We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A consistently excellent place to eat and stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Pickhill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have been to the Nags Head many times over the past 3 years and always marvel at how standards are kept so high; the food is superb with good sized portions and a balanced selection - with something unusual always available. Service is friendly and quick. You can eat in the bar, the lounge or the dining room - all with loads of atmosphere. The wine selection is chosen to compliment the menu at prices which are in keeping with what happens to be available at the time - so don't expect a fixed wine list. If you like what you've had you can always buy some to take away and many do.
There is a good selection of rooms including one for pet owners. Located in a pleasant country village you are guaranteed a good nights sleep.
Access is normally good with signs to guide you from the A1 a couple of miles away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 165 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

As a publican I am quite critical of other establishments, This pub was recommended by a company I used for motorcycle training. I'm glad of the recomendation as it led me to find a real gem.
I travelled alone and ate alone but never felt alone due to the level of care, service and attention.
The room was basic but clean and comfortable, the service was impeccable and the staff knowledgeable and helpful.
A discussion with Edward ( the Innkeeper) was soon joined in by the locals which is a lovely thing.
They have a great range of drinks, including some that I wouldn't expect to find in a Yorkshire Inn. The beer was in tip top condition and the food was very good, a starter of moules a main of pork and pig cheek and a dessert of chocolate with a glass of port all washed down with excellent service.

Thanks to all and maybe see you soon!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordNelsonSouthwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Stayed for the second time at The Nag's Head. Clean comfy rooms and the food is just excellent. My pigeon was a touch undercooked for my liking but the veggies were perfect. I didn't have a starter as I knew I wouldn't have room for dessert. The ginger ice cream and ginger pud was worth it

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annem03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanB59, Owner at The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed yourself and sorry about the Pigeon! Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Janet and Edward Boynton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Visiting from Australia and touring around Yorkshire on business, a colleague booked us in. Great little traditional pub, real Ales which the publican was well versed in and talked us through the sampling of. The dinner was excellent as was the wine selection. The rooms were clean and well appointed. The breakfast was a hearty start to the day. One of the features was the freshness of the produce and ingredients used in all the cooking.
Only problem was we were only booked for 1 night. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKD60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I would recommend the Nag's head to anyone looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in the North Yorkshire countryside. The food and wines are superb with a wide range of local produce. I can't comment on the beer as it's not my tipple. I'd use the term gastro-pub but that would make it seem trendy, which it isn't. It is simply traditional and really good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnFerris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Very pleased to find the quality of food and service was excellent, as always. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to a friend

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgdavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2011

We had the most fantastic Sunday Lunch. It was served with a smile as were the drinks.
If you like your roast beef pink you are in for a treat. All was cooked perfectly.
We have eaten here quite a few times and every time the service, hospitality and the food has been excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SusieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pickhill
3.9 mi away
Solberge Hall Hotel
Solberge Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newby Wiske
734 reviews
5.8 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Golden Fleece Hotel
#1 of 5 in Thirsk
977 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
475 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camp Katur
Camp Katur
#1 of 2 in Kirklington
174 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#8 of 23 in Thirsk
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant

Address: Street Lane | Thirsk, Pickhill YO7 4JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Pickhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pickhill
Price Range: $100 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential Country Inn situated one mile east of the A1. A feasting and meeting place for families, clubs and business people, a friendly local pub serving real ales and a superb restaurant where the atmosphere is relaxed whilst the service is impeccable. 7 en-suite bedrooms. Disabled access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn And Restaurant
The Nags Head Residential Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Pickhill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing