We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Sunday Afternoon”
Review of Corbie Inn

Corbie Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Restaurants in Bo'ness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: European, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Corbie Inn is a recently refurbished and re-opened pub/restaurant situated close to the Bo'ness & Kinneil Railway line. In the summer you will be able to waive to the passing trains on their way to and from Birkhill Clay Mine from the beer garden. The objective and vision has always been to offer the best of real ales and cask beers from local, regional and national breweries at value-for-money prices. Beers are available in pint, 1/2 pint and 1/3 pint measures so you can taste & try and enjoy a selection from the 6 ales on tap. The pub also offers a family-friendly atmosphere where children are welcome and can be served meals until 9pm when accompanied by an adult. A children's menu is available but children are welcome to choose and can be served half-portion meals of their choice from the main menu. Booking for meals is not a requirement but is sometimes advisable especially at weekends and if a set time is preferred.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

had a lovely Sunday afternoon with friends. Sat in the Beer garden and had a lovely 3 course meal followed by a game of cards, supplied from the bar.

The food was great value for money. It is basic, good pub food, although the homemade cheesecake is delicious.

The sun was shining, the place was clean, the staff lovely and we enjoyed all this while listening to steam trains going by.

We ate for about £15 each, for 3 courses and 2 drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Becksie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 209 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This pub does real ales which was the reason for our visit. They had 3 guest ales on tap which was decent for a pub that size. We also had dinner which was average. The menu was varied and well priced but I wasn't overwhelmed by the macaroni cheese I had and my partner didn't really enjoy his burger. We would go back for the ale but probably give the food a miss.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Silverspring82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorbieInn, Owner at Corbie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Hi Kirsten, thanks for your honest opinion. Disappointed that you were not fully satisfied with your meals as many people comment on how much they like the macaroni and cheese. Also, not sure why there was only 3 beers on tap as there is usually 6 and you may just have been unlucky in that the others had just gone 'off'.

Having said that just noticed it was back in November 2012 when you visited and quite a lot has changed since then particularly on the food front, an even more varied menu, although macaroni is still a firm favourite.

Hopefully, when you do 'come back for the beer' you give our new menu another try and change your opinion. Cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was like going into a lovely living room with comfy seats and wood panelling. Went with Hubby, Dad and my 11 year old son. All were fed and happy. Hubby really enjoyed his visit into the on site real ale brewery. A lovely wee find. Staff were friendly and I felt as if I had been a regular for years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorbieInn, Owner at Corbie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Great to hear everyone enjoyed their visit. We always tried, since opening, to try and make the pub 'family friendly' and your comments confirm we are getting, at least, something right along the way. Thanks Susan for helping confirm it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The price is very reasonable and the variety of drinks is amazing. My partner loves ales and whiskey and he loves all the options.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Avidfoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Can only recommend this Inn. Good food, very friendly service , with a very clean and comfortable bar. Beer garden looked great too.
Will certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anm0gine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CorbieInn, Owner at Corbie Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Thanks Anm0gine, glad you enjoyed your visit. Assume you didn't venture out to the beer garden, it is getting a wee bit colder these days, but, maybe there might get an opportunity next time, cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corbie Inn also viewed

Bo'ness, Falkirk District
Bo'ness, Falkirk District
 
Linlithgow, West Lothian
 

Been to Corbie Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing