We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't forget the museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway

Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$600.52*
and up
Private Outlander Minibus Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Bo'ness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This hidden gem, only 40 minutes drive from Glasgow and Edinburgh, is located in the historic town of Bo’ness. Our friendly staff will welcome you aboard one of our heritage steam or diesel-hauled trains and wish you a pleasant journey. The train travels along the shore of the Firth of Forth with views of the majestic Ochil Hills, before climbing a tree-lined gradient, passing woodland, wild flowers and waterfalls to the country station of Birkhill. Alight here to take a stroll in the ancient woodlands of the Avon Gorge.Beyond Birkhill, the train crosses the River Avon Viaduct to Manuel beside the Edinburgh to Glasgow railway line. Back at Bo’ness, visit the Museum of Scottish Railways, extended in 2012 with the addition of a 16,000 sq. ft. train shed to house the last remaining "Glasgow Blue Train", a recently restored Class 126 Diesel Multiple Unit and several other heritage items of rolling stock. In the main exhibition hall, operate a railway signal and points, climb aboard heritage locomotives and learn about the making, operating and using of Scottish Railways through the ages. Take time to sort some letters in the Post Office Sorting Van and view the classic video "Night Mail". Free parking, Station Buffet and Gift Shop.
Bo'ness
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't forget the museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had visited the railway several times for family days with Thomas the Tank, Santa specials and Easter specials and although these expensive tickets had mentioned that entry to the museum was included, had never felt inclined to venture over to the other side of the tracks - big mistake.
We visited recently and to be honest were not sure what to expect.
The museum is actually fairy well signposted if you look for them as you walk up to the railway station. Once you have completed the 200m stroll around the site you enter he museum.
Entry fee £5 or adults seemed reasonable but I was amazed to be told that the ticket was valid for a whole year
I'll be back soon and this time take my dad who's in his eighties and loves trains. It is a fair walk for him but the access is flat and easily managed on a good day. If it is raining hard it may be best to come back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonessrailway, Manager at Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, it's great to read about your discovery of our brilliant Museum of Scottish Railways, we think people don't expect there to be two huge halls full of locos and other railway artefacts and a display shed of trains you can get close to on the Visitor Trail on the way.

Good you got an annual ticket which as you say is £5 for adults and can be used for as many visits as you like in a year. Single visit tickets can be bought for £2 when purchasing a train ticket on the same day.

We look forward to seeing you and your Dad soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    87
    20
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
244 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleased we made the effort to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We travelled up to the Bo’ness and Kinneil railway as part of a round Scotland trip- and it was really worth while. If you are anywhere near Falkirk it really is a must to visit. The railway is well signposted from the M9 using the brown signs. When we got there we found plenty of car parking really close to the station buildings. Even better it was totally free of charge.

If you are an enthusiast there are the trains themselves- either steam or diesel. Even if you are not there is plenty to see and do. There is a model railway, a walk around the site that takes in a number of elements including vehicles under cover that are being worked on. There is also a museum showing the history of railways in Scotland. Within the museum is a workshop where current work is being undertaken.

The journey itself is just over an hour in length and takes in a number of different aspects of the area. You have the views of open water with hills in the distance. Next you can see the refinery peeping through the trees and then you are plunged into woodland and then you are in areas of open field.

Trains have refreshments on board but if that is not enough we can recommend the Station Café. The food is well presented- of good price - and it arrived very quickly.

The volunteers on the railway offer you a warm welcome and are very willing to talk to you and tell you about the railway. Their prices are good value for what you receive. Don’t forget to check their website before you go so that you are not disappointed if you want to see a steam train as some days the trains are drawn by diesel.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Choirman09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonessrailway, Manager at Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad you came too. We are pleased that you found all that our site has to offer and we have put some new itineraries on our website to make sure other people make the most of their visit too.
We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Kids day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a fantastic experience for the whole family. The train ride , the museum, tea shop and gift shop . Something for everyone. Price wise it;s fantastic value for money as under 5's go free. I would check prices for kids on their web site if you were going on the Thomas the Tank Engine day though . The staff are brilliant with the kids and happily posed for photo's with them and answered their every question. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank daisymay146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonessrailway, Manager at Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review, it is great that you have summed up what we are '... a fantastic experience for the whole family..'.
Please do come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Doesn't quite match Speyside Railway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Took my grandson on a weekend steam train trip here. I had recently been on the Speyside railway, but Aviemore was too far to take him on a day trip. Comparing the two there is a huge amount of things to see and do at Bo'ness - the station, the shop, great staff, a model railway, cafe, picnic tables and a full train museum. However, what made it not quite as good was the train journey itself - there wasn't a lot of information provided by the staff on the train. I noticed some speakers were installed and yet no commentary, the train compartment itself was very dirty with dog hair etc. Again, unlike Speyside there is nothing to do at the stations they are literally halts on the line, and the scenery is entirely different with a lot of this trip being enclosed in forest. That being said my gandson had nothing to compare with and he thoroughly enjoyed himself - so job done!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gordonm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonessrailway, Manager at Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for coming to see us. Our close proximity to Edinburgh and Glasgow means we are very accessible for a day trip as you say.

Your feedback has been taken on board and we are glad you and your grandson enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Bo'ness steam railway has become one of our favourite places to visit. We have visited twice now and look forward to returning. This place has captured the ambience and nostalgia of a bygone era. The majestic engines, the aroma of the coal and steam takes you back in time. A 5 mile ride on one of the steam trains is the highlight of the visit. The museum is a must also, with a large selection of engines and carriages on display. This place would appeal to all ages. Love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank katoomba21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonessrailway, Manager at Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
It is lovely to hear that we are one of your favourite places to visit. We are really pleased to have built up this kind of loyalty, in fact over 40% of our visitors who have taken our visitor survey have been before at least once.
It is great to hear that we have done what we set out to do and captured the ambience and nostalgia of a bygone era. We are a charity and the majority of our staff are volunteers, some working front of house and many behind the scenes preserving Scotland's railway heritage.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway also viewed

Bo'ness, Falkirk District
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
Bo'ness, Falkirk District
 

Been to Bo'ness and Kinneil Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing