have diner in the hotel restaurant. Rubbish! I appreciate that Switzerland is more expensive to eat than Sydney, NY, London and even the rest of Europe, but swy you halved the price, it still doesn’t make the food nice or worthwhile. I would say eat anywhere else!

Obviously if you are searching this hotel on Trip Advisor, the cost of Hotels in Zurich or Switzerland (Stayed in Lucerne as well), but don’t be fooled, though this Ibis Hotel may be cheaper than those located in the centre, you lose it all in travel costs to the city centre as well as time. You need to catch a bus (two choices 185,184 which come every 15 minutes) and then a tram from Wollishofen, which happens to be at the end of line 7. Fine if the connect up, not so great when they don’t line up and you have spent 50mins getting to the city.

Finishing with a few positives is that the showers were great! And Claudio lent us travel adapters without much fuss. Yep that’s it, on a cost to middle of no-where ratio I would never stay here again. I am factoring Switzerland’s higher costs and still won’t recommend or stay here. I knew what I was getting myself into with Accor and Ibis, but this was extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: Too much time and costs is spent travelling into the city centre from here. Stay closer into town, p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ibisadl, Manager at ibis Zurich Adliswil, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Sir, I am very surprised to read your feedback and would like to apologize for all your trouble. As you can see on the other reviews my staff do their outmost to ensure our guests a pleasurable stay. I'd be happy to personally take care of this, please do email me on: julia.zapf@ibiszurich.ch.
Kind regards, Julia Zapf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    266
    148
    26
    22
See reviews for
111
213
68
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
144 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

It's nice to find this IBIS at a reasonable price in Switzerland with free parking and free WIFI. We were arriving by car from Zurich and it's easy to find just beside the highway exit. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful.

There's not much to expect for IBIS since it's always standard. The room is with adequate size and facilities, clean and tidy. But after the shower, our bathroom was flooded.

We were on the ground floor facing the parking lot. It was Saturday night and there were people having drinks and smoking outside. But it's OK for us if closing the window.

Generally, if you're not expecting too much, this place is OK in pricy Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca_Luo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed in Ibis Kriens on the previous night and it was more modern then this one. The shower curtain is very annoying. Apart from this the room is fine and sufficient for a short stay. Free parking is a plus. Breakfast is standard. There is a restaurant on the ground floor where you can have dinner. Unfortunatelly the service was very slow and they made mistake in the bill.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superkrol4iha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The good thing about the IBIS group is that you know what to expect and more importantly, what NOT to expect.

I stayed three nights at this property and the good things first. Very pleasant check-in staff who were very helpful throughout the stay there. The room was typically Ibis- not large but comfortable and clean. The room was warm and with no air conditioning, I had no option but to leave the window open. I checked into the room in the afternoon after a long international flight and thought I'd get some shut eye. With the window open, I had sounds wafting into the room from what I thought was a loud party going on in a nearby room.

I discovered that it wasn't a party after all and the sounds were from the restaurant and kitchen staff which was two flights below my room! I was in room 208. Do avoid it if you can.

The restaurant downstiors was nice. It's got a nice view and the hot snadwiches and menu were nice too. The continental breakfast was also good for an additional CHF 15.

There is a convenience store acoss the road at the petrol station which is helpful. There also is a bus stop opposite the station that allows you to get to town using a bus-tram combination which is helpful too to commute.

Overall, it is certainlly value for money considering that it's switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadhogchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortona, Italy
Level Contributor
2,491 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,282 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

As always, the choice of the Ibis Hotel is always spot on, but this time the price was high, very high, having been unable to book early got the room on the spot, but Zurich is expencive regardless.
Warm welcome in a relaxed and very hospitable.
The room for those who know the standard Ibis does not need comments, beautiful, clean and comfortable and slept divinely.
The next morning to have breakfast buffet I had to pay extra, just over 10 € but I can guarantee that the buffet is unforgettable, I got up full and happy.
It also has a large car park in the square outside.
So enjoy this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magellano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not a very nice hotel really. The room wasn't that clean & the shower room was filthy. Stayed here 5 nights in July. There was no air conditioning which meant the room was stiflingly hot. This hotel is massively overpriced for what you get but then again it is Switzerland! The continental breakfast was very nice though with a great range to choose from. Public transport from the hotel into the town centre was excellent. The staff seemed nice but at the end of the day I expected much more. I've stayed in Ibis hotels before & this one was definitely the worse. Try & find somewhere else if you can.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Adliswil
3.0 mi away
St. Georges
St. Georges
#81 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
4.3 mi away
ibis budget Zurich City West
6.3 mi away
ibis Zurich Messe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
ibis Zurich City West
ibis Zurich City West
#57 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
4.9 mi away
Coronado Hotel
Coronado Hotel
#30 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Guest's House
The Guest's House
#101 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ibis Zurich Adliswil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ibis Zurich Adliswil

Property: ibis Zurich Adliswil
Address: Zuerichstrasse 105, Adliswil, Zurich 8134, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Adliswil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Adliswil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — ibis Zurich Adliswil 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Zurich Adliswil hotel is located in a quiet setting, close to a forest and the A3 motorway leading to Chur. Only 5 km from the centre and 12 km from the Messe Oerlikon Exhibition Centre, it is ideal for weekends and business stays. The hotel has 73 rooms, a restaurant, a terrace, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24/24, and free private outdoor parking. Guests on a business trip have Wifi wireless Internet access. Tennis just 100 m away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your ibis Zurich Adliswil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Zurich Adliswil Hotel
Ibis Hotel Zurich Adliswil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing