We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and owners!”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and owners!”
Reviewed April 19, 2009

My husband, two teenage daughters and myself stayed in April 2009. The hotel is beautiful, warm and welcoming. Great room decor and a lovely terrace with great views. The owners, John and Di, could not have been more hospitable. The meals were delicious and the service perfect. I highly recommend this hotel and the mountains in which the town is located are spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katedocmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
40
261
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gooik
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2009

We had a wonderfully stylishly decorated room with mountain view, offering all comfort, nothing in excess, perfectly clean, putting very good soap, shampoo and olive-oil-cream at our disposition. The owners' general ecological attitude is a very good and all too rare phenomenon in hotels. The room was quiet, as we had asked for. Breakfast and evening meals were great - we especially appreciated the fact that vegetarian meals were possible - and very well prepared, with imagination. There is a great selection of wines and other drinks, too. The owners provided us with detailed description of how to get there from the nearby airports; in addition, precise information about general tourism, local feasts (Easter) and nature walks is available, with personal comments and advice from the owners. We felt very much at home, being treated as welcome guests rather than as paying customers.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BartGooik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hitchin
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2009

An excellent hotel with wonderful Moroccan decor. Delightful hosts who cared for us so well. Fantastic, varied and imaginative cuisine using local produce. The ambience was superb and the setting is very special in this little Spanish village in the hills near Ronda

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhteaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Just back from week in Andalucia and Los Castaños was, easily, the highlight. Di and John are the perfect hosts for this beautiful retreat in a gorgeous countryside. The rooms and views are splendid and the meals will spoil you -- nothing else, no matter how grand the establishment or how much you are willing to pay, will come close to the pleasure of dining here. We're looking forward to our next trip and it will include more than the 2 nights we spent at Los Castaños this time.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizesqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

Of four trips to Andalucia, and stays in eight different lodgings, this was easily the most interesting.

It is not that there is much to do in the 100-person town of Cartajima. There isn't. But staying in this beautiful inn in the middle of a white-washed mountain town gave us a unique perspective on an Andalucian village -- something that we did not get anywhere else.

The inn has a striking North African design, and everything is comfortable. The owner provides plenty of books, games, and drinks to make just staying at the inn enjoyable. Views from the roof terrace are stunning. Ronda is a half-hour drive. Other beautiful white villages are walking distance.

Los Castanos is a great place to do nothing, a retreat for hikers, or a base for traveling to the Pueblos Blancos,

The innkeeper cooked a lovely meal one night, and we ate with the locals at Balthazar's bar the other. Those are the only dining options. I do not recommend dinners in Ronda, especially if you are intimidated by driving narrow mountain roads at night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This is a great little place with lovely hosts. In November the fireplace was a nice gathering spot in the evenings and John will steer you to a good sherry if you wish. After sleeping late in a cozy bed with nice linens, a cup of Di's french press coffee is a great way to wake up. We had a minifridge in the room with reasonable prices. Grab a beer and head up to the terrace for a birds-eye view of the tiny town. Di and John have good advice and their recommendations for food in Ronda (in the less-touristy) part of the town were right on the mark. Great advice on walking routes. We stayed three nights but could have easily stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirigible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

Our second visit to this beautiful unspoilt village in the mountains near Ronda.
Di and John made us feel so very welcome, and every need was catered for, from the quality toiletries in the sumptuous bedrooms to the honesty bar on the roof terrace, from where you have the most amazing views of Cartajima and the surrounding area.
This hotel is a true retreat for those that want peace in such a beautifully furnished and comfortable hotel.
It is without doubt worth a visit.

  • Liked — Comfort And The Decor
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,460 reviews
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,167 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Property: Hotel Los Castanos
Address: Calle Iglesia, 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing