We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food, great location”
Review of Furneaux Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Furneaux Lodge
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We travelled with Couger Lines to Ship Cove and walked to Furneaux Lodge (about 4 hours). The lodge is tired, very tired. Our 2 bedroom chalet was neat and clean but very basic. We dined in the bistro/restaurant for dinner and had the worst meal we had in NZ. My advice is to take your own provisions. The staff were all friendly and helpful. There are other places nearby to stay which looked better.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gellis1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 276 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

What a great site after a few hours of tramping the first part of the Queen Charlotte track. We were warmly greeted at reception and directed to our chalet. The staff are friendly and went out of their way to try and help.

The lodge in its day must have been magnificent. Now it needs some care as it is showing lots of wear. The chalet was large and adequately clean. The kitchen was a 19--- vintage and needed a clean. The shower was not adequately separated and as a result the water went all over the bathroom floor. This is hazardous as it is a very slippery floor.
The menu is limited and the food ok. As there is only limited accommodation along the Queen Charlotte track and the lodge has a unique position. For what you get it is expensive but unless you wish to tent you have limited choice.
Their are glow worms near the hotel worth a quick walk.
All the above is compensated for by the MAGNIFICENT scenery and the feeling of wellbeing on finishing stage one of the track.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricJ123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

The boat trip to Furneaux (with Cougar Lines) set the scene for our stay. Feeding blue cod in one bay, watching stingrays in another and have dolphins play in the wash of the boat in another !

We stayed at Furneaux Lodge for 4 nights over Xmas 2011 and had wall to wall sunshine every day, which made it even more stunning. The location is fabulous and if you are looking for somewhere to chill out and/or do a little bit of walking with no TV, then this is the place for you ! We stayed in a 2 bedroom chalet (think it was number 8), which to be honest could do with some updating - broken window latches, one bedroom didn't have a door, though the bathroom had been redone as a wetroom and was very nice.

The food in the restaurant was very good and the waiting staff, whilst at work, were very friendly and efficient, dealing with requests / minor problems very quickly and efficiently. Marg, the manager, was very chatty and quick to resolve any issues and obviously was a hospitality professional.

There were however a couple of things that detracted from the stay. The vast majority of the staff were travellers and therefore their attitude to living / working at Furneaux was more relaxed than if it was a "proper" job to them. Marg explained that most staff only stay about 8 weeks and I can only imagine the challenges that this represents for management. The housekeeping of the chalet we were in was lax - our chalet was never properly serviced (though we said not to bother on Xmas Day), beds were not made once over 4 nights and apart from checking the tea/coffee levels, the chalet was not touched throughout our stay except when we asked Marg to arrange for our bathroom to be cleaned.

The other downside was when the staff were off-duty. We loved being able to chill out and go for a swim off the jetty/main wharf as it was so peaceful and relaxing - until the off duty staff appeared (sometimes as early as 11am). We were then subjected to groups of at least 4 and up to 10, taking over the jetty and ruining the tranquility - as guests we really didn't want to hear about how little work they had done that day and got away with or the state of the female staff's bikini lines and the relative merits of how/when they looked after them... I understand that Furneaux is an isolated place and that staff need to do something when off duty, but I would suggest that they have their own area to relax and the main areas are left for guests to enjoy. I didn't mention this last point to Marg as I felt that if we had said anything whilst there, and changes were made, then there was the possibility that the staff might have had made the rest of our stay less enjoyable.

Despite these minor irritants, I would still recommend Furneaux as a great place to stay - remember to take some provisions for breakfast and lunch so that you can make your own in your chalet and keep costs down.

Room Tip: Chalet 8 had great afternoon sunshine, though was closest to the main lodge building. Chalets neare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We did the Queen Charlotte Track and stayed one night as part of our honeymoon. Wished we could have stayed longer! We were given lucky room # 13 - the best room (in my opinion) with an amazing uninterrupted view of the mountain and sound. We ate at the restaurant tat night and my beef fillet was one of the best I've ever had- just melted in the mouth! We did have to ask for towels as they had been forgotten but the staff promptly delivered fresh ones to our room. The manager was very helpful although a little pushy. A good sales women who is good at up-selling. Defiantly worth a stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mentmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The staff were very pleasant; however, the woman at check in was so rude it was ridiculous. It's a shame that she is your first and last contact with the lodge. Also, for the price you pay it was poor quality for lodging and in the restaurant. The rooms were not cleaned well, restaurant was overpriced and they ran out of mussels by dinner. It was very disappointing. I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

3 1/2 stars

We stayed 1 night while doing the Queen Charlotte Track. The lodge is in a beautiful setting on the shore of the sound. We stayed in the Tobias suite. This was smart, modern, and spacious. The bed was excellent and the shower was surprisingly good considering the lodge's location. There were guests above us who we could hear when they walked around - they were considerate so we had no problems with this.

The staff service was good - welcoming, friendly, and relaxed.

For dinner we both had the fish (blue cod). The ingredients were fresh but the meal itself was very basic as though a beginner cook had prepared the meal. Service was very slow too with few diners so perhaps key staff were away that night. Breakfast by contrast was good and the packed lunches were the best we had on the track.

Apart from the dinner, we had a very good experience but both the room and food were expensive (even when taking into account the isolated location) hence the 3.5 star rating.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiLeisureTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed here over a weekend for a 40 birthday great time had by all unfortunatly the manager Marg should step back felt like we were at a boarding school and she was matron.Dressed in hippie cloths come on Furneaux 4 and a half star.Big ups to the rest of staff all looking professional and in uniforms Marg.Thanks to Lee the barman for looking after us and to Tim the chef that fillet was perfect good luck for the summer.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 129Traveler129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marlborough Region hotels
7.2 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
328 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
13.7 mi away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
342 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mahana Lodge
Mahana Lodge
#1 of 2 in Endeavour Inlet
149 reviews
32.9 mi away
Mount Richmond Estate
Mount Richmond Estate
#1 of 2 in Rai Valley
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furneaux Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furneaux Lodge

Address: Endeavour Inlet | Queen Charlotte Sound, 7250, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Marlborough Region
Price Range: $190 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Furneaux Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the head of Endeavour Inlet in heart of New Zealand’s stunning Marlborough Sounds, Furneaux Lodge is a boutique hotel in the outer Queen Charlotte Sound. It looks out over the calm, clear water of the bay, embraced by virgin native forest, unchanged since Captain Cooks first visit in the inlet in 1769. Here at the lodge, the pace is easy, comfortable and relaxed. Ideal for the complete retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Furneaux Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furneaux Hotel Marlborough Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing