We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wedding anniversary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Country Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Ruddington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
uttoxeter
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wedding anniversary stay”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

this hotel and its staff are excellent, and i am not easily pleased, i am in a w/chair, and i found this hotel to be generally w/chair freindly. as for our stay, it was excellent from start to finish, we had i think the mullberry suite, suite is was more like a small barn conversion done to very high standard. lovely and clean, with car parking outside, inside there was 2 tv's a very large comfy bed, sitting area, tea coffee etc, then you open the bathroom door WOW wow wow,a bubble bath the size of a small ocean liner, plus a seperate shower and wc. i can assure you that you will not go away hungry from this hotel, the food is excellent,(try the fish pie, if you think you can eat big meals), in the morning full breakfast, cereal, pastries, fruit, etc, plenty of tea, coffee. again the staff and management are excellent, nothing to much trouble, we have already booked to stay again.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a suite, it well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    65
    40
    23
    13
See reviews for
51
83
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

we stayed one night only as this was a groupon deal, we chose B&B/2 course evening meal which was all cooked to perfection(plenty of food if you are hungry) and this cost £67 for two of us, what an absolute bargain. The staff were friendly and smiley and asked constantly if they could do anything for us. Our room was lovely and warm and cosy. Huge bed, 2 tvs,roll top bath and power shower. Plenty of tea and coffee etc and toiletries in the bathroom if you are caught on the hop.We had a couple of drinks across the road in the Red Heart and again the barmaid etc were smiley and welcoming(great pint). We would recommend this lovely, cosy hotel to anyone and would stay again if we were in the area. P.s Thai fishcakes were lovely on the dinner menu as was the sea bream.

Room Tip: we stayed in the courtyard suite very handy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank do_karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We only stayed one night, to celebrate our 49th wedding anniversary. This was on a Groupon offer, with B&B + 2-course evening meal for two @ £67. We opted for superior room @ £82. Beats going out for an evening meal and not being able to imbibe due to having to drive home - or having to use an expensive taxi!
The staff were super - friendly and helpful. The room (a converted outbuilding) was excellent: king bed, a cosy sitting area overlooking the garden which could be accessed through the french windows, and a large bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath and separate shower cubicle. Very warm and cosy. And they provided bath sheets (not skimpy towels)! There were two flat-screen TVs, one in the sitting area, and a smaller one facing the bed.
Food choice was good and plentiful - both evening meal and breakfast. The background music was gentle and unobtrusive - a joy, these days for us oldies.
We could not really fault this superb little hotel. We rarely give excellent ratings for any service, as there is usually something to find lacking. But this was not the case here (unless you count the cheap naff toilet rolls! And my wife thought the shower cubucle could do with a 'good bottoming' - it was clean, but the grouting and corners would benefit from a good scrub).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling-man38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Nice hotel, in a large village south of Nottingham. Staff seem quite efficient, friendly but wouldn't go so far as say welcoming. Food is very traditional, and good standard.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunFosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had our wedding at the Country Cottage on 27th August 2011, from start to finish it was fantastic. Holly and the rest of the team could not of done more to make our day the most perfect day ever. From the start of the planning process to the morning after the night before all the staff we had the pleasure of dealing with were polite, enthused and courteous, good old fashioned customer service.
Our wedding day itself was managed to perfection, any nerves I did have were firmly banished on arrival at the venue, Holly was very attentive and made me feel sure the day would run to plan, which it did, and as a control freak it was hard for me to accept someone else would be finalising all the details, but I couldn't of been more impressed.
The food was fantastic, everyone commented on the standard of the food, it was hot ans served very quickly to all guests and tables.
The staff were very efficient, clearing the tables quickly, responding to queries with smiles!
The service at the bar was brilliant, it was quick all night, one girl, sorry I didn't get her name even went to the local shops to buy some crisps for my son who was hungry as they didn't have any begind the bar, talk about service!!
The DJ, the Country Cottage's resident DJ was brilliant, he took into account our special requests and taste and played fab tunes all night, the dance floor was never empty!
Our Honeymoon suite, the Court Yard suite was pleasant, I agree with previous posters that in some rooms the decor is a bit tired, but it was clean, well appointed with toiletries and the bed was comfy!
My son shared one of the family rooms with my parents on the night, this suited him perfectly as it was a bunk bed off from their main room, good accomodation for families.
Breakfast the next morning was delicious, prepared by the staff who were still clearing the party room at gone 12am the night before!!
Overall I was thoroughly impressed with all aspects of the Country Cottage and the service they provided, my wedding day was the most special ever and a huge reason for this was the staff at the Country Cottage, Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I stayed here for a friends wedding. This is a great wedding venue, was well organised and we all had a great time. All the staff were really friendly.

The bedrooms however are a little dated and chintzy. E.g floral bedding and curtains etc. Everything just seemed a bit tired. I thought £115 was quite expensive for a double room B&B. Some friends stayed in the Premier Inn just a mile away and got a very good deal for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K0636706Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

The room I had was a little small and only one bulb worked. The toilet was the loudest thing I have ever heard and the word quaint is not exactly right. To be fair, I did see some other rooms when walking through the place and they looked far better and maybe I just touched unlucky. The room was clean but for the money paying, I expected a slightly higher quality place.

I ate in the hotel and the food was of a very high quality and the staff where all very friendly and helpful, especially in the bar/restaurant. Seriously, the food was delcicious.

Overall, I would return to the hotel to give it a second go - I would just ask for a different room. If you do stay somewhere else, eat here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ruddington
4.1 mi away
St James Hotel
St James Hotel
#17 of 49 in Nottingham
677 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Nottingham
3.9 mi away
De Vere Orchard Hotel
De Vere Orchard Hotel
#6 of 49 in Nottingham
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Colwick Hall Hotel
Colwick Hall Hotel
#5 of 49 in Nottingham
650 reviews
6.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Nottingham - Gateway
7.2 mi away
The Nottingham Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Country Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Country Cottage Hotel

Property: The Country Cottage Hotel
Address: Suttons Courtyard, Easthope Street, Ruddington, Nottingham NG11 6LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Nottingham > Ruddington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ruddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Country Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Country Cottage Hotel specializes in attentive service, unique individually designed bedrooms and quality, locally sourced produce in dishes served daily in our Restaurant and Bar. The perfect venue for all Family functions: birthdays, christenings and weddings. So for that special stay and a good night’s sleep.As you would expect with a country hotel there are beautiful grounds surrounding the hotel with picturesque views from your hotel accommodation. The hotel boasts award winning gardens and courtyard to walk around at your leisure during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Country Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Country Cottage Hotel Ruddington, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing