We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The largest windmills from within”
Review of Schiedam Windmill

Schiedam Windmill
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Schiedam
Certificate of Excellence
Villeneuve-Loubet, France
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The largest windmills from within”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

You experience the production of flour as it was produced centuries ago and halfway up you can get out and have a view on Old Schiedam with its magnificent windmills. The museum is very good but try to get into mill "de Vrijheid", where you have the real experience. If you want to have a bite in a mill visit the Noordmolen with reasonable food. see http://www.schiedamsemolens.nl/uk.html
Not really for disabled people.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rein-Gourmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    24
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DFW, TEXAS
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Tour of One of the Largest Windmills”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I decided to drive to Schiedam instead of Utrecht to see the windmills. We did not have a hard time finding a parking spot and headed to Old Town. Our first stop was a pleasant stop at Lunchroom de Beurs which happend to be open on the early Sunday morning we were there and had a wonderful time visiting. Then we went to see the tallest windmills, unfortunatley most of them were closed except the Palmboom. We paid the small fee and climbed the stairs to the musemum and then up to the area where you can go outside to where the windsails were and get a view of the town. There was a guide who was already explaining the workings of the sails to a family and when he was done with them he explained it to us. We then all went to the next level to the inner workings of the mill and what it was used for. After the the young boys and the grandparents went down he proceeded to give us a tour of the upper part of the windmill, all the way to the top, we could even look out of the uppermost window and see the sails go around. It was a very enjoyable and informative time. The tour guide used to actually work in the mill before it burnt down and was rebuilt and now is the tour guide. I also bought a black and white print that they had for sale at the shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbugdfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“windmills”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

great views of the 3 windmills, easy to find from the the hotel I was staying at, we took the tram towards Rotterdam Central and got off at the market. Just walk through market and follow the road round.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorraineJLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The Row of Giants”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The world's tallest mills in Schiedam are an easy walk from the tram stop or central train station. The mill with the museum has a very helpful staff, well laid out museum on several floors of the mill and a breathtaking walk around the outside deck for those not afraid of heights. It's a pity the newest mill was built to look modern as it looks out of place at the end of the line with the other old mills. Definitely worth a visit for the location in old Schiedam as well as the mills alongside the canal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great emotions!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

So unreal see live that giant... I felt like Don Quixote but in Netherlands, in Schiedam... Lovely and peaceful place

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Armoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schiedam Windmill also viewed

Schiedam, South Holland Province
Schiedam, South Holland Province
 
Schiedam, South Holland Province
Schiedam, South Holland Province
 

Been to Schiedam Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing