We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic location with fantastic facilities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Grove Log Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Forton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Grove Log Cabins
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic location with fantastic facilities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a lovely long weekend at Alpine Grove. The park is an idyllic location with great facilities for all the family. We stayed in Woodpecker log cabin which was tastefully done and fantastically well equipped - very comfortable indeed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flowerhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
76
18
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My family and I stayed in the Woodpecker cabin which was great. Very clean and everything you could think of in the kitchen. The log burner was great at night. The scones and jam when we arrived really set the tone for our stay which we could not fault. Fantastic campsite I can not recommend this enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family of 3 adults and 3 children spent 4 nights at this location .... t'was delightful. We had a double pitch and were allocated (not certain if you can choose), the spot we hoped for which was tucked away in amongst the trees and rhododendrons, shown to us by the friendly, hard working owners.
Showers, toilets and washing up areas were pretty clean and we rarely had to queue. The children (ages: 11, 9 and 4) all enjoyed the wonderful play area - outdoor table tennis (take your own bats/ balls), large trampoline, climbing equipment & slides - though we went out for a few hours each day, there was plenty to keep the children occupied (and safe) at Grove Park itself ... oh and of course the outdoor pool!
We enjoyed nice weather, badminton, BBQs, marshmallows and more ...... definitely booking again for next year and we'll be taking the dogs!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We discovered this little gem about three years ago and we fell in love with it. As you turn into the site, you feel like you could be anywhere! Even when full, you don't feel crammed in. Great facilities... hot showers always a plus, swimming pool, playground with trampoline. The owner and his family are extremely welcoming. We would always recommend this wonderful site.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Camped here for five nights from 30th July 2013, and as a late booking we were told we had the last pitch available. The only downside was it was next to the shower block so we felt we were on display a little. That said, the site itself was superb, set among trees, although could probably do with more than the two showers in the mens part, but other than that it was perfect.
The shop had the essentials you may run out of, the washing up area had four sinks but were occassionally left dirty by previous users (come on people, you wouldn't leave your sinks at home in that state, the owners have enough to do without cleaning up after you). The owners were friendly and helpful and the area was kept tidy. The pool, although not the biggest was warm and kept clean, as was the pool area generally.
There is a play area for the children and a great little wooded area where myself and my daughter had great fun looking for dragons!!! You can hire fire pits and wood, which regretfully i somehow never got round to doing, I can vouch for the sausages from the shop though, very tasty. One recommendation would be a freezer for the ice blocks as we've had on other sites.
If you fancy camping somewhere a bit out of the way, not too noisy, with friendly owners, that is clean and set in superb surroundings, then this one is well recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djb19662009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We are halfway through our week here staying in Roe Lodge, in arrival a cream tea with homemade scones, clotted cream and jam was given to us and our lodge is beautiful, warm and a pleasure to stay in. The pool area is in a sunny spot so even in cloudy weather it's always sunny in that spot so always check over that area as u think its too cold to swim BUT it's actually warm water and very pleasant!!!! The owners Helen and Richard are helpful and do everything they can to make your stay a good one. We are having a fab time here hope you do too x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausage1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I camped here in a tent for 2 nights during some gorgeous weather and loved the dappled sunlight coming through the trees, its very peaceful and an excellent place to relax. The site was full but I never had to queue for toilets or showers, both were always clean and I liked having the squeegee in the showers so I could leave the cubicle clean like I found it. There was plenty of hot water for showering and washing up, the only thing that was a little annoying was the push button shower only lasted about 30 seconds each time, which is a pain when trying to get soap suds out of your hair.
The pool area was a real sun catcher and I enjoyed sitting there while the children played in the small pool. There is a good play area open from 8am to dusk with climbing frame swings, slide, a large trampoline and table tennis table (bring your own bats and balls) the woods are superb with lots of pathways to explore and offering some very private pitches for the braver woodland camper.
The shop is small but adequate for the size of the site and not too over priced, the children enjoyed going in for penny sweets and ice creams. The owners are very friendly and helpful, offering use of EHU extension cable for a fully refundable £20 and ready to light fire pits costing £16 a night.
A fantastic site wish I could find more like this one, luckily its not too far from home so I will be returning… again…. and again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Forton
0.0 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 15 in Fordingbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athelington Hall Log Cabin Holidays
0.0 mi away
Quarry Walk Lodges
Quarry Walk Lodges
#1 of 1 in Freehay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Weybread Lakes Log Cabin Holidays
0.0 mi away
Alpine Grove Touring Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Grove Log Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Grove Log Cabins

Property: Alpine Grove Log Cabins
Address: Forton TA20 4HD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Forton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Forton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Genuine Solid Wood Scandinavian Log Cabins are set in a mature oak woodland which are fully furnished with all modern facilities. The cabins are fully centrally heated plus have a real wood burner.On site is a heated outdoor pool plus play area with table- tennis area, and a small shop. We are ideally situated only 9 miles from Lyme Regis beach (fossil hunters paradise)and on the borders of Dorset, Devon & Somerset. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing