We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful-food and scenery”
Review of Watermill Lodge

Watermill Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Lisnaskea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $41
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
dublin/cavan
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful-food and scenery”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

had the recent pleasure of dining at this restaurant recently, for a family get together.
It is off the beaten track but when you get there,you will be suprised. we coulnt beleive it, it was like a little piece off france, in the heart of fermanagh. the building resembles an old french building, which is very impressive.
we got a very warm welcome when we entered the restaurant, we were shown to our seats, and then we had dinner, omg, I had the slow cooked beef (32hrs), it was to die for...
and for desert I had a selection of mini deserts all on the one plate. I was like a child in a sweet shop,
we found the waitress at our table was efficient and friendly.
the price was very reasonable 3 courses for £21.95. I know for the same meal in dublin would have cost double the amount..
so all in all, very impressed, will definatly be going back again.
PS, if you are there at night check out the aquarium at the main door. very cool.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodjunkie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal b, Owner at Watermill Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Bonjour,
Thank you very much for your nice comment especially for the aquarium. it’s the biggest private aquarium in Ireland 50,000 litres with coarse fish from freshwater.
Merci !
Pascal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    85
    67
    40
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“fabulous food and setting”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Our family stayed in the cottages attached to the restaurant for 3 nights and we had three fabulous dinners in the restaurant. The restaurant is set on the water's edge and has its own vegetable and herb garden. Meat and fish are locally sourced. The menu is substantial and the food is excellent: exquisitely cooked and presented. The fillet of beef was fabulous, best I have ever eaten.Staff were attentive and very professional especially Steven , Renaud, Maria and James. Our cottage had lovely clean, warm accommodation with very comfortable beds and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was just so lovely to eat fresh local produce cooked in an imaginative way with such professional standards of service. The situation of the Watermill means that there is so much to do within a short drive. There are several National Trust properties to visit close by, and there are daily activities at the nearby Share Centre for children including a swimming pool, climbing wall and water activities seasonally. Of course if you are keen on fishing you will be in heaven beside Lough Erne anyway. Enjoy this magical place!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shauna-Lewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pascal b, Owner at Watermill Lodge, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Bonjour shauna,
Thank you very very much for your lovely comments, i really believe in good local produce and to have my own vegetable and herb garden on site, is a dream for any chef who loves his job.
I hope to see you soon,
Merci !
Pascal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Midlands Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had Sunday lunch here on the recommendation of friends,food is lovely and just the right size of portions.
Lovely location, and it was extremely busy which is great to see in the current climate.
The service was a bit patchy,first course came very quickly and main came not too long after,but we were ages waiting on dessert, and had to chase a drink order three times.
The lady that seats the guests isnt overly friendly but the rest of the staff were really nice.
Like I say well worth a visit.
It is also a good price given the quality of the food.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookerybuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore Q, Owner at Watermill Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello, thank you for taking the time to review your Sunday Lunch at the Watermill, I apologise for the issue you had with the female waiteress. I hope you will return again, and experience the pleasent staff we now have employed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“scenic”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lovely restaurant in a beautiful setting overlooking River Erne. Service and food was excellent. It is expensive but worth it.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cavanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore Q, Owner at Watermill Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello Cavanlady, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“class from beginning to end”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Top restaurant. The decor, staff and food are all superb!! Highly recommended!! £25 per person- couldn't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saintaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmore Q, Owner at Watermill Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Hello, thank you for your review about the Watermill Restaurant, we are delighted you enjoyed you experience, and hope you will revisit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermill Lodge also viewed

Florencecourt, Enniskillen
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Lisnaskea, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh
 

Been to Watermill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing