We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we have ever stayed in.”
Review of Tayburn House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tayburn House
Ranked #1 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Kemnay, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best B & B we have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Warm welcome from Mike, the owner. Clean, spacious room with quality toiletries. Breakfast choice was extensive and served fresh. So much to see in area, have booked again for later in year. Relaxing break, friendly atmosphere. Look forward to returning. Recommend to anyone thinking of visiting this beautiful part of Perthshire.

Room Tip: Speaking to other guests at breakfast appears all rooms are of same high standard .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRM182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-Denise, Owner at Tayburn House, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your kind review Mr & Mrs Mauchline. I am glad you enjoyed your stay . We hope to see you again in the future......Regards Mike Strachan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We were only here initially for two nights but found our room so comfortable that we actually stayed a bit longer and explored the surrouding area in more depth. Our en-suite room was clean, tidy, warm and the shower was nice and powerful. Mike and Denise were very knowledgable when it came to the local area and Scotland in general, as well as being friendly and welcoming. Loved the cooked breakfast in the morning, especially the black pudding. Would highly recommend staying here, don't pay for an over-priced, low quality hotel!
N:B: Off street parking available, hot chocolate and shortbread are added as complimentary to the tea and coffee tray.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

My partner and I booked a short notice room at the Tayburn having spent our first night in the Birnham Hotel next door. The Tayburn was much better! We received a warm welcome from Mike with a good quality breakfast the next morning (using the finest ingredients like Stornoway black pudding!) What looked like your usual bungalow from outside was in-fact very spacious and roomy inside. We relaxed and enjoyed ourselves and would recommend anyone staying in Birnham/Dunkeld to switch from the Birnham Hotel to the Tayburn. Clean, roomy, comfortable with a warm welcome and a good quality breakfast, what more could you ask for? Thanks Mike. From Anna and Lucian

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank anibanibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike-Denise, Owner at Tayburn House, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is nice to know that we are providing the kind of service and attention that our guests expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
0.6 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Ivybank Lodge
Ivybank Lodge
#1 of 6 in Blairgowrie
118 reviews
11.5 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,943 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merryburn Hotel
Merryburn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Birnam
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tayburn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tayburn House

Property: Tayburn House
Address: Tayburn House Perth Road | Birnam, Birnam PH8 0AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tayburn House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run business since 1987,Situated in the picturesque village of Birnam/Dunkeld.All rooms en-suite and on ground floor,private off road parking,private residents lounge.Situated ideally for public transport,bus stop 100 metres,train station 300 metres.Ideal for walkers,cyclists and those wishing to get away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tayburn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tayburn House Birnam, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing