We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, we had a fantastic wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Country Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ruddington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had our wedding at the country cottage hotel on 24th August 2013 and we have to say that both the venue and the staff were amazing!! The room looked beautiful, with bunting hanging from the beems and fairy lights and tealights lining the courtyard. Everything was set up just as we dreamed and the staff could do not enough to make sure our day ran smoothly. The food was also amazing, the chef having worked on Spain previously whipped us up an awesome tapas menu which went down a storm with our guests. Everyone commented that it was a beautiful venue with the hanging baskets and gardens. For the evening reception we had a disco in the main room and there was also space for people to chat in the bar and in the courtyard so it catered for everyone. The rooms are lovely too and all of our guests commented on how nice they were espeically my parents who had a suite with two floors. I could not recommend this venue enough for a wedding.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuciB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel on 5th and 6th July 2013, after checking the booking we found we had been allocated the 'Garden Suite' but from here there seemed mixed reviews so I emailed the hotel who were really helpful and a girl replied the receptionist kindly moving us to the 'Courtyard Suite' this was lovely right opposite the reception had a real country feel and as soon as you close those doors you couldn't be further away from the outside world nice for a romantic getaway. The hotel itself is very quiet unfortunately Ruddington itself does not really have much to offer, I recommend Gino's italien a short walk through the village and the Indian nearby the hotel good service and good meals in both of these places. The breakfast was lovely on both days and the second day we had room service which was lovely and it was very quick infact the staff couldn't be anymore helpful overall a really good stay.

Room Tip: The courtyard suite lovely and roomy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelanieElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Had a really nice peaceful quiet stay on 29th June 2013. booked through Bookings.Com, booked a suite, really big room with large ensuite bathroom, Don't expect corporate style room decoration, the clue is in the name, nice and clean and well presented, could not get over how quiet the place is, Situated in Ruddington, with an Indian Restaurant discretely across the road, also within 2 minutes’ walk are two pubs, Had an evening meal in the hotel, very nice, small portions though, but with a starter we were comfortably full. Breakfast next morning was a buffet, of cereals, fresh fruit and full English, as much as you wanted. Free Wi-Fi available throughout the Hotel although I could only get it in the main building. The suites are housed in separate buildings with courtyard connecting to main reception/bar. Only complaint was having to have a cold shower next morning as no hot water. Received an apology for this upon checking out, hopefully the water was a one off, Would give it another go, staff warm and friendly. Good for a quiet night away. Booked through Bookings.com priced at £145.00, paid 60 inc breakfast

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmileyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stay at many hotels throughout the uk this hotel must be up with the best even large corporate hotels. This a family run hotel with great rooms the staff are all nice & polite .The place is kept clean & tidy compared to most reasonable prices for drinks as well as food will stay here again.

Room Tip: no need all good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Having booked a suite on line I was delighted to find out on arrival that we had been given the bridal suite, the courtyard room. It was spacious and very comfortable with a huge cast iron bath which I thoroughly enjoyed soaking in before getting ready to go out. Staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a great breakfast. It was the perfect location for McCarthy's wine bar. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Have now stayed twice at this hotel and we loved it both times. The rooms are spacious and inviting. The pub part is cosy and friendly and the food good. Ruddington itself is a lovely little place and look forward to returning to the hotel again some day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank icelandworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hotel is beautiful could do with a lick of paint, Rooms are beautiful, the restaurant food is fantastic we had the lamb on the night it was beautifuf, lots of choice! & breakfast service was very fast, great prices too. We stayed in '" The Rose " room, what a lovely cute room. Could do with more towels in the rooms tho, and the upstairs room could do with filling the hole in, on the wall near the bed. Bath room is beautiful very deep bath! Lovely and clean.
The staff at this hotel are lovely, couldn't do more for you. Would recommend this hotel to anyone Ruddington is a lovely village, where my family live.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ2128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruddington
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Nottingham
Holiday Inn Nottingham
#17 of 41 in Nottingham
713 reviews
4.4 mi away
Roomzzz Nottingham City
Roomzzz Nottingham City
#1 of 41 in Nottingham
680 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Nottingham Westminster Hotel
3.9 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 41 in Nottingham
1,560 reviews
4.0 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 41 in Nottingham
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Cottage Hotel

Address: Suttons Courtyard, Easthope Street, Ruddington NG11 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Ruddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruddington
Price Range: $95 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Country Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Cottage Hotel specializes in attentive service, unique individually designed bedrooms and quality, locally sourced produce in dishes served daily in our Restaurant and Bar. The perfect venue for all Family functions: birthdays, christenings and weddings. So for that special stay and a good night’s sleep.As you would expect with a country hotel there are beautiful grounds surrounding the hotel with picturesque views from your hotel accommodation. The hotel boasts award winning gardens and courtyard to walk around at your leisure during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Country Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Cottage Hotel Ruddington, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing