We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Barog Heights
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barog
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I went to hotel barog height for weekend gateway with my family. To start with, hotel is perched at the top of a hill and road to the hotel is v.steep and you need to drive extremely carefully or better ask hotel driver to come and take your vehicle to hotel if you're not a frequent driver in hills . Hotel is quite spacious and has got a huge lobby. Rooms are also quite cozy n spacious but not that well maintained. Room service definitely needs improvement.

We reached the hotel at around noon, and after resting down in the room, we're quite unsure as if we had made the right choice as there was nothing much to do in the resort and there are no nearby areas to visit as well. But, come evening, and your review about the place changes dramatically. It has got double storeyed nice terraces and the view from there is amazing. Since, its perched at the top of the hill, this place is generally much colder than barog in itself. Hotel as such does not have much to offer but if you're a nature lover n want to amalgamate with nature, this is the best place. It has got a small garden as well with some swings. Food is very good.
To conclude, this hotel is all its worth just because of the double storeyed terrace and garden outside. You would spend most of your time sitting here only reading books, chatting, just relaxing or having your tea or food here. While sitting at the top terrace, it gives you a feeling that you're sitting at the highest peak of the mountains. Definitely worth a one time visit or it might become your regular weekend gateway as well

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ranjan_Arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 125 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Dear All

I am sharing my review to help those who look forward for reading reviews while choosing a place for their trip. As when I did I really went mad. But I must say this place was well worth paying for my 2 nights 3 days trip in June 2012. Hotel is quite spacious, rooms are clean and above all the food was very good, very tasty. View from terrace was very good. They have two terrace where you can have your food served there only. Hotel Staff is very helpful.

Thanks to those people for making my trip very good.

From
GG

Room Tip: Rooms with Balcony is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Golden_Grover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice hotel with good clean rooms. Food was also ok. As their are only limited hotels in Barog one has option of Pineowood or barog hieghts. There is nothing much to go around in barog. I went their with my family on christmas day 2011. Hotel was beautifully decorated that day. They have their small fitness room which has limited things to offer. Overall , nice place for a break from city noise.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khoslasachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We had booked 6 rooms for one night stay. The hotel is quite spacious. It has wonderful lobby with ample seating capacity. Outdoor terrace is good for having a view of the valley. Your lunch can be served in the outdoor terrace which is really enjoyable. The hotel has large parking facility. The road to the hotel from the main highway is quite steep and one has to be careful while making way to the hotel. Rooms are comfortable. Staff is courteous. There is nice bar and a separate restaurant. The food quality is very good. However there is nothing much to do in the resort. So one can only enjoy if you are in a large group.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Akashbansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel location was very good; however the staff at the reception had no information about the sight-seeing options in and around Barog. The attitude of the staff at the reception was very unprofessional .The room services used to take half an hour to deliver tea and food in the room. Quality of the food in the hotel was very bad and stale. Chapatis served had mud pieces outside. When we complained to the person concerned, nobody bothered to revert with the reason of the poor quality of food offered. During our stay at hotel we decided not to have any meal at the hotel. Had it not been for the hotel location, we would have never stayed at this place. The overall experience has been disgusting and we would never recommend this hotel to anybody in future.

Room Tip: Pick other hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank harsh_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I was at Barog Height in the month of AUG 11 for a weekend getaway, situated at the mid way to Shimla this hotel is a best place for relaxation. I went there with my family and I enjoyed alot especially the view. Reaching hotel through a steep road is quite an exciting experience. Rooms are quite big and clean and the view from there is just awesome. Food at the hotel is quite good and having it on the terrace restaurant with nature makes it taste even better. There is a small sports room as well. I loved my stay and definitely recommend it to yaa.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

First up , the most awesome feature of this hotel is the heights , its perched right on top of the hill and its the highest thing in the vicinity with the clouds below!!

The view from their rooms and balcony is amazing and we sat there watching the clouds gradually come in from a distance , through the mountains and then blanket the whole of the the valley and then move on again to another destination. Simply Breathtaking !!

If u into photography, you will get your heart's fill in the morning and evenings . Carry your novels wid u , sit on the balcony in the sun and laze away in the afternoons. Beware of the monkeys though!!

Thats about it , u can do here !! but i guess thats wat many of us are looking for , TO CHILL OUT !! so dont expect too much , u wont be disappointed !!

May be take the heritage toy train from here (Barog station ) but only if u book in advance, other wise not recommended.!!
The hotel is excellently located right on top of a hill with a steep climb ( quite an exercise to climb up , even for your vehicle) with lots of open area with well maintained lounge area and a viewing deck sort of area.
Cleanliness is not a top virtue here but just about makes the grade , staff are friendly and attentive ( but they still stick to the indian standard time )
The room itself is just about makes a 3 star grade , rooms are large , spacious but dont expect fancy modern decor .Rooms have a peculiar mountain side smell, may be from the pines . they have only few rooms with exclusive balconies , so do ask for it . Beware of the monkeys again !!
Didnt use the restaurant so can't comment !! Used the road side Dhabas which were good enough !!

Secondly you don't have too many options there. But yah if all you want to do is watch the moutains , the clouds , smell the freshness of the hills and breath in some fresh air into your system highly recommended !!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandyjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barog
6.9 mi away
Timber Trail Heights
Timber Trail Heights
#2 of 6 in Parwanoo
412 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kasauli Regency Hotel
Kasauli Regency Hotel
#8 of 17 in Kasauli
252 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mayur Hotel
Mayur Hotel
#2 of 11 in Solan
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Kasauli Continental Resort
3.8 mi away
Hotel Whispering Winds
Hotel Whispering Winds
#1 of 4 in Dharampur
196 reviews
4.6 mi away
Winnies Holiday Resort
Winnies Holiday Resort
#2 of 17 in Kasauli
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barog Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barog Heights

Address: Kalka Shimla Highway, Barog 173212, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Solan District > Barog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Barog
Price Range: $51 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Barog Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Barog Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing