We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“WHAT A FIND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at Los Castanos at the beginning of February for 4 nights. Our room was lovely - very warm and every need catered for - even the watercolours and sketch pad for you to try your hand at capturing the wonderful views, Di's cooking was out of this world and John's
help with our walks was much appreciated. Don't hesitate to stay here, it is first class.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rekrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
209
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our 2 night Christmas break at Los Castanos was absolutely perfect. The hotel is full of character with inviting and comfortable rooms which have fantastic views over the village and beyond. Di and John are the most amazing hosts. They have a warmth that makes you feel like a house guest, not just another client. The food was out of this world! Di puts so much thought into her creations. The Christmas Eve Tapas feast was a triumph - we are still telling people about the flaming chorizo! Also the almond cake was the best I had ever tasted. The atmosphere was lovely - sitting at a long table for meals, gathering round the fire with our favourite tipples and swapping stories of our lives with our hosts and other guests. We left feeling totally relaxed and very indulged. Thank you Di and John for your wonderful hospitality. We thoroughly enjoyed sharing your Christmas and hope it is not too long before we return to Los Castanos.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vinechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dibeach, Owner at Hotel Los Castanos, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed Christmas with us as much as we did, thank you for your kind comments which make the effort worthwhile.

Just one comment for other potential guests reading this, it is only on special occasions that we eat 'en famille'. For the rest of the time you can choose how you eat either individually or, where you find things in common with other guests, in small groups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

There is no other hotel in Spain that I would recommend as whole-heartedly as the beautiful Los Castanos in Cartajima. Gorgeous location in a tiny white-washed village not too far from Ronda, lots of great hikes in the area, lovely accomodations- clean and luxurious, and most importantly, the most wonderful of hosts. Di and John are warm and welcoming people that make you feel at home and are very helpful and accomodating to all of your needs. I stayed here over the Christmas holidays and enjoyed an incredible time. The food was beyond delicious- a Christmas Eve feast of countless tapas including a spectacular flaming chorizo, and the best mince pies and Christmas pudding I've ever had. Award-winning food! Fantastic place and fantastic company! A must on your trip in Southern Spain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a place that everyone should visit. Make it your destination and you'll leave happy, relaxed and inspired. Exclusive accomodation, exquisite dining, but most importantly: the company and warm welcome from Di and John. They created a wonderful atmosphere, inspired us with their stories, and were always there to answer questions and offer advice about where to go in the area.
We spent our Christmas here and were treated to the most amazing meals...words can't even describe Di's culinary creativity and attention to detail. Amazing! The hotel's cozy interior makes it a perfect place to rest and recharge after a hike through the area (which has breathtaking landscapes), and nothing can beat a siesta spent laying out on the sunny terrace.
Thank you so much for everything, we miss you already and can't wait to visit in the future. Best of luck!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mhogendorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just experienced our most relaxed, pampered and totally enjoyable Christmas. It did not feel like we were in a hotel for Christmas, but sharing Di and John's Christmas in their home, with their family and friends. From the food to the decor, the surroundings to the attentiveness of their guests needs.....Most certainly deserve every 5 star review...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Find it hard to write about Los Castanos as a hotel because it felt as if we were very special guests in Di and Johns home. The hotel was set in beautiful country side, it was extremely clean, and nothing was too much for our wonderful hosts. My wife and I spent Christmas Eve ,Christmas Day and Boxing Day there and it was truly everything we dreamt of. Highly recommend it.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Albert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here for four days in December. The house is lovely with good facilities and nice decor, set in the centre of a very quiet village. The hosts, Di and John, made us feel very welcome, so this was more like staying in a home than a hotel. The location is great if you just want to relax in rural spain. It is about two hours drive to each of Seville and Granada, and a bit further to cordoba, and only twenty minutes from ronda.

W did not eat dinner here, but the breakfasts were lovely

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarkLondonMEt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
23.9 mi away
La Villa Marbella - Charming Hotel
4.5 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
5.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
#1 of 36 in Estepona
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
1.9 mi away
Hotel Alavera de los Banos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Property: Hotel Los Castanos
Address: Calle Iglesia 40, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing