We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brian's place is a wonderful place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tokomaru
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stranded in Paradise
Bremen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brian's place is a wonderful place”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay at if you are planning on going around the East Cape. The owner, Brian, and his housekeeper are very welcoming and friendly hosts. You have beautiful views onto the bay from the terrace. And community rooms and kitchen are very clean and good standard. A very cosy, well-maintained hostel. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuuttipukki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
19
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is such a gorgeous place, with amazing views over the East Cape and Pacific Ocean.

Our double room was lovely, with a big bed, french doors and although it wasn't en-suite, the shower room was next door. The kitchen was really clean and tidy and there was a decked area outside.

You must take insect repellant and cover up at dusk as the Mosquitos in that area are vicious.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickymakin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Arrived in the rain, after cycling around the East Cape. Very friendly and helpful manager, comfortable lounge, and good kitchen. First night we slept upstairs in a mezzanine - tight and cosy - and the next night in a separate 'cabin'. Apparently camping facility further up the hill but we did not explore this due to the constant rain. Spectacular views of the Bay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Woke with the birds amongst the trees as the sun rose out of the ocean before me. My cabin is compact and simple but wonderfully secluded. Enjoyed a great night at the Te Puka Tavern last night and met some lovely locals. The facilities at Brian's Place are clean and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demonteeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

After visiting the East Cape lighthouse, we were looking for a place to stay to break the drive back to Gisborne. Brian's Place is a small and homely backpackers in the small town of Tokomaru Bay, about 1 hour drive south of East Cape. There is a toasty fire which keeps the living room and bunk rooms warm, and hot water bottles are available for extra cosiness. Composting toilets were clean and didn't smell, and there was plenty of hot water.
The highlight is definitely enjoying a *real* coffee (french press or stovetop espresso available to guests!) while gazing out over the magnificent view of the bay in the morning.

Room Tip: The double room is cold in winter so go for a bed in one of the lofts, right by the fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ristari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stranded in Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stranded in Paradise

Property: Stranded in Paradise
Address: 21 Potae St, Tokomaru 4047, New Zealand (Formerly Brian's Place)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Tokomaru
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tokomaru
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing