We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Los Castanos
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Sierra Hidalga(Ronda)(Great Value!)
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alavera de los Banos(Ronda)
$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel San Gabriel(Ronda)(Great Value!)
$150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$149
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel El Poeta de Ronda(Ronda)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$316
$296
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$130
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
395
13
2
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
13
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terraceother guestsgreat hostswhite villageslocal walksan excellent cooknearby rondasmall hotelandalusian villagepeter jonesperfect retreatshort drivecharming hotelvisit rondasouthern spainwonderful staycomfortable room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 412 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Los Castanos was our most memorable stay on our recent trip to Spain: the location was spectacular yet still accessible to Ronda; the accommodation was very, very comfortable; Di's cooking was superb and the warmth of the welcome was wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It would be impossible to recommend los Castanos too highly. We have been here at least four or five times now and love it. The welcome is always warm, the ambience absolutely relaxed and relaxing, the mountain views are extraordinary particularly in the crisp autumn and winter air, and the beds are divine! These must be the best duvets and pillows in the world!! Wonderful snowy white covers make it feel so luxurious too. Huge shower "cubicles" and great bath products, comfortable armchairs in the room, good WiFi connection, and a well-stocked mini bar mean that one might never leave ones room - except that there is a magnificent fire downstairs with sofas and a huge coffee table, books, DVDs in the "snug" and of course Di and John themselves who are the most unobtrusive of hosts, very special and extremely interesting. We come here for the peace, Di's truly excellent, imaginative food, the wonderful views, and the cosy feeling of being in a really small village in a really special place.

Room Tip: I think we've stayed in three different ones and they all had great views with lovely balconies looking out over the village roofs and the mountains.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viewfinder44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Obviously, "castaño" means Chestnut in Spanish, hence the hotel's name, which is very apt because all around the little village of Cartajíma are woods thick with chestnut trees. These give the hotel, poised above the tiled rooftops of the ancient little houses it's unique character. The changing seasons offer a different vista every time one visits, fluffy bloom in Spring, deep lush greens in Summer, gold and bright browns in Autumn and in winter, columns of blue smoke curling into the sky. And the smell! There is nothing like the smell of a mountain village in winter. Every home has a wood burning hearth and of course a plentiful supply of firewood. Di and John have captured this atmosphere brilliantly in their little hotel, combining rustic ambiance with almost decadent comfort, both in the charming rooms and in the "living" spaces. Every taste is catered for, birdwatching, walking, painting or just relaxing with a professional massage. Every time I visit, Di spoils me (and everyone else) with her imaginative cooking and generous portions, followed by a relaxing chat by the fire. If that isn't "chestnut heaven" I'd like to know what is!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Inspired by the positive reviews here, my friend and I stayed at Hotel Los Castanos as our first stop on a trip around Southern Spain. It was absolutely the right decision! Both being weary from the flight and new to this part of the world, the easygoing hospitality of Di and John instantly made us feel at home. The room was delightful, and the range of locally-produced beauty products in the en-suite was a distinctive, thoughtful touch. One of the highlights for us was our remarkable 3-course meal. Both being vegetarian, this might have set some people an unenviable task, but Di pulled it off with flair. Three mouthwatering courses which were unsurpassed on the rest of our trip. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank VforVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

The deeper you travel into the mountains, the less chance there is of finding accommodation that is anything other than fairly basic. So when you stumble across Hotel Los Castanos, you really have discovered a gem. This boutique hotel in the tiny Andalucian mountainside village of Carjajima, is the very essence of comfort and style on a par with any big town or city hotel. The difference is in the hospitality of the owners, Di and John, who live in the hotel and who have such an easy way with them that by the time you leave you feel you have made a couple of new friends. Di also cooks up a storm of most amazing food I've eaten anywhere in Andalucia, and all served with local wines in the splendid dining room with a log fire roaring in the corner. There are only six spacious bedrooms, and each one is furnished with the utmost attention to detail, from the well stocked minibar and shelves lined with books to the fantastic showers and fluffy white towels to relax in after a long day walking in the hills. The little white village of Cartajima is like stepping back in time and I'd wager that not much has changed in it for hundreds of years - perhaps as it's a couple of hours drive from the Costa del Sol it hasn't been over run by tourists, which for me makes it just about perfect. The village has a couple of restaurants and bars, and a few miles drive across the valley will take you to some other very special restaurants. But for me, it it's the Hotel Los Castanos which is the major allure, and on a sunkissed afternoon, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather be than resting on the roof terrace with a glass of wine while gazing across the red rooftops to stunning views of the valley. It's so tranquil, you can hear the grass blowing in the breeze, and in that kind of atmosphere you might just find the peace you've been searching for.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annasmith186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews