We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua
Nearby Hotels
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$422
$411
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$170
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Curtain Bluff Resort(Saint Mary's)
$970
$776
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlisle Bay Antigua(Saint Mary's)
$575
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
$1,000
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$236
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Galley Bay Resort & Spa - All Inclusive(Five Islands Village)(Great Value!)
$555
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
546 results
Traveler rating
395
103
28
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
395
103
28
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and lunchoutdoor showerplunge poolour honeymoonfishevery mealmain buildingwarm seacatch of the dayrelaxing holidaysun loungersfellow gueststhe cottagesrum punchtotal relaxationwahoost johns
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 546 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife discovered this charming and affordable location for us to celebrate our 25th anniversary. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us feel at home, and throughout our stay everyone was helpful and friendly. Special thanks to Inger for welcoming us, Shenneth (especially for setting us up with some delicious lobsters!) Francine, Miketia, Victoria, Javin, Lisa, and Dwayna. We opted for our own bungalow, which had a beautiful view and was clean and well-maintained. Our meals by chefs Jackie and Kareem were all delicious, with a varied menu (Mexican, Indian, Asian, local), always with fresh seafood available. Add to this a dazzlingly beautiful beach and ocean with a small reef with tropical fish, a relatively convenient location (easy flight from JFK and a half-our taxi ride across Antigua), and an afternoon tea. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aversion99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. We will be sure to relay your feedback to our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I were looking to take a nice all inclusive trip, but we didn't want to pay too much. We were scouring groupon and living social, both of which had plenty of deals. The problem was we would check out the resorts here on trip advisor, and we wouldn't like what we read. We eventually found this place through a deal on living social and there were a few drawbacks (e.g. construction, biting bugs, mediocre food), but the reviews appears a bit older and had satisfactory management responses.

We decided to go for it, and it greatly paid off. There was not any construction to speak of. The biting bugs didn't really seem to be that bad initially, though as our time there progressed my girlfriend and I both had our legs bit up. It really wasn't much worse than camping in Wisconsin or Minnesota, and the resort provides bug spray. As for the food it was great, and we even opted for a lobster dinner for two on the beach for our last evening. The drinks were good, and the only complaint I have about them is that there was no tomato juice for my breakfast bloody marys.

We bought a four night stay which was not nearly long enough. We plan on going back for a week or more. It was in the standard room which is air conditioned and plenty big for two people unless you plan to spend your entire trip there, but if you want to do that then why would you go to the Caribbean. Our door opened to a balcony/deck southish facing where we had a nice view of the sea every day.

The resort is on a nice secluded beach, and is not meant to house more that 30 or 40 people. We found the beach and dining never crowded, and always felt like it was just us. The staff was wonderful, and very friendly we really liked Dwayna, Maretia (sorry about spelling), and Victoria (who tried to help me with my bloody mary issue).

If you want to see where this place is don't bother to look at Google maps (as of 4/19/2013) the satellite image looks to be way out of date, and the marker is not in the exact location.

There is no fitness center, but you could always go for a swim. We never called for room service either. So I can't give a review on either of those

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. Do let us know when you plan to return, we love to try to make the experience even better for our returning guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at resort , and would happily go back . The front of house staff fantastic and very friendly .
Housekeeping was hit and miss once our room was just left so we had to ask for fresh towels and room not cleaned.
Food was very good and plentiful. Beach was gorgeous and the company of the two beach dogs was wonderful as they would lay under Bali beds and would growl at certain locals who clearly did not treat them well, therefore you were warned when hawkers came up to you if you'd fallen asleep.
As a dog person I would say never put down bowls only feed straight from your hand as as soon as a bowl of food goes on the floor it is a prize to be won and therefore fought over, this I witnessed from an American woman who thought she was doing some good by feeding them in this manner.
It wouldn't hurt if the hotel staff gave the dogs water either.
I would highly recommend the jeep safari with Alvin a very genuine man .
Shirley heights was good fun.
The capital is really not worth visiting unless you want to be ripped off and paving incredibly dangerous, I felt like I was walking round a very deprived area which is a great shame that money from tourism does not go back into the local economy but just to the wealthy few.
JJ the local cabbie nice man but if you disagreed with his opinion about something he didn't take kindly to it and told you that you were wrong lol!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Sophie-so7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeyonnaBeach, Owner at Keyonna Beach Resort Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your positive comments and also you highlighting areas for improvement. We look forward to being able to enhance all aspects of the experience to our guests liking and hope that you are able to visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff at Keyonna Beach was amazing. I can name so many: Akil, Francine, Makeisha, Shenette, the guy whose name started with a J, Davinna, and so many more I can't remember. There was not one mediocre or bad staff person! We went in May, just after the busy season, and the beach was nearly empty! Our room opened onto the beach, Turner's Beach, and it was beautiful and peaceful. Our room was basic, but who cares when you want to be on your porch overlooking the beach, or on the beach in a Bali bed. If you are expecting a 5 star luxury hotel, then this is not for you. However, Keyonna Beach is wonderful in customer service. The chef and food are top-notch, and the drinks are good, too. I recommend the Keyonna Surprise. We would definitely come back, as soon as we possibly can!

Room Tip: The standard rooms are small, but ask for a sea-view room and you won't care!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel is very pleasant but it seems to have lacked any investment as there were lots of minor problems you wouldn’t expect to find – even in a 3* hotel.

We had a beachfront cottage beside the pool, which meant that we had a good view of Turners Beach with 40 metres of rough grass between us and the sand, and a Cuban frog underneath the cottage which continual croaked (it sounded like a duck in distress!) and which kept us awake for two nights during our holiday. Several lights were not working and neither was the phone but when we spoke to the hotel manager she quickly resolved this for us; she also found a small writing desk to put in our room, an extra chair and some seat covers. We also found the thin fitted undersheets on the bed were too big/deep so the sheets move around the night.

The cottage roofs are made of thin metal so we were often woken in the night with a thunderstorm or the rain from a tropical downpour hitting the tin roof. We would usually wake early in the morning due to the thin cotton screens covering the front windows. The wooden slats that cover the side windows do not stop much light and would not prevent anyone looking in. When we were not woken by the light or the rain then we were woken by one of the two hotel dogs barking. On three occasions we had no water for a wash or a shower while the pool-man spent 2 hours cleaning the pool.

The paths around the hotel consisted of interspersed concrete slabs in between overgrown grass/weeds or sand and there was a lot of stagnant water from the frequent rain showers which attracted the mosquitos, so we were constantly bitten. The pool area was also surrounded by slabs and grass, and two of the three day beds around the pool have no mattresses. Initially there were no sunbeds by the pool but when we asked for two so we could sunbathe these arrived very quickly. There was a limited amount of sunbeds on the beach, with a mixture of day beds, wooden sunbeds and metal ones with plastic runners. Many of the loungers and chairs on the beach and also in the hotel have cushions missing and the hotel could really do with making an investment in some new/additional sunbeds and seat covers.

The open-air bar and restaurant is very personal and although the food choice was very limited the quality was always very good; that is when they hadn’t run out of something (which seemed to happen on a regular basis). The Staff are very friendly but service was often slow. There is no dress code so it’s very relaxed. We attended the Manager’s Cocktail Party each Thursday but the Manager was nowhere to be seen. Watch out for the varnish/wood stain they use on the furniture in the restaurant as we found several shirts ended up with annoying stains off the tables and chairs. We could sometimes get the free internet access in our room but this was mainly available from the restaurant/bar area.

Although everything is very basic the hotel does have a few positives. The main benefit is that there is a fabulous beach and because the hotel has so few rooms the beach was never crowded and the pool was usually empty. Unlike other 4* and 5* hotels we’ve been to in the Caribbean this hotel is set on a very long secluded sandy beach which is protected by a reef so it was always calm and the sea was very warm. The hotel stretched for about ½-mile along the beach and apart from a catamaran which moored for an hour some days the beach was exceptionally quiet.

We had a large wooden veranda and, apart from the Gardner cutting the grass with a noisy strimmer for 3 whole days, sitting outside our cottage was normally very quiet – there was not any loud music or annoying entertainment and there were not any crowds of people; in fact there were very few people at all and this is the one big benefits the hotel has going for it, together with the beach.

Overall we had a nice holiday in a great location but we paid a very high price for a basic 3* hotel.

On returning to the airport at the end of our holiday we had pre-booked the Outbound Lounge and I would definitely recommend this if you are travelling with British Airways. Our bags were taken from the taxi while were shown to a private lounge to relax. When the flight was ready to board we were taken by car to the steps of the plane!

Room Tip: Because Room 34 is right beside the pool you tend to have exclusive access!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank cmwicks9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews