We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shelter From The Storm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pickhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shelter From The Storm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great place. Friendly, helpful and welcoming hosts.
V reasonable room rate. Room clean and comfortable.
Quality food guaranteed!
Very well kept bar, greaat decor.
Dont be put off by country lane location. Only 2 miles from A1.
- Staff happy to guide you inn if you've no SatNav!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimP999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    38
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
22
71
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We are regular visitors to the Nag's Head.We cherish the whole package; the village setting, atmosphere of the lounge and bar, the clean and well appointed rooms but most of all the food. Ever since our first visit four years ago this aspect has always impressed; so much so it has become a bench-mark for us - seldom if ever bettered. The proprietors provide a quality of service which is attentive without being intrusive - your needs are anticipated and dealt with the minimum of fuss. Their regular support staff are equally helpful and friendly too. But it's the back-room boys who deserve a special mention - if you are looking for a fine dining experience in the homely setting of a cosy pub - look no further. The food is superb and delightfully presented - even breakfast receives special touches. The chef's here turn out food of a consistently high standard, the best yet on our last visit [21/22 Sept] which included grouse on the menu. Such quality is not easy given the current economic climate where establishments like this are expected to up their game to fend off stiff competition in a shrinking market. Excellent.

Room Tip: If several are available - have a look, those at the rear are quieter but the restaurant fans are he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late, not having booked anywhere to stay and we were a bit 'tense'. We were made to feel very welcome and relaxed. The evening meal and the breakfast was lovely. The bedroom was a little basic but clean and adequate. It was the last one available and the staff kindly booked our friend into a nearby B and B. We would definitely return and recommend it

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DebbieB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Each year we travel the 30 miles from home to enjoy Grouse here, always cooked to perfection by the head chef. This year it was unanimous that the birds were the best we had ever tasted...and that is saying something coming from a very particular (and a rather mature) panel !

The service as always, was impeccable - so good in fact, we may even go back and break the annual Grouse eating tradition!!
Thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our first experience of our new life in the United Kingdom was our stay at the Nags Head in Pickhill and it was a very positive one. We were made to feel at home instantly with the warm fires burning, beautiful food and friendly staff at the restaurant then later being settled into a very cosy and clean two bedroom cottage.

We have visited quite a few times since our stay, sometimes with friends to enjoy the great hospitality and delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanB59, Owner at The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to send in your review. We are so pleased you still come back to see us for dinner after being long term inmates for such a while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights overlooking the moors and had 2 quite super dinners. Edward and Janet are a charming couple. Down to earth Yorkshire in style and lots of welcoming Yorkshire style too. Not cheap, simply very good value.

The venison on our second night was absolutly 'fab' and the wine we chose [I know the grower] made it an un-forgetable meal.

We shall defintiely be back and hope to bring friends with us next time.
A & K - Leicestershire [July 2012]

Well done to youi both

Room Tip: our room was their 'suite' in the house next door - glorious view, delighfully furnished. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level Contributor
253 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked a room for 2 nights here at late notice having been let down by a hotel we had booked 6 months previously.

We stayed in the room over the kitchen which they always "let out last" due to a bit of kitchen noise but it was perfectly ok for our needs.

We were welcomed on arrival by the owner who was watering his many beautiful hanging baskets. His wife checked us in with the minimum of fuss and we booked a table to dine at 7.30. After changing we went down to the bar which is delightfully quaint and sampled the Theakston Best bitter and Black sheep bitter which were both on top form.

The food was quite simply amongst the best we have ever eaten and as other reviewers have said it's not outrageously priced considering the quality. It was so good we immediately abandoned any thought of eating anywhere else on the second night. Again the food was just as good as on the first night. The waitressses were very pleasant and knowledgeable about the food. I would recommend everything we ordered (below). Can't wait to try the other dishes next time.

Seafood pancake
Wood pigeon
Tiger prawns
Duck breast

Venison
Sirloin steak

Breakfast was also expertly cooked top quality food.

The hotel also boasts a small but quality selection of wines.

Mine hosts Janet and Edward are very friendly and game for a laugh and everything about the place down to the finest detail has obviously been done with great love and a great deal of thought. The atmosphere in the restaurant areas was lovely. Sadly, at least on the 2 nights in question, the pub/restaurant is well under used which is a travesty as it is an absolute hidden gem.

We left sunday very happy and almost quite glad that our first booking for the weekend had cancelled on us! We have booked again for a pre-xmas treat. Maybe next time the landlord will impart more info on his tie club!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickhill
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
3.9 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#2 of 5 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#7 of 23 in Thirsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: Street Lane | Thirsk, Pickhill YO7 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pickhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential Country Inn situated one mile east of the A1. A feasting and meeting place for families, clubs and business people, a friendly local pub serving real ales and a superb restaurant where the atmosphere is relaxed whilst the service is impeccable. 7 en-suite bedrooms. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn And Restaurant
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Pickhill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing