We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chalet la Moussiere

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet la Moussiere
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Our first skiing trip and we could not have picked a better place to stay. Darren and Luanne were fantastic hosts and made our stay so enjoyable. Darren is an excellent chef and luanne's cakes post skiing were adorable. Sauna and hot tub were also great.
We will definitely be back and next time, we might have to bring the kids............... or maybe not !

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

Darren and Luanne took over the running of Chalet la Moussiere in December 2011. We arrived by air at Geneva and we were met and driven to their charming old chalet. On arrival, they immediately made us comfortable by the roaring log fire and we enjoyed Darren's excellent cooking and their care and concern for their guests. We were taken to the slopes at the time of our choosing, and picked up at the end of the day. Tea and one of Luanne's delicious cakes was on the table, but we were soon in the Sauna to be followed by relaxing in the hot tub. What an end to a day of hard sking ! The following morning, a cooked breakfast was on offer before another day skiing the vast Portes du Soleil. We had a great few days and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for en suite as some only have a basin !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous skiing trip to Morzine and cannot praise the new owners of Chalet la Moussiere enough. The food was fantastic, chalet beautiful and hosts as friendly and helpful as they come!
They arranged lift passes and transfers for us and daily dropped us at whichever lift we wanted to go to, no walking in ski boots for us.
We highly reccommend this chalet and hope to visit again next year.

Room Tip: Check with hosts when you book as not all ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

We rated this chalet highly because it really did feel home from home. It was ideally placed for exploring the alps and extreme activities (ideal for teenagers). The hosts organised all activities we wanted to do. Rooms were clean and tidy and were en-suite (no frills, but lovely and traditional). Flexibility was also the key they organised things as we felt like doing them. The host was a great cook and eating with them in the evening was so enjoyable. Also plenty of good restaurants nearby. A car is recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamales186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Jean d'Aulps
4.3 mi away
Hotel La Bergerie
Hotel La Bergerie
#1 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#5 of 50 in Morzine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Ferme du Lac Vert
La Ferme du Lac Vert
#1 of 17 in Montriond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chalet Shufu
Chalet Shufu
#4 of 8 in Saint Jean d'Aulps
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chalet la Moussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet la Moussiere

Property: Chalet la Moussiere
Address: 844 route de la Moussiere D en Haut | Place de la Moussiere, 74430 Saint Jean d'Aulps, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint Jean d'Aulps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet La Moussiere is an independent, owner run chalet in the heart of the Portes du Soleil. We offer flexible, fully catered winter and summer holidays within the charming Savoyard village of St Jean d'Aulps, just five minutes from the centre of Morzine and within easy reach of lifts that give access to the world's largest international ski area. In the summer we can create bespoke activity packages incorporating B&B and half board options - do get in touch and help us make your holiday memorable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalet La Moussiere France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing