We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovley place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Birnam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Birnam Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Birnam B&B and Inns
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovley place to stay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Myself and my partner have stayed at this hotel twice now our first trip we had to leave early due to family problems, I knew we wouldnt be able to get any money back as we didnt book through the hotel itself, However to my surprise and delight after arriving home I had received an email from the manager offering us another complimentary nights stay, which we had on saturday, The hotel is lovley, staff are very friendly, and breakfast is AMAZING, one thing i would say is the decor can be doing with an update! But we will most certainly return to stay at this hotel :)

Room Tip: Our second room was more spacious and nicer than the 1st, the second room was 207.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    86
    45
    34
    34
See reviews for
39
145
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Living a short distance away in Perth, this was my first visit to the Birnam Inn.
As stated in a previous review, the quality of the food was excellent and very reasonably priced.
I was unaware food of this quality, price and portion size was available almost on my doorstep.
Thanks to Caroline who took our order, served our drinks and the cheery patter.
Will certainly be back and would recommend you give it a try.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxtrot02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in room 204 which was very spacious with nice bow window. Bathroom also pretty large however shower is more piece od design than useful. Room was quite dusty though.
Breakfast was offered partly self service and the cooked part was served. Only 1 waitress for the whole breakfast room is hardly enough! So you can expect some waiting. Otherwise the accommodation was fine and for one night we had reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pdvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, General Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was intrigued to see that this place has been given a few pretty poor reviews. Me and a mate stopped off here for dinner on the way up to Aviemore (so - to be fair - I can't comment on the accommodation), and... The food was great, speedy and reasonably priced; the staff were really friendly; and it's got pleasant modern decor. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, General Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review on your recent experience at the Birnam Hotel. We hope that you will come back again soon and perhaps stay overnight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped off in here after disappointment elsewhere. Turned out to our advantage, great little pub at side of hotel with great menu, atmosphere, very helpful staff and pleasant outside seating areas. Stornoway blackpudding and goat cheese salad excellent. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz1956008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, General Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Visited here by chance, and have to say, what a lovely surprise. The food was plentiful, tasty and inexpensive. Service was friendly and attentive. The ambience was bright modern and very clean. We will definitely return.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Basilbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birnamhotel, General Manager at Birnam Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for you kind review. We are pleased that you found you recent visit to the Birnam Inn a pleasant one and hope that it wont be long before yu are able to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed overnight on our way further north. Our room (104) was shabby and in need of refurbishment. The bathroom showed signs of amateurish diy. The light fitting was dirty and only had 2 working bulbs. The light fitting in the windowless corridor outside was at one third power. We had to ask at reception for a toilet roll.
Although the info in the room detailed restaurant times, the restaurant no longer opens for dinner. You have a choice of eating in the bar or the Inn next door. We ate in the bar and it wasn't bad at all.
Unlike other reviewers we found the staff the best part of the hotel. Although understaffed the staff we met couldn't do enough for us.
Without investment business will decline, without business who can invest?

Room Tip: I wouldn't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kildwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Birnam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birnam
0.9 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,709 reviews
7.4 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birnam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birnam Hotel

Property: Birnam Hotel
Address: Birnam Cottage Perth Road, Birnam PH8 0AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Birnam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Birnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Birnam Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style,elegance and good old-fashioned Scottish hospitality is what the newly upgraded Birnam Hotel is all about. Located in the stunning Perthshire countryside in the heart of Scotland, the Birnam Hotel is the ideal location. It is well renowned for hosting weddings and large functions in the magnificent Baronial Hall and smaller functions in its many other suites - the Birnam Hotel has it all. A truly warm welcome awaits you at the Birnam Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Birnam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birnam Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing