We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome adventure holiday!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Mark and Emma were great hosts who pulled out all the stops to make our adventure holiday as fun and memorable as possible! Both were very accommodating when organising and transporting us to our activity destinations. The chalet was the perfect place to relax at the end of the day, with beautiful views of the surrounding area. Location wise, nothing was too far away to get to from the chalet, and the Town of St Jean D'Aulps had all the character you would expect from an Alpine village.

Dinner each night in the chalet included a 5 star standard 3 course meal, delicious comfort food after an adventurous day outdoors! Meanwhile, there was no rush to get up for breakfast if you wanted a longer lie than usual, Mark and Emma were happy to serve breakfast to suit your plans!

Overall, I would highly recommend Alpine Adventures. It's difficult to find such an accommodating and cooperative holiday company. Mark and Emma made our plans run as smoothly as possible, and organised out trip excellently! :o)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GemmaV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
There are newer reviews for La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 81 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

We arrived in the Alps with no knowledge of the area but with the single aim of seeing the Tour de France. Owners and hosts Mark and Emma knew what, when and where we needed to go - and we had a fantastic time to say the least. They will plan as much or as little of your stay as you like.

The Chalet's website is a true reflection of the accommodation and the experiences on offer. The rooms are spacious, clean and Mark and Emma's focus on quality is obvious. We were encouraged to treat the Chalet as our own home; free to use the internet, grab some fruit, a tea or a beer at any time. Breakfast provisions were generous and opting in for the home cooked dinner is highly recommended. Definitely a second stay on the cards.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarliReeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

I booked Alpine Adventure for a groupd of twelve lively friends and two young children so there was a mix of singlies, couples and families. We set the challenge for Mark and Emma as we wanted to experience all the fun of the snow, eat well, drink well and on the odd occasion enjoy the nightlife of Morzine (inlcuding New Years Eve). They delivered to us in spades - the food was fantastic (Mark is ace in the kitchen), the standard of private rooms excellent (lovely white linen and spacious rooms with modern fitted bathrooms), the public rooms are warm and cosy with plenty of space for everyone.

The benefits of such a great house has to be balanced by it's proximity to the main slopes and the town of Morzine but Mark and Emma are generally happy to do a run into town and drop you off/pick you up.

Emma was also fantastic with our little toddlers looking after them so we could all get out on the slopes. Though more expensive than a nursery would be it was great to leave them in the chalet where they were content.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheSklenards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Spent @ 10 days with 3 teenagers doing outdoor activities in the Alps. Emma & mark helped organise them and they were all well done and fully meet expectations. The real bonus for us was the whole friendly and personal nature of the stay. I've no hestitation in reccomending Alpine Adventures as a place to go and enjoy a great break

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed here for a hastily arranged few days skiing in March and the hosts were superb. Everything arranged to mean that we left the uk in teh morning and we were skiing by lunchtime.

Couldnt have been better, thanks.

Oh and the food is fanatstic as well

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank briswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

A hard working young couple putting every effort into looking after their guests. A comfortable chalet, excellent value, just down the road from Morzine and the huge Porte de Soleilles lift system. But it isn't in the centre for bars and restaurants, and its a coach trip to the lift system.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpinead, Owner at La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2010

Hi WDSColchester

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would just like to add, for the benefit of any potential future guests, that the village of St Jean d'Aulps does have it's own ski slopes (some 50kms) just a few minutes from the chalet, although many of our guests choose to make use of our complementary mini-bus service to access the more extensive skiing at Morzine or Ardent. Also, there are 3 very good restaurants and 3 bars within an easy 5 minutes walk of the chalet for people who do not choose to eat in at the chalet every night. St Jean is more of a family oriented resort than neighbouring Morzine, however we are more than happy to arrange taxis for guests who want a night out in Morzine (10 minutes away).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My brother and I booked a last minute (very, very last minute) trip to Avoriaz/Morzine.

We stumbled across Alpine Adventures Chalet, and what a stroke of luck!

Mark and Emma, the owners were not only reasonably priced, but gave great local advice on conditions, restaurants, the resort, and transport. They arranged are transport for us, everything could not of been smoother!

The Chalet, both in room quality and cleanliness was bar none the best I have seen in france, the showers were powerful and refreshing and the setting was magnificent.....pretty awesome if you fancied a day off....

The communal areas are comfy and spacious, and warm, and other facilities including games room put this at hotel standard!

The food was excellent, best I had on my stay and as good as any restaurant in the Alps.

Most of all Mark and Emma's attitude made the experience relaxing and a real break!

I'll be going again for sure!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank londonskierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Jean d'Aulps
4.6 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Chaumiere
5.5 mi away
Chilly Powder
Chilly Powder
#4 of 50 in Morzine
282 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chalet Shufu
Chalet Shufu
#4 of 8 in Saint Jean d'Aulps
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere

Address: 856 route de la Moussiere D en Haut | Near to Morzine, 74430 Saint Jean d'Aulps, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint Jean d'Aulps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Price Range: $84 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Vieille Ferme De La Moussiere France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing