We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay with great service and food to die for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pickhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northallerton, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay with great service and food to die for.”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Our first experience of our new life in the United Kingdom was our stay at the Nags Head in Pickhill and it was a very positive one. We were made to feel at home instantly with the warm fires burning, beautiful food and friendly staff at the restaurant then later being settled into a very cosy and clean two bedroom cottage.

We have visited quite a few times since our stay, sometimes with friends to enjoy the great hospitality and delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaylene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanB59, Owner at The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for taking time to send in your review. We are so pleased you still come back to see us for dinner after being long term inmates for such a while!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    39
    8
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
74
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights overlooking the moors and had 2 quite super dinners. Edward and Janet are a charming couple. Down to earth Yorkshire in style and lots of welcoming Yorkshire style too. Not cheap, simply very good value.

The venison on our second night was absolutly 'fab' and the wine we chose [I know the grower] made it an un-forgetable meal.

We shall defintiely be back and hope to bring friends with us next time.
A & K - Leicestershire [July 2012]

Well done to youi both

Room Tip: our room was their 'suite' in the house next door - glorious view, delighfully furnished. N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We booked a room for 2 nights here at late notice having been let down by a hotel we had booked 6 months previously.

We stayed in the room over the kitchen which they always "let out last" due to a bit of kitchen noise but it was perfectly ok for our needs.

We were welcomed on arrival by the owner who was watering his many beautiful hanging baskets. His wife checked us in with the minimum of fuss and we booked a table to dine at 7.30. After changing we went down to the bar which is delightfully quaint and sampled the Theakston Best bitter and Black sheep bitter which were both on top form.

The food was quite simply amongst the best we have ever eaten and as other reviewers have said it's not outrageously priced considering the quality. It was so good we immediately abandoned any thought of eating anywhere else on the second night. Again the food was just as good as on the first night. The waitressses were very pleasant and knowledgeable about the food. I would recommend everything we ordered (below). Can't wait to try the other dishes next time.

Seafood pancake
Wood pigeon
Tiger prawns
Duck breast

Venison
Sirloin steak

Breakfast was also expertly cooked top quality food.

The hotel also boasts a small but quality selection of wines.

Mine hosts Janet and Edward are very friendly and game for a laugh and everything about the place down to the finest detail has obviously been done with great love and a great deal of thought. The atmosphere in the restaurant areas was lovely. Sadly, at least on the 2 nights in question, the pub/restaurant is well under used which is a travesty as it is an absolute hidden gem.

We left sunday very happy and almost quite glad that our first booking for the weekend had cancelled on us! We have booked again for a pre-xmas treat. Maybe next time the landlord will impart more info on his tie club!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waj_the_badge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Having stayed at the Nags Head on many occasions so far in 2012 whilst on business, I have to heartily recommend it. I am away on business around the UK every month and search out those special places, splendid welcome refuges after a days work. Very few match the Nags Head. Edward is committed to locally sourced game, fish, meat and vegetables and his chef delivers superb imaginative menus which change with the seasons. Combine that with great local ales, selected wines and whiskies and your stay becomes memorable. For me, a great powerful shower is the mark of attention to detail, the rooms, bedding and facilities are well thought out, modern and spotless. A great team of people complete the package.Pickhill is a quiet backwater yet minutes from the A1. What more could you ask for apart from another visit. Well done.

Room Tip: If you need WIFI, you need a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrangeFarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

May not just be the automatic place for a bunch of guys staying for a few days in the area but we went with recommendation of one of our group who had stayed before. From the second we walked in we felt at home and at ease. I cannot rate highly enough the quality of meals we had for several nights and was phoning home every night to say what we had just eaten. I am a big fan of locally produced game produce and you cannot find tastier and better here. The evening meals might have been excellent and were also followed up the next day by a superb breakfast with included the best black pudding I have tasted before. This small country pub is an asset and a credit to the small community it serves. I envy the locals in the area to be able to nip in here for a pint. Thanks for a fantasic time Edward and Janet and hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: All seem fine - hardly a car passes on the village so they are all quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ComberBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanB59, Owner at The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
We are all very pleased you enjoyed your stay - we certainly enjoyed the good weather you brought with you! It's a pity you didn't stay for our anniversary celebrations you would have enjoyed yourselves to your best capabilities! Hope to see you again next year! Thanks you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Visited this pub/restuarant on many occasions and recently stayed overnight. Food is outstandingly good and not overpriced but was a little disappointed in the bedroom which was in need of an uplift. Even though this is a country inn one would not expect to find old heavy blankets on the bed in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKVocalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanB59, Owner at The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for your review - we always welcome constructive comments.
We did survey our customers a while ago regarding duvets -v- blankets and the majority of them still wanted blankets. However, we are constantly upgrading our rooms and have planned to offer duvets in some of these. If you are staying with us again please ask for a duvet and we will try to accommodate you. Very pleased to read everything else was okay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Living locally The Nags Head is our firm favourite - the food is excellent- imaginative, great quality, locally sourced and beautifully presented. The menu is varied without being too extensive which reflects the freshness and seasonality of the food, which you know is being carefully cooked there and then. The wine list is comprehensive without being over-facing-the waiting staff are attentive and polite and I have never needed to ask for something that wasn't provided or thought of - rare these days. I use it for family, friends and business and have always been delighted. My only small complaint is that because it is so good, each time every time that it has kept us from going wider a field more regularly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KDJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickhill
3.9 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
721 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lodge At Leeming Bar
Lodge At Leeming Bar
#1 of 1 in Bedale
129 reviews
5.3 mi away
The White Rose Hotel
The White Rose Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leeming Bar
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
463 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
903 reviews
16.7 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: Street Lane | Thirsk, Pickhill YO7 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pickhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential Country Inn situated one mile east of the A1. A feasting and meeting place for families, clubs and business people, a friendly local pub serving real ales and a superb restaurant where the atmosphere is relaxed whilst the service is impeccable. 7 en-suite bedrooms. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn And Restaurant
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Pickhill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing