We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We; 2 adults and 2 16 year girls stayed for 8 nights at the time of the local 4 day fiesta. We all had a wonderful time. John & Di were the perfect hosts, they provided lot of information about the surrounding area, beaches, towns to visit and restaurants.
Di has decorated the hotel beautifully and is a great cook. Our hosts went out of their way to be helpful and make our holiday a great one. Thank you both.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stripeysofa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
242
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Los Castanos is the place for an authentic "pueblo blanco" experience. The small hotel is comfortable and inviting. Di and John are gracious hosts who take a personal interest in their guests. We stayed four nights in an air conditioned room with a balcony view of the town plaza. One day we enjoyed the sun on the large rooftop terrace, with frequent dips in the cooling pool. We took a day trip to nearby Ronda, with a walking tour and restaurant recommendations provided by Di and John. Another day we went to a family beach, away from the crowds and highrises of the Costa del Sol in Estepona, enjoying the sea and great food at a small "chiringuito" (beach club) recommended by our hosts. Dinner at Los Castanos should not be missed; Di is a great cook and John knows Andalusian wine and sherry. Muchos gracias Los Castanos!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome when we first arrived and we happened to be the only guests. John was helpful with his knowledge of the local area and breakfast was nice.

Our room (room 3) was large and the decor was beautiful, with Moorish influence. Unfortunately I found the bed very uncomfortable as the mattress was really hard and, as a result, had little sleep, which was disappointing as the village of Cartajima is so quiet.

We enjoyed the peaceful location of the hotel, and the spectacular mountain views from our room, but we also liked to go further afield to enjoy some the atmosphere and liveliness of the tapas bars and practice Spanish with locals, which nearby Ronda was perfect for. I thought this hotel was the ideal base to help us to achieve this mix. However, once other guests arrived at the hotel we got the impression that we were expected to have dinner with them (at 28€ per head, this was simply too expensive for us) and also to converse with them in the evening. We didn’t feel too comfortable with this as we like to do our own thing (e.g. driving into Ronda in the evenings to try out different restaurants/bars and going for strolls) and presumed this would be respected as this was ‘our’ holiday to enjoy after all! We could be wrong, but felt that towards the end of the stay we were looked down upon a little, perhaps because we were younger than other guests and had different interests and plans.

As we were leaving early the following morning to catch our flight, we asked whether any breakfast could be provided. I thought that perhaps something could be prepared for us to take for our journey as other hotels we have stayed in have been more than happy to do this for us when breakfast has been included in the price. It wasn’t really a big deal, but we got the impression that the owner thought we were being cheeky with this request, even though she had mentioned she had made picnic breakfasts for other guests taking early morning hikes, so we didn’t expect it would be so much trouble. I also felt that when we checked out, this was a rushed affair and there were no warm wishes of pleasant holidays/safe journey, with more focus on the new guests instead. This was a shame because it marked the end of our holiday after a wonderful tour of Andalucia.

Overall the hotel is lovely but may not suit young couples. The owners conveyed an expectation to converse with other guests, but this is not always everyone’s cup of tea! Our impression was that the hotel is aimed towards couples who are a bit older and who want to make new friends on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelinaandAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dibeach, Owner at Hotel Los Castanos, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review. We welcome feedback so we can continue to grow and make Los Castanos as good as it can be. I therefore welcome the opportunity to comment on a couple of your points:
.
Firstly our beds. The mattresses are firm as this is the preference of the majority of our guests many of whom ask if they can take the bed home with them!! We have noticed over the last eight years that the occasional person needs a softer bed and so we make a point of inquiring on the first morning so can be sure that every guest is comfortable. As a chronic insomniac, nothing is more important to me than the sleep quality of my guests! When alerted to the need for more padding, we put foam toppers on the mattress.

I would like to take this opportunity to urge future guests to speak up when asked how they slept and make any problems clear at the outset - we are here to make your stay as good as it can be.

Many of our guests use Los Castanos as a centre for exploring the Serrania de Ronda and further afield. Ronda is indeed an interesting place with the old town having a wealth of history and many bars and eating places to cater for all tastes. There is absolutely no expectation or pressure on our guests to 'eat in'. We actively encourage a spreading of wealth in the local area by providing a guide to eating out as part of the room information folder and a recent very young honeymoon couple didn't eat in once and felt no pressure at all to do so. The only pressure they felt was to finish the jigsaw puzzle they had started!

We are generally praised for our ability to maintain a balance between being over-attentive and standoffish. In this case it was obvious that our guests wanted to be left alone and apart from some discussion about the Rugby League semi finals, I hope this was the case. At the same time there were other guests who wanted to exchange experiences which is always a pleasure.

If guests require breakfast early, we are always happy to oblige but 630 am is a tad early, particularly in Spain! Under these circumstances many guests will choose to stop en route to the airport at a later time or have some cereal or something similar in their room. Again, we urge our guests to let us know their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Situated in the rolling hills of Cartajima, south of Ronda, and located in one of the "los pueblos blancos" (little white hilltop villages), this charming guest house is a must to visit. Apart from its wonderful views, Di and John are excellent hosts. One of the best kept secrets is Di's splendid cooking and meal presentation. A delightful experience away from the hustle and bustle of the larger Spanish towns.

Robyn and Shirwell Kipps (Cape Town, South Africa)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirwell Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thank you Di and John for your fabulous hospitality. Your guest house is well equipped and charming. We loved being in a local village, meeting interesting guests and of course the company of Leo and Kenny (the dogs). Above all, the warmth of your hospitality made our stay with you a highlight of our trip to Spain. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay perfect. Thank you again, Charlotte and Margo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubaitum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights here in 40c heat and there is little we can add to all the previous reviews, Los Castanos is quite simply the best small hotel we have ever stayed in - wonderful hosts, wonderful food, wonderful views and wonderful attention to detail in every room. Di and John have got things just right here. Despite the many interesting things to see and do in this part of Andalucia, it was a real pleasure to come back here every afternoon for a siesta. And the evening meals - often Moroccan influenced - were simply stunning. Well worth seeking out!

Room Tip: Every room is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteD012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

We have stayed in a wide variety of places from Penthouse Suites in 5 star hotels to Run down shacks on beaches. We've enjoyed them all but we enjoyed this place more than anywhere we had stayed previously.

Many others have made comments about how at home they felt; we agree, so much so that we felt like washing the glasses we'd used before we went to bed.

Di & John were perfect hosts suggesting where we could go, both locally and when we moved on to Ronda. They were attentive to our needs at all times but not once did it feel 'overpowering'.

One of the biggest compliments we could pay is that we will certainly be back again in the near future. There are many places we've enjoyed visiting but with so many destinations and so few days leave (and available money for holidays) it's rare we ever promise ourselves we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 71 in Marbella
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Property: Hotel Los Castanos
Address: Plaza Pintor Miguel Martin 3, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing