We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit!”
Review of Birnam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Birnam Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit!”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Impressive looking hotel, and very good value for money. Friendly staff and accommodating - we arrived early, but absolutely no problem getting into our room which was upgraded. Room, perhaps a little tired looking - but clean and comfortable enough. Dinner included (Amazon deal) at the adjoining Italian restaurant (Birnam Inn), where the food was very good with excellent relaxed and friendly service. Lovely freshly cooked breakfast in the hotel next morning with everything you would expect from a first class hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would certainly return to the hotel. Lovely area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    86
    45
    34
    35
See reviews for
40
145
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed at Hotel for short trip to Perthshire. Although parts of the hotel could do with updating, and refurbishment, it is a lovely building, and the room we had was very large and comfortable. The in house bar is newly refurbished and was very pleasant as was the food, and staff were helpful.

The separate stable bar - The Birnam Inn is really nice with very friendly bar and waiting on staff, and genuine Italian food in the restaurant, which we and everyone there seemed to enjoy.

A nice stay, and good value

Room Tip: If room is not good ask to see alternatives
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murff1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early and no problem checking in as our room was ready. Very happy with our double room. Comfortable bed, plenty hot water, clean towels daily, quiet. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and ample choice at the buffet. We stayed on amazon deal and ate at the Birnam inn. We had previously eaten here and this time we were not disappointed. Great friendly helpful staff and good food. We ate there another three times in fact. The hotel was busy and staff worked really hard serving breakfasts meeting demands of some demanding guests! We actually stayed an extra night that wasn't planned.
Looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Bought this one night stay from Amazon local, wasn't sure what to expect, especially out of season. Was very quiet at night, the room was generous with en-suite. Staff were very good and helpful, and were very chatty. I will return again when it is in season. Only downside, and this shouldn't be taken as a complaint, was that the food was served in the Birnam Inn and consisted of only Italian food. I found the food great, but my wife is not a fan of Italian cuisine. However it as told to us by a staff member that because it was out of season, the hotel's restaurant was closed, no great deal, but it would've been nice if we were informed of this. However, we will definitely go back, and the bed certainly had more going for it, if you weren't sleeping in it....nudge nudge.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We had booked a one night stay as part of an Amazon local deal. We found all staff to be helpful and pleasant. Loved the old building. Our room was on ground floor and although not modern(which I wouldn't expect with an old building) was spotless and generous in size. We opted to eat our evening meal in the inn which was Italian and was lovely. I had a great sleep as was so quiet and comfy. Breakfast was equally good served again by a pleasant lady and no compromise on quality. Despite the poor weather we had a very enjoyable stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Found this to be a well run and organised establishment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgribbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The saving grace of this hotel is definitely the staff. they are polite and very helpful. On entering our room it was clean and basic. The furniture is dated and tired. Bathroom door handle was hanging on for dear life with one screw, likewise the towel holder we didn't use it. Once we requested Loo roll, milk and light bulbs our stay went smoothly.
Breakfast was wholesome and value for money. We dined at the Pizzeria in the grounds and we both thought it was the best Pizza we had ever had.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Booked a 1 night stay for me and my partner using Amazon local which gave us a room, dinner and breakfast for a fraction of the usual price. When we arrived outside the hotel we were chuffed we it looked so nice, once in reception we were greeted by a polite lady who gave us all the information we required and was very helpful. Reception and the hallway to our room looked pretty special and we had high hopes for our room. We were in room 207 which was right at the end of the hallway on the first floor, our room was dated but appeared to at least be clean with a flat screen tv, nothing really seemed to match and the room was pretty cold when we arrived, upon closer inspection we found an electric heating in the wardrobe (clearer a problem they have had in the past) which we quickly plugged in full blast and that done the trick. We made our way down for dinner in the scots bar, room and food was lovely, quick and served with a smile by Margaret and another man (failed to get his name) We left feeling full and content. It wasn't until my parter went to use the toilet in room 207 our problems started, the toilet bowl and seat were not clean, 2 empty toilet rolls were still in the bed (not a huge problem) and there was a plastic toothpaste cover left on the toilet, a clear sign that the toilet had not been cleaned which was something the room needed as it was already dated without being unclean aswell. At first we were not going to bother to complain but we decided it would be a good idea if we did, I made my way down to reception where the man who had served us for dinner was, he couldnt have been nicer about it all and couldnt have said sorry more, he gave me the option of him speaking to the manager in the morning and to see what could be done about it, move room or have house keeping clean the room. We decided to move room, he showed me to room 104, room was warmer to start with, slightly smaller but had a much more modern toilet, bed was smaller and not as comfortable but at least it was clean! We had also been offered free drinks and we had a can of coke and 2 tomato juices which again was something he didnt need to do. We had a great full scottish breakfast served by Margaret, more than we could eat. Upon check out the manager just said "right thats you" never once asked how our stay was or any record of discussions the night before. I wouldn't tell people not to stay here just don't ever pay full price for it as its no where near the £90 a night its advertised.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Having read your recent review I am some what disappointed that you you have taken to trip adviser to air your views given that on Tuesday 18th February 2014 (the day after you left the hotel) your partner / wife emailed the hotel directly to raise the issues detailed in your review and was more than happy to accept a complimentary nights stay which was offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birnam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
0.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
489 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,213 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
746 reviews
6.8 mi away
Tayside Hotel
Tayside Hotel
#2 of 2 in Stanley
88 reviews
12.2 mi away
Craigvrack
Craigvrack
#14 of 18 in Pitlochry
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birnam Hotel

Property: Birnam Hotel
Address: Birnam Cottage Perth Road, Birnam PH8 0AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birnam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style,elegance and good old-fashioned Scottish hospitality is what the newly upgraded Birnam Hotel is all about. Located in the stunning Perthshire countryside in the heart of Scotland, the Birnam Hotel is the ideal location. It is well renowned for hosting weddings and large functions in the magnificent Baronial Hall and smaller functions in its many other suites - the Birnam Hotel has it all. A truly warm welcome awaits you at the Birnam Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Birnam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birnam Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing