We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much bettter than recent reviews suggest”
Review of Birnam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Birnam Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Much bettter than recent reviews suggest”
Reviewed July 24, 2007

My wife and I spent an afternoon and evening here at a meeting and the very bad recent reviews are much exaggerated. The hotel is a splendid building albeit certainly in need of more restoration but it has style and a friendly atmosphere. The spacious room on the third floor was clean if in need of some re-decoration, the bed was comfortable, the bath and shower worked fine. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the bar meal at The Tap (which is part of the hotel and in excellent condition) was very good of its kind as was breakfast in the main hotel. The place would obviously benefit from further investment and travellers who prefer the modern, functional, very well equipped hotels and don't mind that they lack individuality and soul should keep well away. If you are more tolerant and are willing to exchange a bit of that for somewhere friendly with real character, decent food, and adequately comfortable rooms in a great part of Scotland it's probably worth staying a night or three. It's a style of hotel rapidly disappearing in favour of utterly predictable establishments which are identical the world over.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben_Lui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    86
    45
    34
    35
See reviews for
40
145
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2006

Have just come back from this hell hole! First offered a room on third floor, Decoration was pre 1990, dirty carpet, mouldy mirror, pillows were sheets folded into a pillow case, mattress was 3 inches thick, non of the furniture matched, cracked sink, no shower just a plastic shower attachment to the taps. It was so dark we turned the uplighter over and covered the bed with dust!
They changed us after a lot of complainig and much better although the tele didnt work. couldnt compalinl
The bar ran out of bottled lagers and half pint glasses within 30 minutes !
After all that we seemed to have the only shower in the htel that worked!
Shame as wedding before at another location was amazing.

  • Liked — The Function Room
  • Disliked — The room !
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room on the 1st or Second floor only
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HERBIESMUM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birnam hotels

Leicester, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Upon entering, the surly woman behind the counter was not at all welcoming. The TV had no remote, and would not work at all. Another TV was brought in, which was filthy, and could not receive BBC1, and again had no remote "as the remotes keep going missing" , err, how about buying new ones then? The chap who brought it in said if I fiddled with the knobs on the back, I may get it tuned in! What, like I'm paying £85 a night to tune the tellies in for the staff!
It would be nice to have a bowl to put cereal in, in the morning. Despite only 5 people having breakfast, there were no bowls/dishes out. The cooked breakfast arrived before the pot of tea. It took 10 minutes to get a piece of toast (and at that time, there were only us 2 in the room).
The bathroom was out dated, and although we had asked for a wheelchair accesible room, there was no-way anyone with poor mobility could use that toilet without someone helping them - no hand holds at all. What made it worse was when the bath handhold broke as I got in the bath. It was clear that it had previously been glued together - there was no way it could be classed as safe to use.
Surly woman was again at the desk as we left, and didnt even attempt to make us welcome, or thank us for our custom.
We were very disappointed with this hotel, it is in such a lovely location, and is a fine building, but without decent staff, or management, then it definitely not one that I would recommend to anyone.
The B+Bs down the road are less than half the price, and far better value, with owners who care about their guests.
Avoid this place until there are new owners/management.

Helpful?
4 Thank alanld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
776 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 634 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

My wife and 2 teenage daughters spent 3 nights in this well appointed and comfortable guest house. We were in the "master bedroom" complete with extra large kingsize bed and modern en suite facilities. Our daughters stayed in the twin bedded room again with en suite. The breakfast was served in the conservatory. Lovely view of the garden. While the ingredients were all that you would expect from a hot cooked breakfast, the quality of the ingredients sourced from a variety of local suppliers were truly excellent, for example the eggs put your supermarket free range egg definitely in the shade. Breakfast was complete with 2 types of home made bread and preserves. Of all the places we have visited over the past 30 years, I would go as far as to say this was the best breakfast we have experienced in Britain. The hosts made us feel at home and were full of advice of local places to visit.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — lack of restaurants
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brucestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2006

Attended for a wedding reception. The function room was OK and large, but the hotel room was awful. The bathroom was disgraceful. Overall the hotel is in need of a lot of TLC. I believe that they are decorating and not too soon!

Breakfast was uninviting, although the service was fine.

Cannot really say anything positive about my one night stay here. The Hilton nearby is much better, and worth paying a bit extra for unless you want to stay somewhere that feels like a grotty bed and breakfast.

Would not recommend this to my worst enemy

  • Liked — There are no positives
  • Disliked — Everything was awful
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid, avoid, avoid
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dundee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2006

Stayed here for one night when attending a wedding. Room on the third floor was probably the worst room I have ever stayed in. It was dingy, smelly and uninviting. The bathroom was a disgrace with a bath with a rubber tubing to attach to the taps to make into a shower which meant you had to kneel in the bath to try and wash yourself with this shower attachment. Thankfully it was only a place to sleep after the weeding, but we couldn't wait to get out of the place and would never return.

It was incredibly poor value and I cant believe the owners of this hotel feel they can justify almost £100 per room. It felt like we were staying in a youth hostel. When I spoke to the manager about this the next morning he was completely unintersted and basically told us it was tough that we were unhappy with the room.

Avoid this hotel at all costs!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 15, 2006

Very olde world style hotel. Very nice. Bedroom nice and large. Had a lovely breakfast of porridge and smoked haddock. My Husband had the bacon, eggs etc. Staff were very friendly.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
0.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,183 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birnam Hotel

Property: Birnam Hotel
Address: Birnam Cottage Perth Road, Birnam PH8 0AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birnam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style,elegance and good old-fashioned Scottish hospitality is what the newly upgraded Birnam Hotel is all about. Located in the stunning Perthshire countryside in the heart of Scotland, the Birnam Hotel is the ideal location. It is well renowned for hosting weddings and large functions in the magnificent Baronial Hall and smaller functions in its many other suites - the Birnam Hotel has it all. A truly warm welcome awaits you at the Birnam Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Birnam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birnam Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing