We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, fantastic hosts.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We stayed here for a hastily arranged few days skiing in March and the hosts were superb. Everything arranged to mean that we left the uk in teh morning and we were skiing by lunchtime.

Couldnt have been better, thanks.

Oh and the food is fanatstic as well

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briswolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colchester
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

A hard working young couple putting every effort into looking after their guests. A comfortable chalet, excellent value, just down the road from Morzine and the huge Porte de Soleilles lift system. But it isn't in the centre for bars and restaurants, and its a coach trip to the lift system.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpinead, Owner at La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere, responded to this review, May 6, 2010
Hi WDSColchester

We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would just like to add, for the benefit of any potential future guests, that the village of St Jean d'Aulps does have it's own ski slopes (some 50kms) just a few minutes from the chalet, although many of our guests choose to make use of our complementary mini-bus service to access the more extensive skiing at Morzine or Ardent. Also, there are 3 very good restaurants and 3 bars within an easy 5 minutes walk of the chalet for people who do not choose to eat in at the chalet every night. St Jean is more of a family oriented resort than neighbouring Morzine, however we are more than happy to arrange taxis for guests who want a night out in Morzine (10 minutes away).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

My brother and I booked a last minute (very, very last minute) trip to Avoriaz/Morzine.

We stumbled across Alpine Adventures Chalet, and what a stroke of luck!

Mark and Emma, the owners were not only reasonably priced, but gave great local advice on conditions, restaurants, the resort, and transport. They arranged are transport for us, everything could not of been smoother!

The Chalet, both in room quality and cleanliness was bar none the best I have seen in france, the showers were powerful and refreshing and the setting was magnificent.....pretty awesome if you fancied a day off....

The communal areas are comfy and spacious, and warm, and other facilities including games room put this at hotel standard!

The food was excellent, best I had on my stay and as good as any restaurant in the Alps.

Most of all Mark and Emma's attitude made the experience relaxing and a real break!

I'll be going again for sure!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonskierLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton heath
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2010

Visited in Feb 09 last year and returned this year with husband for a short ski break. This is an ideal set up to cater for the break as short airport transfers and transfer to the ski area of your choice each day means you get maximum ski time! The situation of the chalet gives you a good choice of ski areas for different abilities.
Meals lovely and afternoon tea delicions. Log fire to chill out in front of in the evening in a relaxed atmosphere is appreciated after a hard days skiing.
English television and wifi availability an added bonus!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank totiaboti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We have now enjoyed two very memorable holidays at "La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere" and will certainly be returning soon! The chalet is 300 years old and has been very carefully renovated to retain a wealth of original features whilst offering comfortable rooms which are full of character.
The service we received was outstanding and the charming hosts Mark and Emma really put themselves out to ensure that everything ran smoothly. Vin chaud on arrival, very efficient airport transfers and a flexible, personal service to and from the pistes each day were just a few of the benefits on offer!
For breakfast there was a choice of fresh,local produce which was always beautifully presented.
Evening meals were both varied and delicious and guests with particular tastes or requirements were always well catered for. A fine choice of complimentary,local wines accompanied dinner each night.
All rooms had spotless, en-suite bathrooms, luxurious bedding and wonderful views.
The chalet overlooks the traditional village of St Jean d'Aulps where there is a good selection of amenities which can be reached easily on foot. The whole Portes Du Soleil ski area is right on the doorstep and offers a vast variety of skiing for all levels s well as hiking, walking and cycling trails in the summer.
Overall this is a wonderful chalet with so much to offer in an incredibly beautiful location!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alpy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere

Property: La Vieille Ferme de la Moussiere
Address: 856 route de la Moussiere D en Haut | Near to Morzine, 74430 Saint Jean d'Aulps, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint Jean d'Aulps
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Saint Jean d'Aulps
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
La Vieille Ferme De La Moussiere France/Rhone-Alpes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing