We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay and Excellent Food”
Review of Furneaux Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Furneaux Lodge
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Stay and Excellent Food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed overnight in a suite at Furneaux Lodge on the first day of walking the Queen Charlotte Track. The suite was lovely and had a wonderful view. We had a very enjoyable meal in the evening and then relaxed with other QC track walkers in the comfortable lounge after dinner. We were supplied with a tasty packed lunch the following day (this had been included in our package). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definately recommend.

Room Tip: All the suites are well located. We had room # 14 which had an excellent view. Unable to comment on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FurneauxLodge, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi,
Glad you enjoyed the lodge and our new menu – thanks heaps for the great feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    76
    52
    32
    19
See reviews for
49
121
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in one of the chalets at Furneaux Lodge after walking the first day of the QCTrack. It was 2 bedroom with a small kitchen and small living area. Everything was rather dated although the bathroom had been done up in recent years but the shower flooded the toilet area and there was a rather nasty drain smell. Everything seemed clean and the linen and bedding were fine and beds really comfy but we had the unfortunate surprise of mouse droppings under our pillows when we went to bed and on closer inspection through the kitchen area too - there were mousetraps about but werent set. The staff were great when I mentioned this and offered to move us but as it was late and the kids were tired we chose to clean it up ourselves and stay. We had chosen to eat in the restaurant/bar which was a great choice - food was really good - atmosphere was great with other families with kids as it was the school holidays.
The location of this Lodge is amazing, staff friendly and helpful, food really good and if you choose to stay in the studio apartments which looked newer then Im sure everything would be great, but the dated chalets arent up to the beauty of the location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeside-lodge1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FurneauxLodge, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for the positive comments in regards to our grounds, facilities, staff, and dining.
We have taken on board your comments about the chalet. The four chalets that required redecoration have just been completed in time for summer and look really good now.
We are really sorry about the mouse problem. As we are located in the bush, we do have a constant program running to keep them out but they can move in fast – really sorry about this and I am pleased that the team offered you a new room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marlborough Region hotels

Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend. The staff were excellent and very friendly. The restaurant food was also very nice. We stayed in one of the chalets and it definitely needed updating. The kitchen window was crakced, the bedroom window didn't shut completely and so there was a draft when it was windy and the wallpaper was peeling in places. There was also no plug in the bedroom to plug in a lamp and when we pulled away the bed to look for one we found that the carpet didn't go all the way to the wall!! The kitchen was fine - microwave, kettle and fridge. The cooker is just a hot plate though and so would be difficult to make anything substantial on the hob. The bathroom was new though and very nice.
We did have a look at one of the suites though and this looked very nice but didn't have any cooking facilities.
The location is great and the views are stunning. Overall I would recommend this.
We also travelled there with Cougar Line water taxis and these were excellent and we were lucky enough to see a pod of dolphins on the way to the lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill&Pete45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FurneauxLodge, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for your positive comments in regards to the team, dining, location and our views.
The four chalets that needed to be renovated have been done in time for summer and look great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recently walked Queen Charlotte Sounds and first night was at the Furneaux Lodge. So often do we forget what an at home holiday can provide. The food here was superb with homemade pâté and bread. Freshly caught Blue Cod and awesome lodge atmosphere. Definately recommend.

Room Tip: Lodge facilities including full kitchen if you wish to self cater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FurneauxLodge, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for the great feedback – we are getting really positive feedback about the new menus this summer and the team is looking forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anakiwa, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Furneaux Lodge is a superb location for a raft up or social sail or celebrations after a race. The staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. Radio in and they will come and collect you from your boat. The setting of Furneaux is beautiful. A lovely venue for a relaxed wedding. The food is good both in the bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Okiwa_Bay_Lodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FurneauxLodge, Owner at Furneaux Lodge, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Hi,
Thanks for the enthusiastic review – always good seeing the boaties come in
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Furneaux Lodge has two amazing assets: the wonderful character-full old homestead where the bar and restaurant are, and it's location. If you're passing, a coffee or a beer here is mandatory! As winter accommodation though it's hard to recommend.

We stayed in one of the new Endeavour Suites, which are less than 10 years old and look lovely in the brochure. And I think in summertime they would be delightful. (although whether worth the high asking price is another matter).

On a cold winter day as when we were there though they are not a good option. The basic problem is they are cold and damp, exactly the opposite of what you want when it's, well, cold and damp outside! They seem to have been designed to be cool in summer but no thought given to keeping them warm in winter. The floors are tiled and with no underfloor heating are like walking on a block of ice. Even a cheap rug would make a huge difference. The windows are single glazed and occupy most of the walls, and in the mornings were streaming with condensation leaving puddles on the floor. The cedar louvres won't keep much heat in either. The curtains are thin. You get the idea. After keeping both the (inadequate) heaters on all the time when we stayed it wasn't more than a fraction warmer inside than out! All that damp inevitably leads to mould in the bathroom and on the tile grout etc.

The restaurant is grotty and badly in need of a redecorate. The food was fine but not great.

I wanted to like Furneaux. The setting is magic, the service was good, and it's good in parts but overall if you market yourself as a premium destination you have to deliver, and it's just too inconsistent to do that. The more I travel the more I am prepared to overlook quite a few idiosyncrasies but my bottom line is I want accommodation to be quiet, clean, and warm. I won't recommend anywhere that doesn't manage all three.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KiwiJohn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I am mad about this place. On a big wedding anniversary I intend for us to make it back.
The water taxi will drop you off at the jetty where you are met with a golf cart and a big smile. You walk through the beautiful grounds…

We booked a suite, it was so lovely, all calm and serene stone colours… We had a big plush bed with crisp sheets and big poofy pillows. They even left chocolates with our towels. Heaven.

You don’t have to leave if you don’t want to the restaurant will feed you well.

We ate breakfast twice and had an amazing meal after our bush walk. They make a good cappuccino… and perfect eggs… On our final morning I ordered french toast with berries and caramelised bananas, have you ever heard of a more decadent breakfast?

After our big long bush walk we treated ourselves to a blow out meal in the sunshine.

My husband ate fish chowder, thick and gloopy and filled with local fish with bacon and a poached egg. Again so decadent. I ate delicious locally caught fish with a beautiful tomato salsa and olive oil potatoes. We finished with a home-made lemon tart and a glass of Sauterne. Perfect.

Highly recommend a stay here, the lodge is luxurious and secluded and the staff cannot do enough for you. Do a walking holiday and get on the Queen Charlotte Track!

You can see photographs here;
Food; http://pleincommeunoeuf.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/furneaux-lodge/
The Lodge; http://youmakemeswoon.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/furneaux-lodge/
Our time in the Sounds....
http://youmakemeswoon.wordpress.com/2012/07/20/back-to-the-marlborough-sounds/

Room Tip: Go for a suite, so cute
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SupaSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough Region hotels
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
7.1 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
325 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahana Lodge
Mahana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furneaux Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furneaux Lodge

Property: Furneaux Lodge
Address: Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Sound, 7250, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 Specialty Lodging in Marlborough Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Furneaux Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the head of Endeavour Inlet in heart of New Zealand’s stunning Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux Lodge is a boutique hotel in the outer Queen Charlotte Sound. It looks out over the calm, clear water of the bay, embraced by virgin native forest, unchanged since Captain Cooks first visit in the inlet in 1769. Here at the lodge, the pace is easy, comfortable and relaxed. Ideal for the complete retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Furneaux Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furneaux Hotel Marlborough Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing