We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“made welcome”
Review of The Butcher's Arms

The Butcher's Arms
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 10/21
8:00 PM
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Butchers Arms offers a truly unique dining experience. Originally dating from 1375, the restaurant is situated in the unspoilt Warwickshire village of Priors Hardwick, attracting visitors from all over the world who come to savour fine cuisine and superb wines in beautiful surroundings. Enjoy the genuine warm welcome, inglenook fireplace and flagstone floors leading to the spacious and elegant dining room beyond. Whether you require a romantic table for two, a big birthday celebration or a business function, we are pleased to help you.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

to return here you are welcomed like a old friend ,well I have been dining here for a long time ,it's for special occasions restaurant ever changing menu great staff many have been here for ever, I have no need to talk about the food ,Just go there for a special meal with your favourite person and enjoy. bon appetite.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank vincentjtimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NunoC1879, Owner at The Butcher's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear vincentjtimmons

We value your feedback greatly and are so pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to us. It is great to receive our customers back and also to welcome new ones. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Nuno Correia
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Off the beaten track yes; but certainly worth the visit! Myself and friends may have been a bit “loud” for this venue as it’s appearance is done to a high standard and fits in well with the local area! That said we were made to feel welcome and the waiters were even happy to offer us a starter we’d seen online that had been removed from the menu! We had a good laugh with the team and hope we wasn’t to loud, every other table was a “couple”!
The food was very nice, there were no long periods of waiting around and my fav course was the Duo of Lamb with herb crusted Rack and a mint jelly; Twas very nice!!
Happy to visit again, probably on a date or with the family!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank leeoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NunoC1879, Owner at The Butcher's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear leeoliver

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed
your meal with us and we are always very much up for the party mood.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards


Nuno Correia
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have reviewed the butchers arms before and probably will again if it keeps up the good standard of service and food that we have always got !!
The service is always attentive and I’ve never found anyone to be rude or miserable but then I always have found if you treat people right it’s returned 10 fold the food as shown underneath is second to none produced perfectly cooked perfectly and plated beautifully what’s not to love about this place? If u embrace what it has to offer with the beautiful setting u will indulge yourself into the most wonderful evening as we do time after time

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Butters123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NunoC1879, Owner at The Butcher's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Butters123

Thank you so much for your recent review of our restaurant. We value our customers views greatly and the time it takes.

We do endeavour to keep our reputation as good as it has been for some years.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nuno Corriea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Butcher's Arms is a glorious property in a lovely village - easy to find and a big car park opposite. The recent makeover has made the restaurant and seating areas feel nicer and it has been done to a high standard; it's a very convivial place to be. It's also good to see that the gents is no longer lined with embarrassing, scantily clad images! As another reviewer succinctly points out, this is a place people like to go to be seen and to tell others that they have been, rather than for any particularly uplifting culinary experience. After the location and the premises there's not a lot to write home about. Food is over-promised on the menu and under-delivered at the table. 'Exceptional cuisine' as quoted on their website, it is definitely not. I have frequently eaten school dinners which have been superb by comparison.
The breaded Camembert was good, but my eagerly anticipated apricot and white wine puree was just four dots on the plate and very little to taste. The pork with a sage and parmesan crust was distinctly chewy, tasteless and fatty rather than crusty, and the overcooked broccoli and sliced carrot are a throwback to seventies hospital food. The profiteroles were excellent and probably the highlight of the occasion. Service is very average, with little in the way of smiles, warmth or engagement. With decent, imaginative cooking, cheerful delivery and maybe giving the impression that customers are valued, The Butcher's Arms might really go places.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexanderbeetle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NunoC1879, Owner at The Butcher's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alexanderbeetle57


Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We are glad you like our recent makeover and that this is the go to place to be seen.

We pride ourselves on our food and feel disappointed that we have let you down on this occasion.

Service however is of an exemplary standard and do not agree with your comments.

Our standards have been high for many years with very experienced staff.

Regards

Nuno Correia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Recommended this restaurant while visiting the area for a few days. Welcome was good and the dining room was very attractive with beautiful flower arrangements and lovey lighting. Food was average. The chips were absolutely tasteless and the chicken was less than tender. The waiter who had been miserable all evening presented us with a bill for £90.50. We left £100 pounds on the table and made our way to the exit. The waiter came running after us waving the £100 and muttering that it was not enough! He asked to see the bill which we gave him and after saying nothing much he then dashed off back into the dining room. He returned in a while and muttered that it was ok. I have rarely seen a situation handled so ineptly. It was embarrassing and extremely unpleasant. It is a shame but this place seems to be all style over substance.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank apacheSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NunoC1879, Owner at The Butcher's Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are grateful for your feedback as our customers views are so important to us and have helped us maintain our long standing fantastic reputation. We are so sorry that you feel we did not live up to this reputation on your recent visit to us.

Nuno Correia
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butcher's Arms also viewed

 
Staverton, Daventry
Napton-on-the-Hill, Warwickshire
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Priors Marston, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Butcher's Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing