We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing”

Brockie's Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kiltarlity
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Kiltarlity B&B and Inns
dingwall
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

went here for a sunday lunch
the young lass tht served us was very pleasant and friendly a asset..
we were shown to our table and ordred our drinks when they came so do a hot homemade roll,which was lovely..now this is where it started to go downhill.
didnt really fancy a carvery but on hindsight wish i had ordered that.i had the chicken
chicken itself was lovely and not dry but the carrots looked as though they hadnt been peeled or cleaned and the broccoli well am sure a newborn baby would have been able to eat it as it was all mushy.the gravy was very herby which ruined the whole taste...
i was going to have a pudding but was afraid i wouldnt be able to taste it after all the herbs so neva bothered.this am afraid has put me right off going back,,sorry guys x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackie29_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    16
    9
    10
    10
See reviews for
23
25
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garve
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

A mid-day visit to this hotel where in the past we had indifferent meals, proved to be A1 as regards hospitality, service, standard of food, and comfort / decor. Staff immaculately turned out and toilet cleanlieness, something so often substandard, was beyond criticism. Many other local hotels which we visit would do well to take a leaf out of this book.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurdochMacPhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

If you go out and pay for a meal you expect to eat something better than you eat at home, and if you cook high quality food at home yourself, you at least expect to be able to order something different to what you would cook at home and that it should be well prepared with good ingredients.
I know this is a small country hotel restaurant in the north of Scotland, so I know not to order anything fancy: we ordered basic pub grub and it was pathetic. Kitchen shortcuts and poor ingredients written all over it. Absolute waste of money. Will not be going back, will eat thrice as good in my own kitchen for a 3rd of the cost.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIkeChand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Thanks to all staff at Brockies lodge for beautiful xmas luch today very cosy with log fires
and great service we will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanzlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

Have had a couple of meals at Brockies this year and can't fault the place. Had a really nice meal on both occasions and prompt, friendly service. Will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

I try to visit Brockie's whenever I'm up. I come from Beauly originally so have known the place for many years, infact we had several of our staff nights out there.

The food, in my experience over last 2 years, has been delicious. I am a coeliac so need to know that the staff understand what that means. Happily they do and I never have any problem. The staff are always very friendly and efficient as is the owner. Looking forward to my next visit and I will be having a big, fat, juicy sirloin steak!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehouse, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

As a family, and including friends, we have been going to Brockie's Lodge over the last 4 years. Whilst we haven't stayed overnight, we have had lunch and dinner there, including the fabulous Sunday carvery. Robbie and Jean (owners), have strived hard to ensure that guests are made very welcome, and that guests enjoy their experince. The food is generous in portions, varied and delicious. Over the last 4 years, Brockies Lodge has been renovated to a high and comfortable standard. I would highly recommend this family run hotel.
Jude

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiltarlity
3.3 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kiltarlity Lodges
Kiltarlity Lodges
#1 of 1 in Kiltarlity
99 reviews
4.5 mi away
Old North Inn
Old North Inn
#157 of 231 in Inverness
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brockie's Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brockie's Lodge Hotel

Property: Brockie's Lodge Hotel
Address: Kiltarlity, Kiltarlity IV4 7HW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Kiltarlity
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kiltarlity
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing