We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury in the wilderness”

Review of Tigress At Ghosri

The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
The Verandah, overlooking the pool One of the bedrooms with single beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Villa
The Verandah, overlooking the pool
One of the bedrooms with single beds
The outdoor swimming pool
The dining hall
The pool in the day
The verandah
The extra beds in a double bed room
The spacious double bed room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Chandrapur, Chandrapur District, Maharashtra

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heena M
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
“Luxury in the wilderness”
Reviewed April 24, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Tigress@ghosri is the best place to stay when visiting Tadoba.Located right in the middle of the jungle this villa has all the modern amenities. Everything from the decor, the hospitality of the staff, the delicious food and the well maintained swimming pool is perfect. Would love to visit this place again inthe near future and would strongly recommend it to my friends

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2017
Dear Heena,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your recommendation of tigress@ghosri to other guests.

We're delighted that you had a wonderful stay and look forward to hosting you again.

Best wishes
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akurulz
Mumbai, India
1 review
“In the Wilderness - Only place to stay when visit Tadoba.”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Everything that you would like to have in a holiday home -Luxury, amazing food, good service, pool, wonderful stay. The property is a treat to your eyes, mind and soul. Made with taking all your needs in to consideration. Words cannot describe the place. Must visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Dear Akurulz,

Thank you for your time for this wonderful review.
Comfort and creating an experience for our guests has been our priority at tigress@ghosri.
We appreciate your kind words of appreciation.

Best wishes
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radhikasu...
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wilderness Wonderland”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Tigress@Ghosri -an amazing and a quiet stay in the middle of Tadoba Forest Reserve.
From delectable local cuisine to spotting a shooting stars among the other millions in the night sky, the home brings to you a strong sense of place that suits your comfort. The experience is almost unbelievable. The place has accommodating staff, is tidy, well appointed and homely.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 19, 2017
Dear Radhika,
Thank you for your appreciation.

Away from the village lights, we work towards maintaining tigress@ghosri as a tiny getaway for the ultimate wilderness experience.
We've happy you enjoyed your stay.

Best wishes
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitikaM12...
1 review
“Excellent Experience @ Tigress at ghosri.”
Reviewed February 6, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It's a great place to spend quality time with friends and Family, Amazing Property,spacious bedroom,and great hospitality, the staff is well trained and offers excellent service. You feel homely and comfortable.It was a good experience to stay in this property.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Dear Ritika,

Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to hosting you again.

Our staff are from the local villages as we have been working towards bringing employment to them and appreciation from you will certainly add up to their capacity building.

Thank you once again.

Regards
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zain A
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Incredible experience living comfortably within the forest”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Short Review:
Fantastic experience living very comfortably in the middle of the forest in a resort manned by friendly and helpful staff serving simple but delicious food.

Long Review:
Location - 10/10
This is the USP. No stay in Tadoba can match it. Located just a couple of minutes from Kutvanda Gate, Ghosri is right in the midst of untamed forest, with wild animals freely roaming around (and inside!) the house boundaries. It is fenced only at the back near the swimming pool and sit out so you can sit comfortably and watch animals come to the waterhole. I believe it also falls within the overlapping territories of two famous male tigers, Katezari Male and Gabbar.

Comfort - 8/10
Not many stays within forests can boast the relative luxury that Ghosri offers. Most of the others are government run and hence run-down, but Ghosri can hold its own even against the higher end resorts like Irai.

Cleanliness - 8/10
Clean rooms and toilets. No insects or lizards inside rooms!

Staff - 9/10
Unfortunately, the owner, Mrs.Poonam, was travelling when we visited Ghosri and wasn't able to meet us so Mr.Espi, the extremely helpful manager, was our host. He might seem a little expressionless and zoned out at times but once we learnt how he had recovered and fought back from a near fatal accident, we had nothing but respect for the gentle and soft spoken Espi Saab!
The other staff was very hands on and did a great job catering to our needs. (I'd asked for their names but unfortunately can't remember them now.. 2 guys and the lady cook) They were always on time with cleaning and food.
At night, I needed something from the car that was parked right outside the front door, so I went to get it (which was technically against the rules!) and I was quickly approached by one of the panicked staff. What really impressed me was the friendly and humourous way in which he re-explained the rules and accompanied me to the car. That kind of friendly professionalism is unfortunately very rare in India.

Food - 8/10
You're not going to get an enormous variety in the buffet. But what you get is simple but DELICIOUS home cooked food made Halal for us on request. They even took perfect care of an egg allergy that one of our group members had. The staff packed snacks for us to take on safari every day. Every meal during our stay was of fantastic quality! No complaints.

Amenities - 10/10
Extremely clean and well maintained swimming pool with comfortable seating around it. The backside balcony sit-out was our favourite spot where we spent all day and night listening to the sounds of the jungle. The other selling point of the resort for us was the live video feed from the neighbouring waterhole right to the screen in the comfort of the living room. Although no animals visited it during our stay (obviously because it was right after monsoon), Espi Saab showed us some recordings from the dryer months when leopards, wild dogs, chital, etc. are regular visitors.
Another aspect that really added to the experience was the documentaries that were shown to us on the projector. They were relevant (shot in Tadoba), educational and entertaining.

Tips:
1) Opt for a jungle walk instead of a safari. While you may not see any wild animals, it's a good experience to walk through tiger territory and see the landscape from on top of a hill whilst learning about the state and culture of people and animals from the local guides.
2) Absolutely DO NOT stay at Ghosri if you're going to complain about the wild nature of the stay. It is what it is supposed to be... a fantastic and unparalleled jungle experience. You need to be aware that you will be in an unfenced house in the middle of untamed jungle.. you WILL have wild visitors around the house (and that's the point!) For example, we saw multiple small snakes within the boundaries (one eating a frog right under our parked car!), don't expect the staff to kill or get rid of them for you.
3)Try to stay up during the night to get the full experience of Ghosri. Although they are very strict about the use of torches to spot animals (unfortunately!), listening to the jungle sounds is sometimes even more enjoyable than having a tiger walk next to your gypsy during a safari. We heard chital alarm calls, followed by the calling of wild dogs and then the screech of a wild boar which was enough for us to visualize exactly what was happening. We were loving being 'one with nature'.. and then the hair on the back of our neck stood up. From somewhere deep within the forest, we heard the unmistakable low growl of a tiger.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Hello Zain,

Thank you for such a wonderful and detailed review.

Tigress@ghosri is indeed pure wilderness and it does offer so much more than the gypsy safaris. The joy of hearing wild calls after dark close to the rooms is unforgettable.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best wishes,
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arenski
Mumbai, India
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wilderness Retreat”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Firstly, Big Thank You to Poonam for all the work she is doing in and around Chandrapur district. Such a knowledgeable and experienced couple. Such a majestic couple just like the tigers.
Their villa is lovely and very comfortable. Exactly what you need to get away from the city. In the middle of no where with not easy mobile connection.
We were a large group with young children. We were guided to the save the tiger project and the safari at Tadoba. Very well organised.
The staff is very attentive and soft spoken. All you need to ask and they go out of their way to get it done.
The food was just like what we would eat at home. They even organised a cake as we were celebrating a friend's anniversary.
Not to forget all this in a jungle.
Will def visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wilderness
Liked least: nothing in particular
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Dear Arenski,

Thank you for your words of appreciation for tigress@ghosri, our staff and our conservation work.
It was an absolute pleasure to meet all of you though for a very short time. We look forward to having you visit Tadoba and tigress@ghosri again.
Best wishes,
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbaite
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ideal for spending relaxed time with family and friends”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed at the Tigress with my wife and our six year old son, Arjun. We have always preferred the warmth and friendliness of homestays over hotel suites. This time too we came back feeling glad that we chose to stay at a homestay.

Tigress at Ghosri does not have too many reviews yet on TripAdvisor, but the few reviews that exist, describe the place exactly the way it is, an ideal place to spend your time at Tadoba, especially if you are not in such a rush to spot tigers that you ignore everything else the forest has to offer. At the Tigress, you will find tasty, home-cooked food, clean and spacious bedrooms (though one of the four bedrooms is tiny so you need to check that before moving in) and very courteous and smiling staff.

Given that this used to be the base for the hosts, Poonam and Harsh, to run their tiger conservation campaign, the staff is well-versed with what needs to be packed for a safari, in terms of food and beverages, so that you can leave the house without having to worry if you have carried the water, tea, and some knick-knacks in case the kids get hungry. Also, they take very god care of your meal preferences.

The central lounging space and the adjacent verandah are large enough for 4 families to spend time together on the couches, watching one of the DVDs on the overhead projector, or grab one of the diwans in the verandah for a private conversation. Either way, the house gives you enough flexibility to not feel trapped amongst others. A late evening dinner or a simple walk on the terrace can give you a great opportunity for star gazing, especially from now until Summer. The swimming pool is well maintained, and a dip in the water can refresh you very well after a dusty ride on the safari.

You can book all your safaris from the Khutwanda gate, as its very close to the house (10 mins drive) and also has far lesser vehicles queued up at the park opening times. We only spotted a tiger cub in one of our three safaris trips, although others staying at the house spotted two tigresses and their cubs on the fourth safari that they took. So, you also need to make sure that you have booked all the slots that you can avail while at Tadoba. Tiger spotting is a game of probability, hence more the trips, higher the chances of spotting tigers. Besides tigers, Sambhar, Chital, Crocodiles, are easier to spot. We also came across a pair of wild dogs and an Indian Bison on our first safari.

We were looking forward to getting more conversation time with the hosts, to gain from their experiences, and understand what goes into protecting and studying tigers, but unfortunately they were travelling the very next day. Perhaps, if you are lucky, you could get that opportunity.
However, we did get some insights into tiger conservation by going through the many books written by tiger conservationists, that are available to read in between your safaris.

Overall, a great place for families and couples to hang around, lots of space for kids to play, and prompt service. What more could one want on a holiday in the middle of a forest?!

Enjoy your stay, and Happy Tiger Watching!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Prompt staff, Large Bedroom and Tasty yet Healthy Food.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Dear Mumbaite,
Thank you for your review and your wonderful words of appreciation for tigress@ghosri.
We're working on the tiny bedroom, which will get an add-on space very soon.
We look forward to having you stay at tigress@ghosri yet again and to spend time with you and your family. The hills and the wilderness around tigress@ghosri are a lovely place for a walk and to understand more about tiger conservation.

Thank you once again for your kind words.

Best wishes,
Poonam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing