We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in the Stone Age!”
Review of Kiltarlity Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kiltarlity Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The lodge was clean and there were no issues.
The issue is having to pay for the use of electricity. The lodge is basic and we payed enough for a 3 night stay - so my family and I would have thought the use of electricity was included. This isn't the case and if it's cold and you use the heater - be prepared to need more 'electricity credits'.
The area is nice and quiet for a getaway.
Maybe too quiet seeing as you can't get any phone service and if you want wifi, you'll have to pay £10 for a 4 day wifi pass - which is slow Internet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelNovice00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
There are newer reviews for Kiltarlity Lodges
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 101 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

booking our annual holiday never poses any problem, all our younger children demand we return to Kiltarlity lodges year after year, this year however things were a little different, 3 of our older children accompanied us along with their respective partners, instead of the usual 2 lodges, this year we needed 4 i think that probably says it all except that we have already booked 3 for next year and this is likely to rise to 4 or even 5 before we get to Xmas, friendly staff, very helpful, smashing facilities, local to Inverness, brilliant local eateries and so central for everything we like to do as a family, we will be back again and again 5 stars isnt really enough we give it 10

Room Tip: take your pick, all lodges are really well equipped and clean
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Great three night stay, excellent value for money, very clean.
Wifi is only free for a short time which I hadn't realised.
Facilities in lodge however very far better than we expected for the cost.
Great that dogs are allowed but nowhere really to walk them in the vicinity.
Games room not up to much, tennis courts a bit overgrown.
But we would go back again as it was an excellent base for touring around

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoolMFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie W, Manager at Kiltarlity Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

I am so glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us. I am sorry that lack of manpower meant that we were unable to get the tennis court quite ready in time for the season, but it has now been given a facelift and many would-be Andy Murrays among our guests are now enjoying it! We should also have made you aware of the walks in the forestry just across the road from the park, which are very popular with dog-owners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me my husband and dog stayed here in April. Chalet was very clean and warm and had everything needed including soap and washing up liquid.Its in an ideal position for getting to a number of good walking areas, such as Glen Affric and Aviemore so that you can choose where weather looks best. My husband really enjoyed going swimming every day.Its exellent value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank joanmachar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at these lodges for the first time at Easter with my husband and 2 children 9 and 11 and small dog. We stayed in the 2 bedroom lodge which was nice but I would have liked more room, the lodge was really clean on arrival and had everything you needed for a stay. Kiltarlity is very quiet and relaxing, there is a really good pool which is open all day and normally very quiet my kids used it every day and were the only ones in the pool. There is a very small play park but I found my children were too old for it. There is a games room for older children and a tennis court which needs a bit of loving care. I would stay at the lodges again as they are in a beautiful part of the world and you really are away from it all - if you want quiet and relaxation this is the place for you

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sign-age on the road is poor, so it is easy to shoot past it. Arrived shortly after 5pm to find reception closed. A note was helpful put up informing expected guests what their lodge number was, and that the lodges had been prepared and open, with the key left inside.

The lodges were clean, tidy and warm (it is still winter!), although a wee bit worn and dated. They were what we expected them to be (perhaps even a bit better). They are dog friendly too - quite a few of the guests had brought their dog with them.

The pool was still closed for the winter, although looked fine through the window. Not large, but big enough to enjoy.

They have WiFi - but you only get 1 hour free. Then you have to pay. And it is not particularly fast.

It is located in the middle of nowhere (not necessary a bad thing). The nearest pub is a 2 mile walk on the road. There is plenty to do in the area/region, but there is little information in the guest pack in the lodge. Perhaps there is more info in reception, but I never saw this opened at all during our stay.

We stayed 2 nights, and had pre-paid. So it was not a problem that reception was still closed when we checked out. Never saw any staff during our stay.

Would I go back? Yes, if the price is right!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lappins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Cabins were clean & in a great location. Cabins could do with a bit of updating but nothing major.
Reception could do with been open more or having a mobile number so you could call them when they are closed.
Games room needs updating.Pool was closed when we were there but looked ok from what I saw .
Ideal for what we wanted, walking & visiting Loch Ness.
Value for money,would definitely stay again if I visit Scotland again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZoeMarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie W, Manager at Kiltarlity Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

We are very pleased that this lady enjoyed her weekend break with us. Our swimming-pool will be open again from Easter onwards, and we will also have longer opening hours in Reception from then onwards. We do have a mobile number for guests to call when Reception is closed; I am sorry that this lady was not aware of it. Now that she has drawn our attention to it, we will make sure it is displayed more prominently.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiltarlity
10.1 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Priory Hotel
Priory Hotel
#1 of 4 in Beauly
345 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lovat Arms Hotel
Lovat Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Beauly
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
Loch Ness Clansman Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abriachan
770 reviews
7.9 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.6 mi away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kiltarlity Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiltarlity Lodges

Address: nr Beauly, Kiltarlity IV4 7HR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Kiltarlity
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kiltarlity
Price Range: $85 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable self-catering lodges set in a woodland park near Loch Ness.The lodges sleep 4 to 6, in one double and one or two twin bedrooms, and feature- open-plan lounge/dining-room- colour Freesat television- well-equipped kitchen- shower-room (some lodges also have bath)- bed-linen and towels provided- some lodges are suitable for wheelchair/disabled access.- children and pets are welcome.The park features- heated indoor swimming-pool (open April to October)- tennis court- children's play area- games room (pool, table tennis etc.)- laundrette.The park is ideally placed for visiting the magnificent mountain scenery of Loch Ness and the Strathglass glens, and there is an abundance of wildlife, from red squirrels in the nearby woods to deer and golden eagles in the Glen Affric National Nature Reserve. You can take a boat trip to see the Moray Firth dolphins, or a cruise on Loch Ness to search for Nessie!For a more active holiday there is excellent fishing in lochs and rivers (salmon, brown trout), there are many golf courses nearby, as well as pony-trekking, and hill and forest walks.Or you can explore the heritage of the Highlands, visit castles and whisky distilleries, or join the locals at a ceilidh of traditional music.The park is also an ideal touring base from which to visit the Black Isle, Skye, Speyside or even John o' Groats.The park is 6 miles from Beauly, which has good train and bus connections, as does Inverness (14 miles), where there is also an aiport.We are open all year round, for short breaks or longer holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kiltarlity Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiltarlity Hotel Kiltarlity

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing