We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Exhibition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memorial Ravensbrueck

Memorial Ravensbrueck
Celbridge, Ireland
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Great Exhibition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We got a one hour fifteen minute regional train RE 5 from Berlin train station to Furstenberg /Havel .The fair cost us €31 return.When we got off at Furstenberg.a small train Station we could not see anybody inside or outside this station and It looked unmanned. there were no information Bus or Taxi here so we decided to walk into the town center which took us about fifteen minutes where we found the tourists Info center.We spoke to a very helpful lady and she ordered us a Taxi.It arrived fifteen minutes later and took us to the camp at a cost of €6 .We were glad we decided that we did not walk as the taxi took ten minutes to get there.
We went into the info center and got a map of the former camp.We walked all around the former camp before we went in to the main exhibition which is located in the former Headquarters building of the SS guards This exhibition is very well done,and very moving .There are many exhibits on display which have been donated to the Ravensbrueck Memorial by survivors.The exhibition is based on on the collection of objects, artifacts ,accounts ,drawings,and a sad letter written by a former prisoners which was very sad.In the cell blocks which was used by the SS to hold former prisoners there is a cell for every nation that was imprisoned here with a great exhibit that represented that nation.After spending about five hours in this memorial we went back to the information area where i bought a book called The Ravensbruck Woman Concentration Camp History and memory which gives an excellent history of this very sad place.The lady at the bookshop ordered us a taxi back to the train station.You would need to spend a full day to explore this camp in full.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank clohanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A place of terror in a place of beauty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

A place of terror set amongst the most beautiful surroundings, was this the reason for choosing this site to add another demention of power to those who poor who entered it's gates. So close to the town, emotional blackmail perhaps for the residents. Let's hope that nothing like this ever happens again 25000 women killed here, 2000 men most of them in the 4 months prior to end of the war, Why?

Probably not a lot of international visitors would get to visit, but certainly worthwhile.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Krisherron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
504 reviews
263 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Very Gloomy Camp when going to it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I thought the exhibitions were well done and the fact the camp has some of the original buildings makes going here even more worth it. Claudia our guide was great and she really helped us in the insight on what went on here and also learned a lot of how many of the women at this camp were Jehovah's Witnesses as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“An Important and Sobering Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

Not a place that most people would choose to visit, Ravensbrueck is a chilling reminder of the evil that once worked in the wonderful country of Germany. A strange thing about this place is that while it is actually quite lovely and beautiful, it is at the same time a haunting and sobering place.

A few of the barracks remain and a couple of chimneys, the remains of a barbed wire fence in one area, posts where prisoners were tied and beaten, remains of a few crematoria, and a few other places have remained standing. A lot of the camp is gone, but enough of it remains to serves as a reminder to never forget the past.

I am glad I went, but it was a sad place.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank steveguidry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
129 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“an important place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Not many Berliners and even less Berlin tourists may have heard about this place, but it is worth a visit and an important memorial to see. This used to be the biggest female concentration camp, over 28.000 people lost their lives here. A lot of the barracks are gone, but many of the other buildings still exist and they are now housing various exhibitions. The former SS guard houses were used by Soviet troups after WW2, so they are all still standing - some are used as a youth hostel, some are housing exhibitions (the one about the female camp guards is shocking and interesting), and some are still abandoned. It is a very sad site. It is surrounded by a forest and a big lake, you can actually see the silhouette of the town of Fürstenberg on the other side of the lake. It is bizarre how you have the normal town life on the one side of the lake, and the horrors of of the holocaust on the other side. If you are in Berlin or anywhere else nearby and with time and interest on your hands- give this place a visit, they need visitors and help to upkeep this memorial.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank berlinizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memorial Ravensbrueck also viewed

Mirow, Mecklenburg-West Pomerania
 
Brandenburg, Germany

Been to Memorial Ravensbrueck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing