We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC STAY..”
Review of Birnam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birnam Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our 3 stay at The Birnam hotel.
I booked in May for our stay in July was sadly told they were fully booked, but the staff went out their way to arrange a family suite for us, we find the staff very friendly and cant do enough to help you.
The suite was great, clean, very comfy beds and hot water in bath and shower everything you need.
We had a meal in the inn next door and it was great kids loved it too ,breakfast is more than ample and Margaret the breakfast waitress is great very welcoming ,very good with the kids, I did notice that some guest were being impatient and quite rude, bearing in mind the dining room was full.... she has one pair of hands ... well done Margaret..
Thankyou to all Birnam staff for making us feel welcome year after year..

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay at the Birnam Hotel. We are all very pleased that you found your stay with us very good and that you took the time to tell us so. Your comment have been passed on to all of the staff.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We booked a two night break in this hotel with a well known discount group.
The deal was two night B&B with a meal and wine on one night.
When we arrived we found the hotel was lovely our room really nice with an old world sort of charm.
We werre given a card to take to the ajoining bar for our meal.
We went in and were seated inn a modern sort of dining room, we chose lentil soup and pizza as we did not know it was Italian style food, which we are not too keen on....
After about 20 min we got what was alovely bowl of Lentil soup which we devoured as we were quite hungary by now.
A further 40 min YES that is how long it took to get our second course (which was only a pizza)
We were given a free plate of chips to compensate for our wait!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I asked for the dessert menu and chose a Mango sorbet, however the waiter, I use this term loosley, had to come and tell us they only had ice cream to offer from the dessert menu.
Oh and when we asked for another glass of wine during our meal we had to wait 10 min as the glasses were in the glass washer.

Therefore my advice try the hotel but give the bar/bistro a big miss.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conabdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stay. We are pleased that you found stay overall pleasant. I can only apologise for the service during your meal at the Birnam Inn.

I hope that you will visit us agian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ideally located hotel for exploring surrounding area. Plenty parking area. Stayed with group of fishers and were given private room for dinner. Menu was not extensive but adequate. Service was excellent with very friendly staff (except barman who was less than helpful). Hotel languishes in style of 40's/50's (the lift only lacks a bell boy) and needs some upgrading but rooms were comfortable with modern en suite shower rooms and coffee making facility. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rslgmjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review.
We are please that overall you were pleased with your stay at the hotel. I am sorry if one of the staff was less than friendly when you approached the bar.

With regards our unique lift rest assured we have thought many time that a bell boy would be a good idea !!!

We look forward to being able to welcome you all back to the hotel in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here on an Amazon Local deal. Think it was £69 i paid for DB&B for 2 people.
So very good value. Both Dinner and Breakfast were good. You have a choice of eating in the hotel or the Inn, just round the corner for dinner.
Staff were pleasant and helpful and the Room was large with everything you need.
Would recommend if you were in the area or for a night or 2 away from home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We are very pleased that you had very pleasant stay with us and hope that you will return again some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This rather severe looking building was built in the 1850s and at that time it was probably rather super and catered for, inter alia, Beatrix Potter's family. It is probably stuck in a bit of a time warp and needs a bit of ooomph and some strong manager. One rather got the feeling that one was disturbing the staff when something was required. The adjoining Birnam Inn looked a bit of fun. The bedroom was as dull as ditchwater.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review. We take all comments on board and can assure you that improvement are being made within the hotel on a continual basis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My partner and I stayed in the Birnam hotel in April and had a pretty poor experience overall. This was surprising as we had stayed a couple of times previously but standards appear to have deteriorated in the meantime. The room we were allocated initially faced to the rear of the building and despite wearing earplugs, I was unable to sleep due to the sound of the boiler which we were told was faulty but due to be fixed. However there were other problems with the room. The bathroom seemed hazardous. It had a split level - easy to trip in the night with a hard floor to fall on and also no slip mat in the bath for when you climb in to use the shower. There were no glasses in the bathroom for cleaning teeth and the compimentaries tray had two cups but only one saucer. We pointed all of this out to the manager who allocated us a different room but he didn't bother to apologise and made us feel like we were inconveniencing them. We changed to another room but this wasn't without its problems either. There was no hairdryer (this was however quckly remedied) but the room was shabby with missing knobs from the dressy, filthy mirror, damp and mould in the bathroom, and worst of all the windows had large cracks and the sash cord was broken. Photos attached. All in all between the shabbiness of the place, the lack of attention to detail and most importantly the poor customer service lacking even the courtesy of a simple apology we definitely won't be returning to the Birnam Hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Guest Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. As you will see our staff are regularly praised in reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a really enjoyable stay at the Birnam Hotel. Ate in the adjacent Birnam Inn which is heavily Italian influenced. I have to say that the meal I had was excellent, in particular, the Pizza Funghetto was the best pizza I have eaten in Scotland and, far superior to those served in Glasgow's 'top-end' Italian restaurants. Finished off the evening with an enjoyable dram in Scot's Bar in the main hotel. The hotel room was comfortable and we enjoyed a good breakfast before leaving. The hotel is well positioned for walking over to Dunkeld with it's range of shops and bars. If walking to Dunkeld, stroll along the banks of the Tay behind the hotel where you'll find the ancient Birnam Oak of MacBeth fame. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Birnam Hotel and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fram72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Public Relations Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. We are so pleased that you had a nice stay with us at the Birnam Hotel. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again some time as Birnam & Dunkeld has such a wealth of things to see and do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
1.3 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,330 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
0.5 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,874 reviews
7.8 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
792 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
The Pitlochry Hydro Hotel
#11 of 18 in Pitlochry
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birnam Hotel

Address: Birnam Cottage Perth Road, Birnam PH8 0AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range: $59 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Birnam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style,elegance and good old-fashioned Scottish hospitality is what the newly upgraded Birnam Hotel is all about. Located in the stunning Perthshire countryside in the heart of Scotland, the Birnam Hotel is the ideal location. It is well renowned for hosting weddings and large functions in the magnificent Baronial Hall and smaller functions in its many other suites - the Birnam Hotel has it all. A truly warm welcome awaits you at the Birnam Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Birnam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birnam Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing