We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Therapy for the soul” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rathlin Island

Rathlin Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$10.11*
and up
Rathlin Island Walking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Between Ballycastle and the Mull of Kintyre in Scotland, Raithlin Island is eight miles long and barely one mile wide.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Therapy for the soul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I cant understand folk with the mindset that complains there is nothing to do. I had a fantastic, near religious experience of peace and serenity. The restaurant @ the manor house was beyond excellent and the locals provided better craic in 1 night than i had in 1 year of nights out as a student in belfast! :) if the beach was bigger id move to rathlin-love it!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank dawniemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    58
    18
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Antrim, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“plan your trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

get the 25 min ferry crossing. it is £12 return for an adult ticket.
get the puffin bus on departing the boat, for £5 it takes you to the west lighthouse where the puffins are until mid july.
i can very much recommend the walking tour guide. Julie was brilliant!
go in beautiful weather and wear comfortable shoes.
take a picnic!
there are 2 cafes, hotel/restaurant, pub, museum, gift shop, chip shop. 2 churches.
if you plan and go organised with a schedule and do lots you will really get the most out of it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank hsdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Never heard of Rathlin Island?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Never heard of Rathlin Island? With only 100 inhabitants (although 175 years ago there were 1500) I can imagine. A small island in the north of Northern Ireland. A ferry gets you there in 40 minutes. Stay overnight, when the day-tourists are gone and you have the island for your self. Stunning views, very friendly people and as soon as you wander out of the little harbour village you are alone with the landscape, birds (puffins!), seals (dozens!), rabbits, sheep (everywhere, also on the road) and you are lost in time and everything else....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 3511nc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great value day out.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I decided to visit rathlin island with friends on 9th july 2013. Id never been before so was looking forward to the visit. i was lucky enough to visit on a beautiful sunny day which turned out to be one of the hottest days of the year. this helped the trip a lot as the island looked so beautiful. this trip will probably appeal most to anyone who enjoys nature, walking, cycling, or beautiful scenery. we hired mountain bikes and cycled to the rspb bird sanctuary at keeble. it took around an hour to get there and was very worth doing. the sea cliffs are very beautiful and you get a really good view of the sea bird colony. the rspb had sets of binoculars for visitors to use free of charge. my two tips for anyone planning a visit is to book the boat trip online with the rathlin ferry company in advance to make sure you will get there. also book your bike hire in advance also. but do visit as its great.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

peace and quiet, lots to see and not crowded. The boat trip is a good way to see around the island and area

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dympna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rathlin Island also viewed

Ballymoney, County Antrim
 
Ballycastle, County Antrim
 

Been to Rathlin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing