We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect holiday for families” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Coast Gites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Emerald Coast Gites
Certificate of Excellence
Ely, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect holiday for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Make sure you book early! We were lucky enough to book a gite at this gorgeous location almost a year in advance. A few months before the trip we had second thoughts because it looked like the journey from our home in Cambridgeshire was going to be a bit of a nightmare, LOTS of driving plus a ferry ride, but we were so glad we stuck with it because Emerald Coast Gites really is the ideal destination for a family holiday.

Hosts Lesley and Simon have thought of everything a family could want -climbing frame, swings, huge trampoline, Wii, ride-on toys, pools, tree swings, ping pong, chickens to feed, friendly cats. All of this is in a self contained, enclosed area so you can open your front door and let your children run about with no worries about them escaping.

Our two sons, aged 3 and 5, would have happily stayed at the house for the whole week but we managed to drag them away to explore the surrounding area. Lesley had some excellent suggestions about places to go, most of which were 20 mins or less drive away. Our favourites were Chateau Hunaudaye, where our boys could dress up as knights, and Plage de Saint-Michel, a brilliant beach with biggish waves at high tide and rock pools and an island you can walk to at low tide.

All in all a perfect holiday for anyone with children, we'll definitely be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
107
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This is our 2nd holiday here in two years, the only difference being we travelled with a 6 week old baby!!  This wasnt our plan when we booked last year and had we been booked anywhere else we would have cancelled, but i travelled knowing the holiday even with a newborn would be amazing and the older children would be 100% entertained and that it was. My son, whos 8, loves it, and my other daughter who is 5 wants to stay there forever. What leslie and simon have done here is truly amazing, a one off, that draws you back time and time again.  For those wanting a holiday where the kids are 100% entertained and happy, doing what kids should, playing outside, on the trampoline, ride ons, scooters, table tennis, table football, feeding the chickens, swimming, making new friends, or just running around the list is endless i have mentioned just a few, allowing mum and dad to have time to relax, be entertained, eat fabulous food and not to mention drink fantastic wine, this is most definately the place to go (proven to be possible even with a newborn!). Its so close to so many beaches, beautiful towns, restaurants, seafood, childrens activities (not that you need them as you have to drag the kids away from the gites as they just love whats there) we thought we'd found them all last year, but discovered even more, and no doubt will discover even more next year, when we return for 3 weeks, ideally we would stay for the whole summer!! Seriously, cannot recommend emerald coast gites enough!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunters4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linslade, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Just come back from our 4th year here - so, safe to say we like it and have had a fantastic time again this August. Can't go next year which is a real shame. Our children love it and if they are happy then so are we! Ages 5, 7 & 8 this year. Great grounds and facilities for the kids who stay up till it gets dark then pass out exhausted and then a few games of pool and mixing with the other guests in the bar (baby listener works from the gites). Excellent BBQ evening and wine and cheese night. Lesley does really good plat de jour six nights a week - we have it every evening (fish man visits on Fridays - moules frites highly recommended. Beaches about fifteen mins away and vast, tree climbing, lake fishing - loads to do. Nighttime swim is a favourite for kids too. Love it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

What can I say....total relaxation, VERY safe for kids, beautiful area, never more than about 15 mins away from beaches/local attractions.....we have just returned from a fantastic two weeks with a family party of 9, taking up 3 Gitès !!!....ages ranged from 11-75...suited ALL !!!!!...Lesley and Simon are the perfect hosts and make you feel like you are staying with them as friends, not just guests. Lesley would phone and book any restaurant or activity you wanted to do and was full of ideas for days out and activities. The Plat Du Jour was always top notch and better than most restaurants and the BBQ was FANTASTIC !!!!!!I...ALTHOUGH....if you have any ideas about going easy on the alcohol....think again....with Simons "one for the road", you don't stand a chance !!!!!!...Our 11 year old twins have told us this was the best holiday ever.....need I say more !!!!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maxine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Just got back from our second trip to this complex of gites. A more family friendly place you could not find. The owners, Lesley and Simon, live on site and are terrifically welcoming and helpful. The location is peaceful yet you are only 15 minutes away from some of the loveliest beaches in northern France. The accommodation itself shows great attention to detail and is spotlessly clean, with plenty of large fluffy towels, bathrobes, slippers, posh toiletries, toys for the children and a lovely welcome tray of pate, biscuits, tea and coffee, baguette and so on, with wine, milk and local apple juice waiting for you in the fridge. Outside there are toys for children of all ages, a ball pit, a swimming pool, a massive trampoline, a Wii for the older kids, table tennis, badminton, football area and slides and swings for the tinies. Yet there is always a corner with peace and quiet if you don't want to be surrounded by kids. There is a big utility room in the owners' house with washing machines and a tumble drier (useful with kids!), and a small bar in the centre of the complex where you can sit and have a quiet drink, or join in cheese and wine evenings, etc. You can order croissants and bread to be delivered by the local bakery, and owner Lesley will cook you a gourmet meal in the evening if you order it the night before (strongly recommended). This is an absolutely brilliant place, and my only hope is that you don't all read this and start booking up so I can't go back, as I love it. In fact, if I could move in, I would.

Room Tip: Stairs in the 2-bed gite are a bit difficult, so if you have a babe in arms, go for one of the bigge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shlg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We found Emerald Coast Gites by typing 'family friendly holiday Brittany' into Google. That description couldn't have been more right!
We had a 2 bedroomed gite which had everything we needed with two toddlers, the food was fantastic, the toys, ride ons, climbing frame, trampoline and soft play were more than enough to keep our little ones entertained. The pool area is lovely, with a large pool and a pool for toddlers too!
The meals were outstanding and the cheese and wine evening was great fun. Leslie and Simon are fantastic hosts.
We had such a relaxing time knowing that our boys could play in complete safety. I couldn't believe our holiday was so stress free with a 2 and 3 year old. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend these gites to other families.
Brittany is such a great part of France, there was plenty to do in the area but we really spent most of the time around our gite because the kids just loved it. After such a fantastic holiday in an amazing part of the world we are now getting married in Brittany.
Emerald Coats Gites........if only you did weddings!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wiltshirelady77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helier
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from a week with Lesley and Simon, and it was wonderful. With a toddler and another baby on the way, I was hoping to relax a bit and I did just that. There was so much to entertain our 2 year old, it was hard to get him out some days, which meant we could stay on site and take it easy.

Lesley has thought of everything for the gites, stair gates, black out blinds, crockery etc, you don't need to bring anything.

The area is gorgeous, and so much again to do for children, we would definitely return to Emerald Gites and the area. If you want to go, book early as they get booked up very early.

Congratulations on a wonderful complex you have created Lesley and Simon, Melissa, Delio, Ruben and Isabela

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank melodee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henansal
6.7 mi away
Hotel Georges
Hotel Georges
#2 of 5 in Pleneuf-Val-Andre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
18.7 mi away
Mercure Dinan Port
Mercure Dinan Port
#1 of 16 in Dinan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Le Bon Cap
Hotel Le Bon Cap
#1 of 1 in Plurien
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Chateaux du Val - Domaine du Val
7.0 mi away
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
Hotel le Manoir Saint Michel
#1 of 3 in Sables-d'Or-les-Pins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
6.7 mi away
Spa Marin du Val Andre
Spa Marin du Val Andre
#1 of 5 in Pleneuf-Val-Andre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Coast Gites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Coast Gites

Property: Emerald Coast Gites
Address: la Touche, 22400 Henansal, France
Location: France > Brittany > Cotes-d'Armor > Henansal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Henansal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven fully equipped holiday gites set in the beautiful french countryside, but only 15 minutes from the stunning Cote d'Emeraude beaches.Our gites are designed to be family friendly. The owners have small children of their own so have developed their facilities to be child friendly. Our facilities include:Private bar.Heated 13 x 6 metre swimming pool. Smaller heated pool for younger children. Children's play area (multi-activity play centre for the older kids, plus a range of swings, slides, ride-ons and toys for the under-threes). Games room (including pool, table tennis, a Nintendo Wii, and more...). Toys in each gite to keep our younger guests occupied; stairgates in each gite to keep them safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Emerald Coast Gites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Coast Gites France/Henansal, Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing