We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Doesnt look much from the outside but great on the inside.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Doesnt look much from the outside but great on the inside.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Really like this place. Spotlessly clean, functional, well designed room. Great public areas. Beautiful bar - very professional and friendly bar staff. Outside eating area overlooking a small swimming pool and childrens playground - very pleasant.

Reception staff were superb. Very efficient, polite and friendly - warm welcome received and they took an interest in the children which was a nice touch.

Very quiet extremely clean room. Bed mattress was perfect and so comfortable.

Well deserved 4 start rating in my opinion. Only downside - had dinner in the restaurant which was expensive and very average quality Not good value. Breakfast was okay as a selection but the hot food was low standard in my opinion - watery powdered egg, ovecooked baked beans etc.

Food aside - everything else about the hotel was lovely. Great bar - spent a lot of money in there but made friends with the staff and locals so it was a great experience.

Thank you Novotel. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
May I offer my sincere thanks for your kind comments about your stay at Novotel Schiedam. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    214
    70
    12
    4
See reviews for
126
98
30
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel looks quite old from the outside, but inside it is very modern & tastefully decorated. It is about 7 mins walk from station, & four stops from Rotterdam Central. We arrived about 10am, hoping to drop our luggage off, but staff gave us a room straightaway for no extra charge. We also had a late checkout - 12 midday, all included. Room was fine, beds comfortable. Breakfast was ample. There was also an outdoor pool & playground which is. Great for young children. Staff also happily printed documents off for us free of charge too. Would stay again if in area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
All of us at Novotel Schiedam would like to offer you our sincere thanks for your delightful review. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had a good stay at the Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam. The breakfast was excellent, room / bathroom spacious , service was good and for the price (48 GBP it was an offer) I thought it was excellent value.

I would not hesitate to recommend this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfsk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
We are happy your enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

1. Bathroom is even smaller than Ibis, and without make up mirror. Dont know about other rooms, but my superior room without bathtub.
2. Toilet paper is worse than the cheapest kind in supermarket. Worse than most kind of German or Switzerland public toilet paper.
3. Water pressure for shower is not that big even adjusted to biggest level.
4. Room service is very slow. We ask for some small things, once in evening after 9pm, once in morning, both not busy hours. Average time to bring things to the room is 27mins.
5. The attitude of hotel workers, especial in the morning shift is rude. Cleaning staff forgot to put shower cap in my room and when I ask her to bring me one, the reception lady first question me in an very impolite attitude: "Didnt you have it in your room already? " Even under the condition that cleaning staff did put in the room, if the guest request politely for something, shouldn't they bring it directly? Not to mention there is nothing at all from the very beginning.
6. The bed size for double room is 1.6m. Typically every Novotel have 1.8m.
7. Room size is quite small. At least 3-4 square meter smaller than general other Novotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RENE T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
It is with sincere regret that we note your dissatisfaction with our service and facilities. Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam exists 40 years and is the eldest Accor hotel in the Netherlands. Unfortunately therefore some of the comments we cannot change to your standards. However I can assure you that the appropraite actions have been taken to avoid such inconvenience in service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We had to be in the neighbourhood of the hotel and had a pleasant stay. The staff were kind, service was great and the breakfast buffet also very nice.

I was impressed by the outside swimming pool. It was not the season but during summer this is a nice extra.

Price was fair.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
All of us at the Novotel Schiedam would like to offer our sincere thanks for your delightful review. The swimming pool does give an extra holiday feeling.
With kind regards, Ingrid de Vries
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

A decent enough hotel; not far from the major Schiedam yards and near enough to other restaurants and the centre for variety. The room décor is dated but serviceable. The staff are courteous and friendly. Evening meals can prove to be a lottery on how quickly you get served. Complimentary items (i.e. tea and coffee) in the rooms are again replaced on what appears to be a lottery basis. Meals from the restaurant are not always consistently the same, but are generally of good quality with a fairly varied menu.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reckless668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IdeVries, General Manager at Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay . It is encouraging to read your review as our guests's satisfaction is our primary concern. I will share this with our team in order to make improvements. I hope to see you again soon.
Ingrid de Vries, General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Novotel Schiedam is a very comfortable well maintained with great staff who are very friendly. My one tiny gripe would be it's just a bit to far out of the town but not to far that taxis and buses aren't ready available and cheap enough.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiedam
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#10 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Stadsdriehoek
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
Ibis Rotterdam City Centre
#8 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#2 of 52 in Rotterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
#4 of 4 in Vlaardingen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam

Property: Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
Address: Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Schiedam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam is a 4 star hotel located within minutes of the port, Europoort and the centre of Rotterdam. This attractive hotel is ideal for either a business stay or a relaxing weekend away in Rotterdam. Free parking is available for our guests at the hotel and our well equipped rooms feature WiFi and airconditioning. The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam has a charming restaurant and bar, a spacious garden with outdoor pool and a terrace. The hotel is entirely " non smoking ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotterdam
Accor Rotterdam Schiedam
Rotterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing