We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Beachy Hotel with Great Food”
Review of La Sapiniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sapiniere
Certificate of Excellence
West Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable Beachy Hotel with Great Food”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed at La Sapiniere in Sep 2013 for 2 nights with the purpose of exploring many of the Normandy Invasion sites. We had one of the duplex-style family rooms that included a double bed on the bottom floor and two twin beds in the upper loft. The toilet was in a separate space away from the shower. The room was well-maintained and kept very clean. Cleaning service was very prompt and complete. The breakfast was an additional 10 euro and had a good variety of breads, pastries, cold cuts, cheese and eggs that you could boil. I would recommend eating breakfast here as it is convenient. The attached restaurant has an extensive menu of everything from salads to seafood to meats and the food was reasonably priced and of a very good quality. The staff spoke excellent English and were very friendly. La Sapiniere is a good base for exploring the Normandy invasion sites and in fact, Omaha Beach is right across the street. We had a lovely stay and I would love to return some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pathcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    69
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
66
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

La Sapinière is not only a hotel and a restaurant, it is above all the owner Isabelle and her team of 4 (to say nothing of the cooks in the backstage) who are so eager to please their customers. They are nice and earl, professional, fast and efficient. We have been there three times already and it was each time perfect as well for the lodging as for the food. the price/ quality ratio is outstanding, specifically if you take into account the location, a few yards from Omaha Beach and ten minutes walk from the mythical American cemetery. The rooms are sober, extremely clean as there is no carpet but a tiled floor, almost minimalist but still cozy and warm. Enough to say that we felt home.

Room Tip: rooms on the west side have a very pleasant private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

What a wonderful hotel and restaurant! The warm, kind and gracious owner was one of the best hosts I've had at a hotel, and that is only one of the many things that made our stay perfect. Staying so close to the beach - at the actual location of one of the most important events in WWII meant we were close to some key monuments, museums, outstanding views and the American Cemetery. Saint Laurent Sur Met is absolutely wonderful. I can't say enough good things, and be assured that you will enjoy your stay in not only this hotel, but this location as well. Great food at the restaurant on site as well. Wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyBelle_and_Beau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a outstanding hidden gem and certainly the best place to stay when visiting the D-Day sites. Our room was clean, comfortable, with plenty of room and a wonderful balcony. The food in the restaurant was superb! The best mussels we have eaten in a very long time, wonderful home cooked food and delicious desserts. A very warm and welcoming ambience and a real sense of family. We can not recommend La Sapiniere enough, stay there and you will not be disappointed. Our only regret is that we had booked and paid for another hotel further up the coast, as we definitely would have cancelled in order to stay here for the remaining days of our trip. Believe me our next hotel came no where close to La Sapiniere "The Best" :-). p.s my husband says they make the best chips/frites ever!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyGuernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We arrived at La Sapiniere rather late and just in time to catch dinner. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and we immediately sat at the hotel's restaurant, a cosy wooden cabin were we ate delicious pork ribs and sole meuniere. The portions were very generous and the atmosphere comforting. The hotel looks very nice and is built in cabin-style bungalows. Double rooms are simply furnished but large, very clean, well maintained and illuminated. Ground floor rooms enjoy a backgarden while first floor have a deck terrace all overlooking a dense forest. There is a nice lawn area upfront with nice relaxing facilities. Though the hotel is nicely located near Omaha beach we felt suddenly cut-off from the rest of the world and transported in time. To top it off, the hotel has a private parking which is very convenient as you will likely be arriving by car. Perfect place to stay if you are doind a D-day trip around Normandy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elias M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at La Sapiniere in mid June and found it thoroughly delightful. The owner, Isabelle, was charming and made us feel at home. In addition, the rest of the staff was very attentive and helpful as well. Our room was crisp and clean. We found the location an excellent base for visiting the D-Day sites as well as other sites in Normandy, such as Bayeux. There were great choices at breakfast, including yogurts, cheeses, fruits, delicious croissants, etc. Loved their coffee! Lovely dinners. We had a great time and would highly recommend La Sapiniere.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandTravelers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwinton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was an absolute pleasure to stay at. The hotel is located on the same ground the US troops had to cross. There is a complete German bunker with gun still in place next door. The beautiful beach is steps away. The owner and staff are fabulous. The rooms are very nice and very well kept. The restaurant is extremely good. Not sure what else to say except take all the advice below and stay here if you can.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer
1.3 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
149 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
841 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
343 reviews
14.8 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
18.6 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 100 rue de la 2e DIV D Infanterie Us | St Laurent sur Mer, 14710 Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Sapiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Normandy/Saint-Laurent-Sur-Mer, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing