We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, terrible food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pocologan
Grand Bay-Westfield, Canada
1 review
“Great view, terrible food and service”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stopped in for first time to try this restaurant. Only 1 other table occupied but waitress took her time before taking our order. I felt like we were a bother. She decided to slowly set the table behind us first before taking our drink order and eventually serving it in a cloudy glass. The owners of the restaurant were very nice. My husband's lobster stew tasted like it was cooked with frozen canned lobster, little flavour. I had the seafood platter which was terrible. The scallops were yellow and mushy from a long freezer burn, the 5 clams tasted like old grease, the haddock was thin and soggy. Fries were frozen and the gravy had a funny taste. We then decided to make up for the meal with dessert, the raspberry cream pie was tasteless, the meringue was hard on top and dark brown, the raspberry on the pie tasted like raspberry jam or jelly, I had the coconut cream which was flat, watery and tasteless. $70.00 later, I would have to say it was the worst meal I have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank castalia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Friends from Saint John recommended this restaurant to us, as we travelling up from Maine. We were not disappointed. Great, fresh seafood, Greek style. We were the only customers; it was towards the end of their 'season' and lateish in the day. Service was prompt and efficient, the food was delicious.

I am only commenting on the restaurant here - we did not stay at the motel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arncliffegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a has been diner where everyone has given up because they are no longer in a traffic area. The food is obviously pre cooked and tasteless. My wife had a steak that was over cooked, and tasteless, My Slovakia was OK but had no taste. The vegetables were the worst I have encountered anywhere - total tasteless, watery mush - they had to be sitting in water all day - even frozen vegies can be made better. We ordered white wine - no white so we took the only other choice - some old lableless red that tasted like it was opened a long time ago.

When we asked for rice she said "I was supposed to cook rice today" - not sure why it could not be cooked to order.

Overall I just want to warn others to avoid this place. Instead take $50 and use it as BBQ lighter - it would be better spent.

Room Tip: Can't comment on the rooms - did not stay here. Just DO NOT EAT here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This review is for the restaurant only. Having eaten here a few times in the past and enjoyed it, I was eager to go here with my sister and her family. To start, the waitress tipped her tray and spilled pop all over my niece. Not just a bit- my niece was completely soaked. We felt bad for the waitress because she said it was her first day. The owner brought towels but was not very apologetic, even though we were being very nice about it. My daughter's grilled cheese was very burned- if I had made this in my home I would have thrown it in the garbage. The milkshakes that two of us ordered were little more than small glasses of milk- for 5 dollars a glass. When the bill came nothing was taken off, not even the glass of pop. I feel bad leaving a bad review for a place I have enjoyed in the past, but this was unbelievable. I will never eat here again.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4isalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, N.B.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Since the new four lane (Route 1) is now finished from Calais, Maine to Saint John, New Brunswick, BayBreeze Restaurant and Motel is now on Route 175 at Pocologan. Coming from Calais on Route 1, take Exit 69 and follow signs to Pocologan. Coming from Saint John, take Exit 86, then immediate right to Pocologan on Route 175. Bay Breeze is on the same spot with the same spectacular Bay of Fundy view.
BayBreeze has been our favourite spot over many years. The owners and staff are warm and welcoming. It's just the best seafood we have eaten.
(the hamburgers are good too)
M and C Sears, Fredericton , N.B.

Room Tip: Unit five is our favourite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sears284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We stop here every year on our way down to the US from Canada. It's a friendly, family run restaurant with simple, hearty Maritime food like hot turkey sandwich or grilled cheese & chips. The view from the terrace of the ocean is amazing. Great pit stop for the whole family.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mscoachbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stopped here on our trip through the East Coast, look very carefully so as not to miss this great place! It was the best meal we've had in New Brunswick. Excellent home cooked food, the seafood was fresh (Lobster Newburg was sooo good) and tasty. All the desserts were home made (we loved the cherry and apple pie). The place is not big or fancy but has the most incredible views of the water, and excellent, quality, fresh food at reasonable prices. You can eat inside or out on the patio and listen to waves below :) It's a family run place that has been there for 35 years, locals and returning visitors made it a pleasurably place to be. We can't wait to return. You gotta eat here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beary-Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pocologan
12.2 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
93 reviews
24.0 mi away
Travelodge Suites Saint John
Travelodge Suites Saint John
#5 of 20 in Saint John
295 reviews
23.2 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#9 of 20 in Saint John
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Clipper Shipp Beach Motel
Clipper Shipp Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Pocologan
113 reviews
24.0 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
24.3 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel

Property: Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel
Address: 1475 Route 175, Pocologan, New Brunswick E5J 0B1, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Pocologan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pocologan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baybreeze Restaurant & Motel Pocologan, Canada - New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing