We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Furneaux Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furneaux Lodge
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Arrived to grumpy manager Steve. Got up the next morning to cold lodge with no fire in fireplace. My wife and I ate breakfast in our down jackets. Total disregard for personal comfort of guests unbelievable. Enjoyed the a Queen Charlotte tract but would stay at another lodge next time.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank spookyFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
There are newer reviews for Furneaux Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 269 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

After a 15km walk on the Queen Charlotte track we came upon our prebooked nights stay at this magnificent 130 year old home
From the time we booked in our every whim was catered for
Our room was beautiful and a short walk to the historic home where we enjoyed a fine wine warmed by the glowing embers from the open fire
Our meal was prepared by a well known local chef and it was delicious
Claire was a wonderful hostess and we enjoyed her many humerous informative tales of the local history
Weddings are their specialty
and I am sure any marriage made here would be guaranteed to last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deb t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The food and wine were some of the best we had on the Queen Charlotte Track. Incredible chocolate dessert!
The Lodge is an historic building and has a very welcoming atmosphere.
Furneaux has a bit of a Northern Exposure feel to it - which we really enjoyed. Right down to waking up to find a helicopter parked on the lawn in the morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusaninMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Furneaux was the first stop for our group on the Queen Charlotte walk, reached after about a four hour walk from Ship Cove. The main building is quite grand and we were accommodated in one of the newer buildings, comfortable and well appointed, and plenty of hot water. We had a drink in the bar and then dinner, which was fine without being memorable, plenty of nice NZ pinots. We ordered our breakfast for the next morning and this was a bit of a schemozzle. I think we were expected to sit in exactly the same seats and the fact that we were not threw the staff into a bit of a flap. Overall it was fine, but certainly not the best stay we had on the walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went for a swim after arriving from Ships Cove - not a good idea!. Rained all the way and the Queen Charlotte Track was awash. However the sea was great to take the aches away. Water problems (from the storm) meant some of our party missed out on hot showers which did not go down well. Our chalet was a bit tired but so were we so did not notice much. Dinner was good and the blue cod well done. Enjoyed a couple of beers in the bar and checked out the interior, a lot of history here.
Great staff and they were very helpful with us being a bit needy to start with.
Thanks for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raysreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

bit of a home away from home, cosy bar and restaurant with a big fire, great unobtrusive service, nice meals and the accommodation was fine, clean and tidy and relatively spacious. And the views, and fishing ... aaah bliss

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our experience in the dining room was the highlight of our stay here. I had a risotto which was the best I have ever eaten and I have travelled in Italy. The food was exceptional and a great selection of wines to choose from. Congratulations to the chefs. The service was also outstanding. When we came of the track we were very wet as it had rained most of the day. There was no drying room but we were given clothes racks to dry our gear on. There seems to be under floor heating in the bathrooms but it didn't work in our studio. Umbrellas could be made available as the accommodation was quite a distance from the lodge in our case. Great décor in the accommodation but there could have been a bedside table on both sides of the large and comfortable in our studio.

Room Tip: Ask for one near the water. A great view to wake up to.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough Region hotels
7.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
321 reviews
14.4 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
326 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahana Lodge
Mahana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furneaux Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furneaux Lodge

Address: Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Sound, 7250, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Marlborough Region
Price Range: $141 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Furneaux Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the head of Endeavour Inlet in heart of New Zealand’s stunning Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux Lodge is a boutique hotel in the outer Queen Charlotte Sound. It looks out over the calm, clear water of the bay, embraced by virgin native forest, unchanged since Captain Cooks first visit in the inlet in 1769. Here at the lodge, the pace is easy, comfortable and relaxed. Ideal for the complete retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Furneaux Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furneaux Hotel Marlborough Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing