We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend in Birnam and Dunkeld”
Review of Jessie Mac's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birnam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jessie Mac's
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous weekend in Birnam and Dunkeld”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I had a great stay at Jessie Mac's. Dot and Brenda are really welcoming, the breakfasts were fantastic and room really clean and comfortable. There is also a comfortable lounge. Wifi worked and the location is perfect for the station, Birnam Oak and only a short walk (c. 10 mins max) from centre of Dunkeld. Dunkeld and Birnam are both beautiful with nice pubs, the fab @ScottishDeli, other shops like the smoked salmon shop and the cathedral. Really good walks to the Hermitage and further afield. All in all a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: I stayed in Lyon but all rooms looked nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraemeEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
51
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great stay - handy location, stunning scenery all around, excellent breakfast, clean and well-furnished room, delicious free muffins and scones, comfy sitting room to chill out in.

Dot and Brenda couldn't have been more helpful or hospitable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

OK....I guess I'll start off by sharing why I only gave Jessie Mac's an average score.....It was FREEZING! When I asked about more heat, I was offered a hot water bottle.....In two of the other B&B's we stayed in Scotland, there were electric heated mattress pads!

Now....I will tell you that we were immediately invited to a wonderful Scottish/Irish music session being offered locally that night.....every tuesday evening in Birnam!

Also, I will comment on the breakfast....I really think this was the finest breakfast we were served in Scotland! I had great porridge with whiskey cream (don't knock it till you've tried it), and scrambled eggs w/ some of the best salmon I had in Scotland!

All in all, I think I'll knock my review up to very good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antiquer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuftheid, Owner at Jessie Mac's, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We really enjoyed having you to stay and it was great that you made it up to the music session – one of the best kept secrets in the area.
We put our hands up to the room being cold – we’re really sorry about that. We’ve just put in a high efficiency heating system and we were still getting the hang of it when you stayed with us.
Thanks for the kind words about breakfast. We want to become the best at what we do and feedback really helps us to focus on any improvements.
Best wishes, Dot & Brenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Can only confirm all the other comments - I got a doub;e bedroom ensuite at hostel rates. Muffins and scones saying "Please eat me!", hot water bottles, maps and books available, hot showers, TV in the room. Lovely lounge to sit and chill in.
Dot and Brenda so friendly and helpful. Great area for walking and cycling. Try the Scottish Deli in Dunkeld for great cheese and coffee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TP2948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We made a last minute booking completely by chance and boy were we pleased we ended up here. Dot, the inn-keeper, could not possibly be nicer. I simply cannot put into words the level of hospitality and friendliness. A real warm smile and a true love for what she does. It transpires into the whole place.

Most hostels where I've stayed before I always come away feeling that they were just trying to get the money out of me. This place is completely different. You come away feeling like you got even more than what you paid for.

Couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jorgemilburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Found by chance when looking for a place to stay to break our trip from Yorkshire to Sutherland . What a find !!!
We were so pleased with our experience that we booked to stay on our return journey. On arriving we were given a warm welcome from Dot with a welcome tray of tea and wonderful homemade muffins with fruit and seeds.. On the trip north my friend and I had separate double rooms with en suite. The rooms were spotless warm and comfortable .......'.just as it says on the box' on the return trip we shared one of the bunk rooms with beds for 4. Again this was fresh,warm and comfortable.. The breakfast of fresh fruit berries plus scrambled egg and Tayside smoked salmon fresh coffee was in a class of its own and not to be missed. The self catering kitchen well equipped and lives up to green credentials. Dot pointed us towards Dunkeld ,a 5 minute walk and We caught a local art Exhibition plus 2 great evenings at the Tay Bank with live music acoustic guitar and fiddle players. Lots of things left to do in the area including visiting the Cathedral and spending a few days hiking. I cannot recommend Jessie Macs too highly........I am sure it will become a destination for many of those who stay. Oh . . . I must mention beautiful fresh flowers around the place........lots of extra touches but without fuss and nonsense !!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor are quieter for those going to bed early or getting up a bit later
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I was on a winter mountaineering trip with my mates and we booked a bunk-room at this "hostel" for the same price as a standard youth hostel. That's where the comparison ends. Extremely comfortable beds, huge communal space, outstandingly well equipped self-catering kitchen, very well kept and clean. But most of all, the hosts, Dot and Brenda, were so helpful, welcoming and friendly. The whole experience was outstanding, and the home-made fresh muffins just wonderful! As a post-script, we left something behind, and the Jessie Mac's team went out of the way to ensure we got it back. Most highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
1.4 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,239 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
0.6 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
11.6 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,894 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jessie Mac's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jessie Mac's

Property: Jessie Mac's
Address: Murthly Terrace, Birnam PH8 0BG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Birnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Jessie Mac's you can choose your level of catering at breakfast time from self-catering in the spacious guest kitchen to continental or traditional B&B full breakfast. We have a mix of shared hostel-style rooms, family rooms and private double rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jessie Mac's Birnam, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing