We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“worth it for the food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manor House Rathlin Island

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rathlin Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Rathlin Island
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“worth it for the food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed at the Manor House on 25th August , in a twin room , with my sister. The hotel , with just a little effort , could be improved immensely. The entrance hall was dusty , paint peeling , dead plants etc , not very welcoming. Our room was adequate , but the bed linen was old and worn looking , though clean , the lamp shades were cheap and very dusty , and the skirting boards hadnt seen a duster or a vacuum for a very long time.We had our own bathroom , though it was along the corridor , and it was clean , but no shower , not even an attachment for over the bath , and the toilet window was plain glass , not even a net curtain , so we were in full view of anyone passing , when using the toilet , offputting to say the least. However , the food was superb , the location perfect , and Rathlin is stunningly beautiful , and we'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eviegorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
15
33
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holywood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Small, friendly, comfortable hotel, very convenient to the ferry terminal, nice sea views from some (most?) windows. Comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation in 11 rooms, each with its own bathroom.

Room Tip: Some rooms have separate bathrooms, ours had steps down to ensuite bath, but no shower. internet acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norahdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The furnishings, rooms, bathing facilities are adequate and what you should expect for a quaint historic property that is on an island, of an island, off an island. This hotel is steps away from the ferry pier, so you will not miss any of the other businesses in the bay.

I found the Restaurant to be exquisite, serving gourmet meals from fresh island grown suppliers, that surpasses what you find in big cities of the world. The Pub was also a fine place to meet some staff, other guests and Islanders. The bar also offers a gourmet menu of Tapas. Dishes were custom prepared so if you desired it cooked/seasoned a certain way, ask and the chef would make sure it was the way you like.

If you stay else ware on the island, I'd suggest dining at least one night at The Manor House. If you desire Lobster, you should let them know by noon so they can order one caught that day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We have just returned from a two day trip to Rathlin. This was our third visit and stay at The Manor House. Once again we had an amazing time, our three young Children love the freedom of Rathlin. We recieved a very warm welcome from the whole team at The Manor House. The food was excellent, especially the monkfish on the tapas menu and the smoked haddock breakfast. We are already looking forward to our next visit. Rathlin is a very unique place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We travel to Rathlin often and have stayed at the Manor House before, and I'm sure we will again as it's lovely.

The interesting thing about the place is that they get the difficult things right. The restaurant is very nice and the food is consistently good, lots of fresh seafood - fish, lobster, crab etc, beautifully cooked. It's worth a visit just for this. The bar food is also great. The bar itself is cosy and sociable, and you can find it's four in the morning before you know it. Excellent Guinness too!

The rooms are reasonably clean, basic and warm. Some of the bathrooms are across the hall, but are still private. Our room had a spectacular view of the bay. All we needed really. Breakfast is tasty, if a little slow. They ask you to order it the day before, which I find a bit strange.

So what are the simple things that they don't get right? When you arrive you are greeted by the saddest looking pot plants that are clearly on their last legs. The Yucca is only a stalk. There are piles of what looks like broken furniture, boxes, busted lamps, fish tanks, EVERYWHERE! A veritable rubbish tip. Why? It would take such a short time to clear it and it looks so bad. It was the same last year.

The managers are efficient, not particularly interested in you, and basically do what they have to do to and no more. When we stayed this time there were lots of people camping on the lawn outside. They got very drunk and were outside our window shouting and swearing until 5 in the morning. There is a poor level of care towards the guests. The rest of the staff however were friendly and helpful.

We visited the bird colony, a 4 mile walk from the harbour if you decide not to get the shuttle bus. It really is wonderful. The RSPB will lend you binoculars and have telescopes set up to view the birds, and you can get a cup of coffee and use the toilets. The RSPB unfortunately don't have any up to date information on the numbers and trends (most recent figures are from 2007), and it's difficult to extract any sensible information. They are however on a strong recruitment drive to attract members. I think they could do better.

Rathlin is a beautiful place with a character of its own, it is both scruffy and spectacular, and worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beepbeep101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have stayed on Rathlin for eight years running now, during my holidays. We normally rent a house, but have stayed there once, and eaten there many times! The Sea of Moyle is notorious for its inhospitable weather, appearing in Legends such as the Children of Lir, amidst this traditional setting the Manor House lives up to its heritage: a warm turf fire in the bistro and a lovely little bar, full of smiles. The rooms are fine, clean, crisp, but some are not en suite. It is not a luxury hotel- not a Ritz, but then again, this is Rathlin. I have visited the bistro many times, and their scallops with bacon and mash is absolutely beautiful! Really, really nice- something you'd get in a Michelin star restaurant, but fresher and a bigger portion. The bistro use lovely fresh produce and make 'proper' food- filling and simple, but wonderfully tasty. Freshly caught fish is always served and is much more tasty than normal fish dishes. The Manor House provides a warm and homely feel to the island, as do the islanders, the Manor House is definitely worth a visit to sample local produce at its freshest and at its best.

Room Tip: An en suite is a good bet, purely for the added privacy. Although they may all be en suite now, I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

If you go to Rathlin you aint going to get 7**** middle eastern hotel / med or Carribian luxery.
Yep its not perfect but wow in terms of charcter, views, an unspolit place it is brilliant. The Manor House Is querky; not perfect but who wants boring or perfect; living or stuff you get on with. The hospitality we had as an older married couple - and we are world travellers - was brilliant. We are more than happy to go back anytime; the staff and mangement were excellent. Whilst being an older couple we could not ignore all the brilliant efforts the manament have madeto be both ethical and child friendly. This is a real gem and we are coming back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eamonnBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rathlin Island
6.3 mi away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
14.3 mi away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,631 reviews
21.6 mi away
Lodge Hotel
Lodge Hotel
#1 of 5 in Coleraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
6.4 mi away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
6.5 mi away
Crockatinney Guest House
Crockatinney Guest House
#8 of 25 in Ballycastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Rathlin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Rathlin Island

Property: Manor House Rathlin Island
Address: Rathlin Island BT54 6RT, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Rathlin Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rathlin Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please note that the Manor House is now closed until further notice, awaiting some refurbishment. The Manor House is a lovely, late Georgian property overlooking the harbour in Rathlin Island's Church Bay. All guest rooms are south facing, with sea views. It's the perfect place for those wishing to enjoy peace, tranquility and an island to explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Manor House Hotel Rathlin Island
Manor House Rathlin Island Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing