We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal family location”
Review of Erigmore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Birnam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Erigmore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2011

My Husband and I stayed in a 3 bedroom contemporary lodge with our family which included our 2 little Grandchildren aged 3 and 5. The chalet was well equipped and furnished to high standard. Our Grandchildren loved the pool (although they would have liked it to open earlier than 9 0'clock as they were ready to go at 7am!!) and we enjoyed eating in the zebra bar. The site is well placed for travelling to places of interest and it was a lovely walk into Dunkeld which has a selection of shops and eateries for all ages. The opportunity to decorate a pot at "Going Potty" was an added bonus. This was one of the nicest chalet sites that we have stayed at with helpful staff who went out of there way to provide information and assistance.

Room Tip: Contemporary lodges in quiet location but need transport to get to site facilities if it wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenMac03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 188 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2011

We booked a weekend break for the 1 bedroom spa lodge last weekend. When we arrived we were told we had been upgraded to the 2 bedroom spa lodge. What can I say!!? It was amazing. The lodges are beautiful. The kitchen living room is massive with everything you would need in immaculate condition. Everything is high spec. The remote control fire is lovely and has a cool design which makes it seem real.
The bedrooms are gorgeous. I loved the sparkly LED lights in the ceiling which changed colour. At first we couldnt firnd the bathroom but soon discovered it was hidden behind the wardrobe- such a fantastic idea. The bathroom was massive with a huge waterfall shower and colour changing lights, 2 sinks and a heated towel rail to dry your swimming costume after a dip in the hot tub! Perfect! It even had a stereo system in the bathroom.
There was only 2 of us staying but the other room in the lodge was exactly the same with its own bathroom so perfect for 2 couples or 4 people.
The doors from the living room folded right out to a beautifully decked patio and then the hot tub. The garden was completely private and so noone could see in when you are sitting in the tub. It was a cold weekend last weekend but we spent quite a while in the hot tub and didnt feel cold at all. The tub is big enough for 5 and they provide plastic glasses to use when in it.
The tub is checked 3 times a day so it is spotlessly clean and in great working condition. There is also beautiful woodland walks nearby.
I cannot recommend this place enough.I will definately be back and cant wait.Ive already been online to find a date to return!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erigmore, Guest Relations Manager at Erigmore, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your very generous commments on your recent review. The management and staff worked very hard on the design of our new lodges and it makes us all very pleased that our efforts are appreciated.

Thank you again from everyone at Erigmore and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a lovely 3 night break, staying in The Factor's Lodge. The house has been beautifully refurbished to a very high standard. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated.Like a previous reviewer, we were surprised that we were expected to supply our own toilet paper, but otherwise we were very impressed with the freindly helpful staff at Erigmore. We ate in the Library Restaurant which was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The Wife and myself stayed in 1 bedroom Spa lodge no. 30 It was our first visit but had been recommended to us by friends.The whole lodge is furnished to a very high standard with lots of little extras to make your stay even more enjoyable.The hot tub was excellent and serviced x3 a day.We couldnt find fault with anything and was a great relaxing break.Also what we liked was that it is close to local amenities.There are nice walks if you can drag yourself away from the hot tub.
We enjoyed our weekend break so much we have booked with another couple for a week at new year,and cant wait.

Room Tip: All the lodges are well spread out and very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was a family gathering from many places for a 40th birthday. There were twelve of us includung four small children and a very new baby. We rented the two flats in the main house, Wallace for 9 people and Atholl for 5. It was perfect for our needs and we had plenty of room in Wallace to feed everyone. For some of us the proximity to the theatre in Pitlochry was perfect and for the children the pool and the outdoor play areas were most welcome. The catering was excellent. Two Tesco deliveries were taken in and perishables stowed in the freezer/fridge before we arrived. The restaurant laid on a special table in the library and the chef made a lovely birthday cake for our daughter. All comunications beforehand were dealt with in a charming manner as was the initial visit to see Erigmore. We got the impression that nothing was too much trouible.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Great site, with lots to do and close to the main road to visit the surrounding area

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussimps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great location, lodge was really well laid out. Only complaint was that you are only supplied with one toilet roll and when asked for more I was told that was it. If I had been told this in advance I would have brought it with me so keep that in mind. Everything else was really good. We had a meal in the library restaurant (on the estate) which came in at £120 (for 4 sharing 2 starters, with wine and drinks) which was fairly expensive. However the service, quality of the food and atmosphere was excellent, I would recommend it.

The staff in the bar/restaurant were very helpfull and the service was grerat. Over all a very enjoyable weekend set in a great area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ladysmill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erigmore, Guest Relations Manager at Erigmore, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2011

Thank you for your positive comments about your experience at Erigmore. Contrary to popular belief TripAdvisor can have some positive effects on businesses. As a result of your review we have now modified our policy on the number of toilet rolls issued in our accommodation and thank you for highling the issue. We glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
1.7 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,390 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
811 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Birnam Hotel
Birnam Hotel
#5 of 5 in Birnam
293 reviews
22.7 mi away
Balmeadowside Country Lodges and Cottages
20.7 mi away
The Hideaway Experience
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Erigmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erigmore

Address: St. Marys Road | Perthshire, Birnam PH8 0BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Birnam
Price Range: $101 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Erigmore Hotel Birnam
Erigmore Birnam, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing