We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over before our cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We like staying at Novotels as we have a family of 4 and their standard room can easily accommodate us. We stayed at this hotel the night before we boarded our cruise ship. I love it that they always have kids play area close to the reception so we could check in without any interruptions from the children.The room was very clean and well stocked. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety and satisfied us all. Parking was free which was even better. This hotel is within a close proximity to the port as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shinor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (444)
There are newer reviews for Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 444 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived in Rotterdam after a long journey by road from the UK. The staff could not have been more welcoming,as the hotel is out of the way we ate in the hotel restaurant which was fairly average but hit the spot, € 17 for a pizza and pasta eat as much as you like buffet. The rooms were spotless with everything you would expect from a chain of hotels,tv tea and coffee making facilities fridge , plenty of spare towels pillows etc,bathroom was spotless and a very comfy bed. We received our alarm call on time both mornings without any problems.the breakfast was advertised as continental but there was a huge choice of croissants, cereals,fresh fruit and fresh fruit smoothies,also cooked breakfast was available and an unlimited supply of fresh coffee. All the staff spoke English and were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool and some very pleasant gardens with a terrace to sit out on very nice on a hot summer evening. As a stop off hotel it was very nice and I would visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Auburnaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Rotterdam. Great city. How had I missed this as a weekend destination? What fantastic architecture! Main shopping areas is something of a thrown back to the sixties (not good) but away from that it is great. Buildings hanging out at the top. Boxes on their sides. Very unusual.

But what can I say about the hotel. A standard Novotel in almost everyway. Good outdoor pool. Breakfast good but limited (not a problem). The only issue is that they have no lunch service on at the weekends. While waiting to go to the airport on the Sunday no food at lunch and no indication they wouldn’t be serving. No signes at all. No sandwiches in their funky lobby bar. No take-aways able to deliver before 2pm. Poor. I understand that with falling attendance at weekends you may have to reduce what’s on offer, but to remove most staff and have not kitchen facilities is mad. The bar was still available. A hotel on the way out? Get your priorities right. Or maybe lose a star?

Room Tip: by a motorway so limited choice
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bazzerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Standard out of town business hotel on the Rotterdam ring road with great access to the main ports and all other locations. It is also only a short walk to the tram stop with easy access to downtown Rotterdam changing at Schiedam Centrum to the Metro and €3 for a 1 hr ticket.

The staff are all exceptionally helpful and friendly and the bar always has a good atmosphere. The restaurant, while a limited menu, the quality of the food is excellent.

The rooms are standard for this type of hotel - clean and well maintained with a kettle to make tea & coffee. Great rain shower and really like the smell of the shower gel.

I have stayed several times at this hotel and will stay again when on business in Rotterdam.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaggisCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Nice hotel, very friendly staff but food is a little bit stale , but overall this would be a hotel I would go back to The only downside about this hotel is the food breakfast is not value for the cost and the dinner menu is the same for all of the summer and only changes for the winter surely they could do some thing more with the food ?

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Standard suburban Novotel in pleasant extensive garden surroundings including a pool. Access by car would be fine but more directions needed for those arriving by train as there is no map or taxi rank at the station. Inside the hotel comes up to usual Novotel expectations without any problems but we were impressed by the high quality of the food at dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank aclubmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Pleasant hotel with nice outdoor areas
Low rise layout, bar and restaurant were nice with food and drink reasonably priced
Room was nice and was also quiet despite being on ground floor near the lobby

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiedam
Novotel Rotterdam Brainpark
#11 of 52 in Rotterdam
970 reviews
Ibis Rotterdam Vlaardingen
#2 of 4 in Vlaardingen
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Delta Hotel Rotterdam
#1 of 4 in Vlaardingen
347 reviews
Cool
Hilton Rotterdam
Hilton Rotterdam
#3 of 52 in Rotterdam
1,342 reviews
Campanile Hotel Vlaardingen
#4 of 4 in Vlaardingen
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam

Address: Hargalaan 2, 3118 JA Schiedam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Schiedam
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Schiedam
Price Range: $69 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam is a 4 star hotel located within minutes of the port, Europoort and the centre of Rotterdam. This attractive hotel is ideal for either a business stay or a relaxing weekend away in Rotterdam. Free parking is available for our guests at the hotel and our well equipped rooms feature WiFi and airconditioning. The Novotel Rotterdam Schiedam has a charming restaurant and bar, a spacious garden with outdoor pool and a terrace. The hotel is entirely " non smoking ". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotterdam-Schiedam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotterdam
Accor Rotterdam Schiedam
Rotterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing