We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family hotel, so close to Omaha Beach”
Review of La Sapiniere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Sapiniere
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful family hotel, so close to Omaha Beach”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

When planning our recent trip to the Normandy region, I was certain that I wanted to be as close as possible to the beaches of the D-Day Invasion, especially Omaha beach. I was so glad to find La Sapiniere. Not only was the location ideal, but it was a very comfortable and restful hotel.

We were happy with our spacious room, good bed and lots of windows. The Shower room was a little on the small side but everything worked very well and the shower had excellent water pressure. The hotel staff, and staff at the restaurant were all very pleasant, efficient and helpful.

Dinner at the restaurant was very good; we ate there twice and enjoyed the food very much. And the homemade cakes are outstanding! Breakfast is a very good value, with a great selection.

I will recommend this hotel to my friends, and if ever in the region again, I will certainly return to La Sapiniere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeHound58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    69
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
66
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is a great hotel for exploring the Normandy area, whether you are there to see the historic sites or to relax by the beach. The location would be hard to beat. It's just steps away from the beach and right in the center of all the historic sites. It is clean and very comfortable. The owners and staff are excellent. They are work extremely hard to make your stay enjoyable. Every request is responded to with a smile. The restraunt was very good and family oriented. Each night we were there a large number of the tables were occupied by locals, which is always a good sign. This has become one of my favorite hotels in France.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DT_10210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
688 reviews
313 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

If you are looking for a base to use to explore the Normandy Beaches, this is a good choice. Clean, quiet and basic rooms with internet. Restaurant has good food and breakfeast (10 Euro) and has very good service. This place is a little hard to find so be sure you have good directions.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is in the second row to the beach but doesn't matter! Very nice place. Very friendly service. The food is good. I will come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiHaoTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My father, brother and I stayed here for our trip to the D-Day beaches of Normandy. It made a great home base. The owner and staff were helpful and friendly and made our stay comfortable. The breakfast selection is fantastic with fresh bread, cheese, ham, juice and fantastic coffee!
Rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. Just a 2 minute walk to the beach makes it worthwhile. Plan to come back someday with my wife.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. It is on a very quiet location on the road behind Omaha Beach which you can access just a stone's throw away on a path through the dunes. I have no idea how busy it will be in the summer, but now in April you had the impression that you were in the countryside.

The room was spacious. We were at the ground floor and it had a nice terras with table and chairs. Bathroom is small but convenient with a big showerhead which was nice. The bathroom is too small to have a toilet, so that was separate. The toilet had no wash basin and that was for me the only negative point of the room.

The restaurant has a nice casual feel to it. I really liked the missmatch of tables and chairs. The food was really good. The owners and staff were very nice and it was certainly convenient that they speak English, especially the owner Isabelle.

Next to the hotel is a German bunker with a cannon which is now a monument. It is unnerving to see that this cannon could easily cover the whole beach. Walking on the beach is walking on history. It really hits home what terrible events took place here when you walk there and look at the dunes and further in the distance the cliffs.

This hotel is a perfect location to explore the rest of the D-Day beaches, Bayeux (Tapistry and Cathredal) and Mont Saint Michel (1-1/5 hour drive). The small memorial museum of St. Laurent sur Mère is worth a visit. Very touching to see photographs of the beach and surroundings at the time of the invasion and items found on the beach throughout the years, such as pictures and letters home.

We had a nice 4 day holiday here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanneke_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

My brother and I recently went to the Normandy area to visit the various D-Day sites and stayed at La Sapiniere. My poor words will probably not do the hotel or its owner/staff justice, but in every respect, our stay at La Sapiniere was outstanding.

The hotel is just steps from Omaha Beach and is perfectly located to visit all of the D-Day memorials in the area. Do yourself a favor and walk out onto the beach at sunrise. Taking in the view and thinking about the solemn history of that place will take your breath away.

What was most special about La Sapiniere was its owner and staff, who were friendly and did everything in their power to make our stay pleasant. And the restaurant located at the hotel is an absolute hidden gem. The food is some of the best food I have ever eaten.

The trip to Normandy was one of the most moving, wonderful experiences of my life and I highly recommend that if you take in the history of the D-Day landings, you stay at La Sapiniere.

Matt

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer
1.3 mi away
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
Domaine de l'Hostreiere
#1 of 1 in Colleville-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
Ibis Bayeux Port en Bessin
#2 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
Mercure Hotel Omaha Beach
#3 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Chateau La Cheneviere
Chateau La Cheneviere
#1 of 3 in Port-en-Bessin-Huppain
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
Hotel L'ideal Le Mountbatten
#1 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel du Casino
Hotel du Casino
#2 of 2 in Vierville-sur-Mer
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Sapiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Sapiniere

Property: La Sapiniere
Address: 100 rue de la 2e DIV D Infanterie Us | St Laurent sur Mer, 14710 Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Sapiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Sapiniere Normandy/Saint-Laurent-Sur-Mer, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing