We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for hikers”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We have just returned from a weeks hiking and sightseeing trip. Staying in just one place was new to us as we tend to do linear walks. We couldn't have made a better choice. We could walk from the hotel and return to a warm welcome and superb food. The atmosphere was brilliant as we all sat round the coffee table after dinner for a chat in which the hosts often joined us. Thanks for a lovely week.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saffron658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Los Castanos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 384 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Very comfortable room with great view of the mountains. Nice little village. Did I mention the great hosts--both of whom really want to make sure you're having a wonderful stay at their hotel--Di makes the worlds greatest dinners--John will help you in any way he can. Finally, if you enjoy hiking from village to village and back again this is a the place or you can simply drive around the countryside and see a very unique slice of Spain.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view of the mountains
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

When we picked the hotel off the net we were looking for somewhere relaxing to walk and eat nice food. I can't imagine how we could have done much better. This is probably one of the nicest smart bandb's (or relaxed small hotel depending on how you look at it) we have ever stayed in anywhere. It is stylish and spacious but also homely. Di's food is delicious and John's walks advice helped us not to put on too much weight. We also enjoyed the company of our hosts and other guests we chatted to. We would definitely return!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Rudland
My wife & I stayed 8 days at the end of April at this absolute gem of a small hotel(6 beds) in one of the tiny Puablo Blancas (100 inhabitants).
Just 10 miles from Ronda at about 2500 ft above sea-level.
Run by the owners Di & John who do everything to ensure that you are happy & attended to with great care & attention.
Extremely comfortable spacious rooms with 2 rocking armchairs & excellent lighting for reading. A small balcony with 2 chairs + table overlooking the mountain range for miles and miles with hardly a building in sight.
A brilliant place to unwind and relax while enjoying delicious & varied food & excellent choice of drinks at very reasonable prices.
The bird life & wild flowers are exceptional in Spring & early Summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rudland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

There is little to be added to all the superlatives of previous visitors to this picture perfect white village in peaceful Cartajima in spring, staying at Los Castanos. More like a B & B of the highest standing, this boutique hotel will leave you wanting for naught. The hosts Di and John could not be more helpful and charming, and knowledgeable of the area and all it has to offer. Their warm and friendly style made us feel so at ease we went barefoot by the second day, and my husband never would do this at home! All the facilities and amenities are excellent as others have said, so I will add a few of the small extra special things we enjoyed most. In our room were not only books, magazines and maps of the area, but also watercolour paints and paper and brushes! A bar fridge meant we could bring in extra snacks, but the price of mini bar items are very inexpensive. The meals were all varied and very well presented, and Di gives you a taste of the local cuisine at each 4 course meal which included a tapa to start. John has a fine range of wines to offer especially of the local region. The common areas and rooms are delightfully Moorish inspired, and the sun filled rooftop patio with fountain and the sound of bird song perfectly peaceful. With a candle in our room (3) for romance we left the doors to the quaint balcony and windows open all night to enjoy the wonderful rose and citrus perfumed breeze waft in and when we woke in the morning could view the sunrise over the mountains from the super big bed. (Great pillows!) The bathroom is more than adequate with big thick fluffy robes and masses of towels. The products for the bathroom are all full size and all produced from local olive oil, including the body moisturiser. Thanks for the make up remover towelettes as well! As we left, Di and John were also going a way for a few days, but we can't understand why anyone would want to leave this perfectly relaxing space and tranquil valley. Perfect for hikers, birdwatchers, wild flower enthusiasts or use as a base for discovering other small towns and those that want total peace to read a book or indeed write one!

Room Tip: No room here would be anything other than wonderful, as Di is a perfectionist!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My husband and I spent seven nights at Los Castanos in early April. We chose it for several reasons: reports of the great food, the beautiful setting, and the numerous possibilities for activities close at hand. All of the reports were certainly justified. The food was fresh, delicious, and varied--Di was unfazed by my husband's vegetarianism and cooked especially for him without a thought. The village and the surrounding area were breathtakingly beautiful. And, Di and John were so happy to suggest activities, to provide maps and directions for hikes, to recommend restaurants for lunch, etc. Their personal interest in our impressions was genuine. A bonus was being so close to Ronda, which we found to be an beautiful and interesting town. Our room was lovely and spacious, and we were very comfortable and relaxed during our week at Los Castanos.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelle55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We did not come to Los Castanos because of all the glowing Tripadvisor reviews, as I don't always entirely trust them after all I have no idea who the reviewers are or what their standards or expectations of a hotel are. However in this case I am in complete accordance with the views of almost everyone else (has there been less than a 5 star review?) Hotel Los Castanos is probably as good a small intimate hotel as you will find anywhere, and I mean anywhere! Di & John who run the place are quite simply fantastic hoteliers and their desire to make your stay welcoming is out of the ordinary to the extent , on our visit, to preparing an excellent meal for 10 with Di's right hand in bandages following a nasty accident with a car door. Both they and the hotel deserve all the plaudits they get and you can believe them all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,189 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
344 reviews
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia, 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range: $138 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing