We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Los Castanos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Los Castanos
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Immediately felt welcome to this small hotel, the owner couple were extremely lovely and accomodating to our needs. Food was a very high standard as were the rooms. Bed really comfy and soft. Great place for some r&r or walking/exploring Andalucia. See you again!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenRoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Los Castanos
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 385 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2011

What a most excellent small hotel in the middle of the mountains. I have taken my family there a couple of times now as the owners, Di and John, really looked after us from picking us up at the airport (Malaga) and dropping us off at trail heads or Ronda when we wanted to go into town.

We have two active children and although this is a wonderful place to enjoy the peace and tranquilty of the mountains and village, we were made to feel very welcome and not made to feel that we needed to apologise for the children every time a noise was made! The hospitality was great, the food varied, interesting and enjoyable, and the hosts exceptional raconteurs - they took a real pleasure and interest in their guests and occasionally shared some of their own stories from around the world.

If you are after a retreat to the hills to do some walking and getting quality time with the family, we found this to be a great place with everything taken care of from the moment we arrived to being dropped back off at the airport afterwards.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family room downstairs and although a little tight for all four of us, was very com...
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthPaul462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dibeach, Owner at Hotel Los Castanos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Thanks, Paul, for your kind words! It was wonderful having you all here again. Good luck in Perth. Di

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have just returned from a delightful two days at Los Castaños. Living on the busy coast as I do, what a wonderful change it made to be in the quiet mountains in the beautiful surroundings of the hotel. Previous reviewers prepare one for something special so my expectations were high and I was not disappointed! Thank you John and Di for making my short break so perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for the mountain view, the chestnut trees are spectacular right now.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lu G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dibeach, Owner at Hotel Los Castanos, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2011

Thank you! Escapees from the Coast are always welcome here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Welcome to the guest house where guests are not welcome, and the owners uptight and unhelpful. On arrival we were rushed to our room and given a frantic introduction, which I found strangely hostile but assumed was because the host was in the middle of catering dinner for other guests. No, we were the only guests. The room was comfortable and large, but the bathroom old, cheap and tasteless. There were little signs around informing guests of their expected behaviour, such as to use the black towell for makeup removal. We were charged for accepting an offer of an orange juice prior to dinner, which I thought was complimentary. We dined in on our first night, and the food was an uninteresting English interpretation of the local cuisine which left me disappointed after reading the other reviews. Another night we asked for help regarding vegetarian dining options, but were told that the only option was closed, and that we weren't vegetarian anyway (we managed to find ourselves an equisite, well known local restaurant that catered for vegetarians). During our stay our car had a flat tyre, but the hotel offered no assistance, not even directing us to a repair shop. Fortunately the local Spanish people were much more helpful, even though they didn't speak a word of English and we weren't their customers. On many points it seems that either the other reviewers hail from a hostile and desolate place, or we were at different hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twotaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dibeach, Owner at Hotel Los Castanos, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2011

We are really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. This is a unique and regrettable occurrance and I wish we could have done something at the time to make your stay a happier one.

Our mission at Los Castanos is to give every guest the best possible experience while enjoying their sojourn in the Alto Genal valley. We aim to do this by providing a friendly and supportive environment for our guests - a home from home. Upon arrival, we give our guests a brief tour of the amenities but have learned not to linger as most are a little weary after their journey and need to relax in the quiet comfort of their room.

Our hotel was built in 2004, a new building that merges with the traditional village houses but has all modern conveniences. Each of our rooms has a fully equipped bathroom with bathrobes, ecological olive oil products, makeup removal tissues and many other little necessities. In common with all hotels, we encourage our guests to save energy and water via a small notice in the bathroom with the normal request that they hang up their towels if they are prepared to use them a second day.

We serve dinner upon request focusing on local produce prepared simply and presented without artifice. Rather than Spanish food which is readily available of course, we prefer to play with the more subtle flavours and combinations of north Africa and the Mediterranean in general. Our style is traditional, simple, and honest. Our well-stocked bar includes delicious wines from local Ronda vineyards - all at reasonable prices. While vegetarianism is an alien concept in this part of the world, most bars can rustle up a tortilla and salad. Vegans are harder to accommodate!

We welcome feedback on the services we provide and often implement constructive suggestions made by guests. Examples of recent innovations include aperitives on the rooftop terrace at sundown, the addition of washcloths in the bathrooms, and a new sound system!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

A delightful small hotel run efficiently & unobtrusively by Di & John with great attention to detail in decor & facilities & in welcome & information. Quiet location in delightful village setting with mountain & hillside views yet within easy reach of Ronda. Walks & drives from doorstep through Andalucian countryside. Di cooks excellent meals with a Moorish feel if you decide to eat in & John has an good range of wines to choose. An 'honesty' bar in lounge area & no charge for mini bar soft drinks is a nice touch.
I highly recommend this small intimate hotel for couples as a base to explore or walk or for a 'get away from it all' escape.
MP Winchester

Room Tip: All rooms have views, sitting area, v comfortable
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CathyWinchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Beautiful hotel and incredibly kind and generous hosts. All advice offered and every meal (4 breakfasts and 3 dinners) were just fabulous. We loved the area too, incredibly quiet and beautiful scenery. Friendly villages and a slice of real traditional andalucian country living. Perfect as a romantic get away and the massage service was so good we went back for seconds!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed great with big beds and balconys
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LardyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

I sent enquiries to several hotels in the area, mostly in Ronda which we particularly wanted to vist, so we could easily have missed out on the delightful experience of staying at Los Castanos and seeing the lovely village in which it's located. Fortunately for us, however, Di's was the first email response to arrive, so we booked for two nights, and from the moment Di greeted us at the door one sunny afternoon we knew we had fallen on our feet.
On the outside the traditional whitewashed village house conceals the re-modelled interior with it's stylish large public area which herself Di designed to incorporate lounge, bar and dining area.
We only saw our own bedroom, but it was very comfortably furnished and decorated with a large double bed together with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower and 'his and hers' washbasins. The room also had a small terrace with views across the village to the sierra beyond.
Although there is the opportunity to eat out in the village, we decided to stay in the hotel for dinner on our first evening and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal, cooked and served by Di and John and featuring much local produce which persuaded us to stay in on our second night as well and again, like everything else about the hotel, the food was excellent.
Di and John work hard to create the comfortable, relaxed atmosphere of a home from home, but make it seem effortless. So whether you are looking for a base for sightseeing or walking, a romantic hideaway, or somewhere to simply chill out in an authentic Spanish village, Los Castanos should tick all the boxes.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atlantic0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cartajima
17.6 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,485 reviews
7.1 mi away
Molino del Santo
Molino del Santo
#1 of 2 in Benaojan
1,190 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hotel La Fuente De La Higuera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Hotel Catalonia Reina Victoria Wellness & Spa
17.5 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
345 reviews
14.7 mi away
Marriott's Playa Andaluza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Castanos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Castanos

Address: Calle Iglesia, 40 | Malaga, 29452 Cartajima, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Cartajima
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cartajima
Price Range: $139 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Castanos 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just six kilometres off the tourist trail to Ronda is a valley with stunning mountain scenery and eagles soaring overhead. You are heading for Cartajima, one of the most traditional of the famous Andalucian pueblos blancos, white mountain villages. Following our driving directions, you arrive outside the great chestnut doors of Los Castanos behind which there is quality accommodation, personal, informal atmosphere, local wines and great home-cooked food. Relax in your spacious bedroom with its enormous bed, soft sheets and fantastic mountain views. Stretch out on a lounger on the rooftop terrace, savor your wine and melt into the mountains. This must be the most perfect getaway, a totally indulgent mountain village hotel in a completely unexpected location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Los Castanos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing